We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true dining gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Clover Inn & Restaurant

Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
7 Woodward Road, Mendon, VT 05701
802-775-2290
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Mendon
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Rutland, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A true dining gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Could be the best dining experience in all New England. The atmosphere was perfect and the cuisine was vibrant and varied across all three menus - appetizer, main course and dessert. A true dining gem not to be missed. And don't forget to have before and after dinner drinks (along with great conversation) at the quaint bar.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Eat here once before you die: its that good!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Pros: Fantatstic and intteresting food; great service and setting; handsome grounds; fabulous and different wine by the glass; off the beaten track
Cons: Food may be too fussy for some

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Our party of four had an incredible dining experience at the Red Clover Inn. The lobster appetizer was to die for, the veal chop was the best my husband has ever had, and the octopus special was delicious! The chef and servers were incredbily talented and intelligent people. After dinner we retired to the lounge and enjoyed after dinner drinks while sitting in the lush couches and chairs and by the warm fire in the fireplace. Our evening was absolutely perfect and we can't wait to get back to VT for another culinary treat!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“A Gem in the Rutland area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We had dinner at the Red Clover for the first time and it was an all around great experience. The ambiance was wonderful down to the music, which fit perfect and the fresh flowers on the tables. Chef Dennis is an amazing talent, his food was superior, every bite surprised our pallet. We enjoyed the great selection of the wine list. Our waiter, Thomas, which was also the bartender made us first class cocktails. He served us with grace and elegance and made us feel as if we were in a 5 star establishment but without the pretense of those establishments. The evening was so memorable for us that we will soon be back for more!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Fine Dining in Rutland/Killington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

Outstanding food in a quaint Vermont Inn. Executive Chef Extraordinaire Dennis C. Vieira has to be tasted to be believed. From succulent scallops, to slow cooked Portuguese octopus (9 hours in beer), to moist chicken or duck, it just keeps getting better. Excellent wine list and mixed drinks with a flourless chocolate cake round out the evening. Do not miss this gem in the Green Moutains!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Clover Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Red Clover Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.