We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Family Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vermont Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Vermont Inn to your Saves list
The Vermont Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   78 Cream Hill Road, Mendon, VT 05701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off mid week special
Ranked #2 of 3 Mendon B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Great Place for a Family Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Inn was comfortable cozy and family friendly. Our kids loved breakfast and then sledding on the hill. The Inn was close to Pico and Killington but farther enough away to avoid the crowds. We felt at home there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    26
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
36
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Vermont Inn near Pico Mountain this weekend. The Inn Keepers were very nice and my room was adequate, nothing fancy. For fancier and more upscale I do recommend the Red Clover Inn down the street. The first night my room was a little too warm and the second night it was cooler. I had no control over the temperature. The WIFI worked great.

Breakfast in the morning was good. The OJ was not fresh squeezed and was adequate. The French Toast the first morning was awesome. The second day I had the cheese omelet that was fine. The put out fresh fruit. The first day had a home made muffin that was awesome, the second day bread not as tasty. Tea and Coffee are at 7:30 and breakfast at 8. The innkeeper who serves you smokes and I would recommend that she smoke after breakfast because talking to her at breakfast, the smell of cigarette smoke was a turn off.

Other than that, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Vermont Inn provided comfortable pre-season accommodations at an affordable rate. We communicated with the Inn via internet and phone prior to booking. Upon arrival the inn keepers were very attentive and provided us with updates about local activities and restaurants. When they found out that it was our anniversary, we were upgraded us to a suite free of charge. The room was spacious, clean and had a relaxing soaking tub. Included in the rate was also a delicious made to order breakfast. In the afternoon cookies were provided for guests to enjoy. The inn has a unique country charm, but is need of some upgrades and property maintenance. The inn is closer to Pico and is approximately 12 minutes from the access road. We would consider staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the stairwells - they will be noisy in season if people climb the stairs w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This B & B was clean but our room was small. It could use some paint etc. It looks a lot better than it actualy is on there website. The owners are very nice and the breakfast was great. I wish there website was more up to date and I didn't find this to be a good value.

Room Tip: I would call because we had a tiny room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathews, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I visited during Peak Leaf color. This location was perfect for accessing many areas of the state from viewing the beautiful countryside, SOooo many covered bridges, ferrying on Lake Champlain, touring breweries, Ben & Jerry's, Cabot.....it was endless! The location is beautiful with awesome views in a quiet location. I loved seeing the original photos of the Inn and the families who lived there. I would have liked to see more on the history. Our room was VERY clean and the Queen size bed was just dreamy and Oh, so comfortable! The bathroom was very clean and fresh. The television was small (I don't watch television) so I was very pleased to read my book in the lovely sitting area in our large room. Very nice! Emily and Michael were perfect hosts! There were yummy homemade cookies everyday and evening. Breakfast choices were available every morning with each day offering something extra special. It was perfect. We had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Different rooms offer different amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I recently rented the entire Inn for our daughters wedding. Members from both families stayed for two nights and we all had a terrific time. The ceremony was held on the front lawn and the reception in the dinning area , dancing in the bar and socializing in the living area. The younger crowd piled into the hot tub at 2 in the morning.
Emily and Michael were wonderful hosts. They attended to all our needs and everything went off without a hitch. They were both simply awesome! .
My wife and I will be back for more treks to the Green Mountains and my daughter and her new husband I'm sure will do the same. .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend 2013. We were at the Inn for two nights. It is a lovely place with very friendly and helpful owners. When we we arrived, they gave us a tour of the inn and showed us to our room. Imagine my surprise when I saw that it was more like a suite than a typical hotel room, with an outer foyer, then a step up to the bedroom. Lo and behold, there was a giant two-person jacuzzi tub in the room. I was shocked and pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, the food was AMAZING and the views from this inn are wonderful. I should also mention that although the inn looks slightly dated, it is very well-kept and doesn't feel old. I will likely be back the next time I am looking for a cozy yet deluxe experience in Vermont. For the price I paid, this was way more than I would have expected!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vermont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Inn

Address: 78 Cream Hill Road, Mendon, VT 05701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vermont Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vermont Inn is a cozy 16 room Country Inn located in the Green Mountains of Vermont in Killington. We offer fireplace and whirlpool tub deluxe suites, family suites, queen, king and double rooms. Restaurant and pub on site along with a fitness center, outdoor pool, outdoor hot-tub, sauna, game room, and many other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Vermont Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vermont Hotel Mendon
The Vermont Inn Mendon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vermont Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.