We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer on tap!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Two Brothers Tavern

Two Brothers Tavern
86 Main St, Middlebury, VT 05753-1425
802-388-0002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 41 restaurants in Middlebury
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good beer on tap!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a nice place to have a beer and watch your favorite game. The decor is fun and really says "college town". The service is fine. The food is pretty much your average pub menu, though priced much too high. So if beer and sports are what you're looking for, look no further.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    55
    66
    14
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Wonderful food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had a wonderful experience! Sangria was delicious and loved the farm fresh approach to the menu choices.
Wait staff very friendly and efficient.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great pub food! The service was great. The location is ideal if you are visiting Middlebury College, which we were.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Irish Pub-like”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Two for late lunch on a weekday. Great beer selection and the food was simple well presented and prepared. Service was friendly but maybe a little slow. . The turkey sandwich was great. The one persistent fly that kept visiting our table was annoying.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food is good, but service was slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have never given a restaurant a so-so review, but this time it's warranted. Although a fun and lively atmosphere prevailed during the Sunday afternoon we visited, two of us were served luke-warm soup after waiting 20 minutes for its arrival. It's too bad, because the cheddar-ale soup tasted great, but it wasn't hot. We were too hungry to send it back, but did mention it to our server, who gave a slight apology. We noticed the table next to us had to twice ask for their check, and the same thing happened to us--our server seemed to be missing in action. In spite of the slow service, the food was pretty good, so we decided to try it again on Monday evening. Again, the service was slow. Although our server was friendly, she seemed to be running from station to station and couldn't find the time to clear our table. The hostess walked around with a pitcher of water and several menus, yet never once tried to help our server clear the table or help in any way. We feel these problems could easily be rectified with proper training from the management.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Brothers Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Two Brothers Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Brothers Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.