We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Inn!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Clover Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Red Clover Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
7 Woodward Road, Mendon, VT 05751   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Mendon B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Inn!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We just had a long weekend at the Red Clover. Everything was perfect! The food was to die for. The living room was very cozy with a big fire going all night. The innkeeper (Mark) really made an effort to make every comfortable and happy. The hot tub was a nice touch for chilling out after a long day of skiing.

The complimentary breakfast has to be the best in Vermont!!!!

Get the cheese plate!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    7
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
62
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Just got back from a wonderful weekend skiing and staying at the Red Clover Inn. Not only was the house charming, cozy and wonderful to relax at but our room was spacious with fireplace keeping it toasty. . A great place to relax after a long day on the cold mountain. Excellent food and wine selection in the main house were wonderful. Mark and his staff made our weekend the best it could be. Can't wait to get back.
-Big Will and Liza

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights at the Red Clover Inn in January and really couldn't have been happier with our stay. The Inn is about 10 minutes from the Ski Lodge, yet surprisingly quite and secluded. The rooms were very comfortable and impeccably clean, but the real highlights for us were the the staff, the fireplace, and the restaurant. Mark, the Inn manager, went out of his way to make us feel welcome and ensure that our stay was everything we could ask for. The fireplace in the main lobby area (more like a living room really) was the perfect place to relax after a day of skiing, especially since Mark brought everyone hot choclate and homemade cookies. And whether or not you stay at the Inn, you should make reservations to eat at the restaurant, which has to be one of the best places to eat in all of Killington. I would highly recommend the Red Clover Inn and will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

First I must tell you that I am a Chef for a major hotel corporation in New York City. My girlfriend and I were in Vermont for Columbus Day weekend and we booked dinner at the Red Clover. We did not stay there overnight in one of the rooms.
Our dinner was beyond our expectations. Service was right on the money and attentive. We got to talk to our waiter whom we found out was German (as I am,) and had worked in New York City but relocated to Vermont. Lucky guy!
The bread that was given to us was out of this world. Crusty on the outside and nice and soft on the inside. Slatthered with some butter, and I was in heaven. It was so good that I had them wrap up the last pieces to take back home with us.
My first course was a grilled quail over Israeli cous cous. The quail had a nice smokeyness to it and was perfectly cooked. My girlfriend had the beet, (not beef, ) tartare with Vermont feta. Outstanding!
My main course was the wild boar with truffle and musroom rissotto. The boar was a little tough, but was cooked medium, which was fine and had a nice gamey taste to it. The other entree was a huge filet sliced into three pieces with duck fat roasted fingerling potates, deliciously prepared.
For dessert we had waffles with vermont cream that was so slightly beaten and filled in the squares of the waffle. The other dessert was a chocolate cake with whipped Vermont cream.
Our waiter informed Chef Dennis that I was a Chef and he came out to the dining room to talk with us. He was nothing like I imagined him to be and I complimented him on a superb dinner. I assured him that next time we return to Vermont, we will definitely come again.
Perfect dinner for a perfect night that later had me proposing to my girlfriend in front of our fireplace. She said yes and is now my fiancee. Perfect night all around.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fair haven, vt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I recently had my wedding at the Red Clover Inn and I could not have asked for a better experience. We stayed for two nights and the accomodations were excellent. Our rooms were comfortable, perfectly clean, quiet, and had excellent views. As my mother put it, this is the perfect place when you want to "get away from it all" because everything about the inn is set up so you can have a relaxing, fun time.

JD and Annie went above and beyond in helping make our event exactly what we wanted it to be. They were extremely helpful, friendly, and calming! It seemed like whenever I had a sudden moment of panic over something, they had already taken care of it. All of our wedding guests commented on how beautiful and peaceful the inn was. In fact, they are still talking about how perfect everything was and the wedding was almost 3 months ago!

I cannot rave about the food enough. The chef, Dennis, was absolutely amazing and crafted a menu that was not only delicious, but satisfied the needs of our guests' special diets (vegan, nut allergy, gluten-free, etc). The food was truly amazing-- I highly recommend eating in the restaurant if you stay at the inn!

Looking back on our wedding, I really cannot imagine how it could have been improved. My wife and I both thought it was perfect. We fell in love with the Red Clover Inn on our very first visit (over a year ago) and did not look at any other sites after that. We knew we'd found the right place. Thank you again to JD, Annie, and Dennis for making our wedding so wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay area
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I think my title sums up our visit. The one meal we had in the restaurant was excellent, and the chef had enough free time to chat with us about his recipes. The main inn is dated without being charming. Our first room was way too small, so we switched to Emma's Room (yes, the room names with tintype pictures of the supposed person whose name adorns them is creepy) and found it to be pretty nice but expensive for what you got. This is more of a winter ski lodge where you're out of the room most of the time, I'd guess. So I give the restaurant a thumb's up and the inn a shrug.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

The location is great. Close to the slopes, 7 minutes, but secluded enough that you can get away from the crowd. Quiet, beautiful area. The room was small but it was all we needed and it was very clean. If we go back I would pay the extra for a room with a jacuzzi. It would have felt great after skiing. They have one outside but it was too cold to walk back to the room wet! Breakfast was included and it was a treat. You couldn't ask for anything more. We dined at the restaurant one night and it was fabulous - very quiet and relaxing. The music was great too. It's so nice to have drinks with your dinner or at their bar and not have to drive anywhere. Just a beautiful place!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Clover Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Clover Inn & Restaurant

Address: 7 Woodward Road, Mendon, VT 05751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Clover Inn and Restaurant is truly a one-of-a-kind experience where the Tyler Family strives to make our guests feel like personal house guests on a memorable Vermont country holiday. A haven for foodies, sports’ enthusiasts, and romantics alike, the Inn and Restaurant are acclaimed for local food with European flair; stylish, comfortable lodging; fireside apres-ski and plentiful wine cellar. With mountain views on all sides and tucked off the main beat on its own private road, you’d never guess Red Clover is right at the cross-roads of Central Vermont within minutes of Killington and Pico's best skiing, biking and hiking. Whether you come for a brief getaway or an extended vacation, a Vermont wedding or an intimate elopement, you’ll find Red Clover as special in its own way as its "big sister" property, the Tyler Place Family Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Red Clover Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Clover Inn And Restaurant
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant Hotel Mendon
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant Vermont/Mendon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.