We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only a few restaurants have REAL Maple Syrup” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar and Spice

Sugar and Spice
Rte. 4, P.O. Box 1717, Mendon, VT 05702
802 773 7832
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Mendon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Rensselaer, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Only a few restaurants have REAL Maple Syrup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was a neat dining establishment because the building is part of a huge estate, and it was the original barn used for making maple syrup. Inside the barn theres 3 floors of tables and chairs, an old kitchen for making candies, used now for the cash register and check handling, cooking kitchen, counter seating, and gifts and such. On the first floor theres a gift shop and main vat for producing maple syrup, the second floor is mainly for the dining facility, and the third floor is more seats for customers. The service was absolutely wonderful, however if you are trying to get a group in there (more then 2 people) you will have some waiting to do. Once seated, drinks came shortly, and then we ordered are food, about a 10 minute wait and our food came. I ordered two over easy eggs, wheat toast with butter, bacon, and homefries and everything was delicious - looked how it was supposed to look and tasted how it should. I say this because sometimes I order homefries and the potatoes are too hard, or too salty, too bland, or extra cripy (burnt). My mom ordered an egg white breakfast sandwich with canadian bacon and a slice of ham, she thought it was flavorful, and melt in your mouth tasty. We also ordered coffee, oj, and water with our meal, and all the plates appeared to be antique with fine lace paintings on them, it was just a cool restaurant.

For a breakfast sandwich and bacon, as well as two eggs homefries bacon toast, large oj and coffee our meal came out to be $19.49... I call that decent for Vermont.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    37
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I visit this place every time I am in Vt. I love their syrup and candy. We had breakfast there and evertone loved what they got. I recomend this place to everyone.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagsboro, Delaware
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Maple Syrup Making and Eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This neat little place is just outside Rutland, Vermont heading east on route 4. During most of the year its a little breakfast and lunch place stuffed with gifts of all types and especially maple syrup. Sometime in March and into April, depending on the weather, you can watch them making the syrup right here from sap gathered from the woods. At other times of the year the boiling station is idle but visible to visitors to the restaurant. We had a nice lunch here and wandered around looking at all the items for sale including their home made maple candies and ice cream (ever tried maple ice cream?). We liked the pretentiousness of the place and it's atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very Vermonty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Came here for lunch which was very good,but will come back for breakfast which looks even better. I had the Old John's Grilled Sandwich- ham,cheese and turkey on really good whole wheat bread. My husband had the fruit and yogurt plate which he said was the best fruit he's had in a restaurant. There is an adjoining gift shop and we purchased the maple syrup and maple sugar. The place was packed at 11:00 am, so you know the food is good. Will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Breakfast Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

First time in the area and found the best place for breakfast. Food and service was wonderful. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar and Spice also viewed

 

Been to Sugar and Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar and Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.