We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vermont Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Vermont Inn to your Saves list
The Vermont Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   78 Cream Hill Road, Mendon, VT 05701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off mid week special
Ranked #2 of 3 Mendon B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed at the Vermont Inn with my boyfriend and another couple and it was absolutely fantastic. The rooms were small, but perfect because we were skiing all day. Killington is about 10 minutes down the road, which made it extremely convenient. The breakfast that was served was very good and Emily and Mike were very helpful with any questions that we had. I will absolutely stay there again! Thanks Emily and Mike!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    26
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
37
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We have just gotten back from The Vermont Inn. We loved our stay there. Michael and Emily were very welcoming and very flexible to our needs which we appreciated. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice - we did enjoy the yummy cakes and bakes that were still warm at breakfast time.
Our room was clean and comfortable with plenty of space. The inn also has a Jacuzzi, sauna and games room so there is something for everyone.
If you are looking for a cosy American country getaway then I highly recommend The Vermont Inn

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here at least 5 times in the past two years. My fiance found the place when his usual hotel wasnt available. We werent sure about staying at an Inn/B&B type place but now we're hooked & won't go back. When we pull up we feel like we're returning home to visit old friends. We have come with groups and had 2&3 rooms booked at a time. They always find us a great arrangement. Breakfast is so delicious that we've stopped going "out" for breakfast. I love going downstairs and and helping myself to some coffee, relaxing and goofing off on the laptop by the fire early in the morning. Emily is always there setting up and full of energy already. or coming in after a day in the slopes and finding fresh baked cookies waiting. You cant beat it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Kate, daughter Penny, husband Neil,granddaughter Nora (3.5) and myself, enjoyed a great holiday at The Inn in Feb'14. Great facilities and fabulous breakfasts. Very surprised by the spacious foyer, lounge/bar and additional t.v. lounge, games room, gym, sauna and external hot tub. This was particularly good, as Neil does not ski so relaxed and took full advantage of this.
Our hosts, Emily and Michael, were always available 24/7 and were most helpful with their local knowledge, with regards to the best local restaurants, ski pass deals, etc,.They were extremely friendly and made use feel totally at home.
We will certainly return to The Vermont Inn, next time we plan to Ski Killington/Pico or as a visit to Vermont for the Fall.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

First time here, but visit the Killington area 3-5 times a year. We paid just over $500 to stay 2 nights for 4 of us.... a tad expensive, but the place was nice, the managers were super friendly and showed us the room, where breakfast was, where the hot tub was etc, made you feel like they really cared vs everywhere else that just tosses you a key.

The room was nice, slept 4 very nice, they gave us an extra cot for no extra charge, the shower was great room was nice, could use some new paint but thats not a biggy.

Hot tub was 104 degree and had no bubbles, pretty sure the jets are shot....

Also, the amazing breakfast people rave about is made to order only.... and starts at 730
So if your a diehard skier who wants to get the mountain early... no breakfast for you, weird how this place caters to skiers and vacationers, yet starts their sit-down-and-order breakfast 30 minutes before the lifts start, we didnt have time for this, and ate somewhere else so we could get to the mountain before the crowds..... Vermont Inn... start breakfast early !!! people wanna get to the mountain !

Overall the place was nice, could use a little touching up in spots, walls, paint, carpets, its def an old feel, but it was really homie and worked out well.
Just wish we could have tried breakfast

for $500+ for 2 nights, i may look for something on the access road

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevermontinn, General Manager at The Vermont Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, Emily and I appreciate any and all feedback. We are in the start of some major improvements to the Inn, that we hope will increase the viability of this 1840's country inn. As to breakfast, we try to be a flexible as possible, if we had known that you were looking to have breakfast earlier. we would have definitely accommodated you. We take pride in our breakfasts and want every guest to enjoy them as the perfect start to each day. If you decide to stay with us for another stay next season, we are sure you would truly enjoy yourselves. Thank you again for your patronage.

Michael Marrano
Innkeeper
The Vermont Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was our second stay at the Vermont Inn and we so enjoyed our time once again!!
Hosts Emily and Michael couldn't have done one thing more, they are so accommodating!
And Nice!!
Our room was beautiful and always clean.
The breakfasts are very tasty!
Already looking forward to next year's visit!
:)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

After a great experience last year, my boyfriend and I returned for a second stay! We came primarily to ski, and loved how we could get up early, eat a delicious breakfast and head to the nearby resorts. We also enjoyed the hot tub and sauna waiting for us after a cold day! The only real downside is the thin walls that separate the rooms. We could hear our neighbor's gentle snoring.... Otherwise, it's a great value and a very sweet place to stay! Emily in particular was great about helping us out with restaurant recs and other needs. Planning on a year three next year...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vermont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Inn

Address: 78 Cream Hill Road, Mendon, VT 05701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vermont Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vermont Inn is a cozy 16 room Country Inn located in the Green Mountains of Vermont in Killington. We offer fireplace and whirlpool tub deluxe suites, family suites, queen, king and double rooms. Restaurant and pub on site along with a fitness center, outdoor pool, outdoor hot-tub, sauna, game room, and many other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Vermont Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vermont Hotel Mendon
The Vermont Inn Mendon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vermont Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.