We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay close to the slopes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cortina Inn and Resort

Cortina Inn and Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cortina Inn and Resort to your Saves list
Cortina Inn and Resort
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   5709 Route 4, Mendon, VT 05751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Mendon B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good stay close to the slopes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Pluses:
Very nice staff
Lovely room with a balcony, comfortable beds
Clean pool and hot tub area
This is a rather family oriented hotel, but children dissipate and are not runnign int he hallways
Free snacks and tea are a nice touch
Waffles at breakfast

Minuses:
Breakfast - I have never seen so much styrofoam in my life. Plastic utensils, styrofoam cups, when there obviously is a full service kitchen in the back. It would be a nice touch for this inn to become a bit more eco-friendly and wash their silverware instead, since they only serve breakfast once a day. It would set a lovely example for the visiting families.

Next time I would probably trade the pool for an inn with a bar for apres ski.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    33
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
29
41
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A refreshing surprise! Simple, clean, nice and comfortable! Full breakfast was hot, tasty and included. The decor was rustic with a great wood burning fireplace in the main foyer and adjacent seating area. The basement contained a pool table, darts, bar and fireplace. The beds were very comfortable but the room could use more drawer space. The Inn had an indoor hot tub and pool although the pool was a bit cooler than desired (but we still enjoyed it). Only a few miles from the slopes and even less if you are skiing Pico. Overall a nice place! Would definitely recommend and stay again!

Room Tip: We did not use the room service and I do not know if it was a available. A Spa was not available onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The resort has only gotten better under the new owners. It is still an awesome, comfortable, spacious inn/resort. It now includes a hot made to order breakfast, the most friendly staff. And just ask. They made cookies for an afternoon tea and cookies sit down. they even called the room to tell us they were warm. the pool goes from 3' to 10' deep, depth for everyone. The Hot tub was cooking. the game room has ping pong, air hockey, fuseball, pool. This is the best inn near killington. The shuttle stops here. Bring your ice skates for pond skating. Fitness room. Steam saunas. Huge fireplace in the main loddy with ample sitting room and quiet nooks to relax and unwind. Awesome customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I am a bit of germ a-phobe and very particular about hotels. When we went with many families to the Cortina Inn I was instantly concerned - ended up bringing my own blankets and pillows. When I am opened the door to our room, I was shocked....brand new room, great bathroom and extremely nice/comfortable beds!

The pool was perfect for the kids, bar downstairs for the adults and, the best part, the way the hotel is constructed adults can sit in the middle by a fire place while all the kids run around all night (we had ages ranging from 4 - 9). Breakfast is included and is better than what you might get at a newer Hampton Inn (coffee is great and cookies at night rock).

Hotel is a minute or two from Pico and about 10 min Killington.

Staff is very nice! Highly recommend the Cortina Inn! We stayed at the Hampton Inn in at Rutland last time, which is very good, but this is better (unless you want your Hilton points).

Room Tip: For an extra $25, you can get a room with a King and then bunk beds for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

No complaints except that the walls are so thin at the Cortina Inn, that you could hear every sound outside your room. The place is on a major road and you could hear traffic going by all night long, as well as people in the adjoining rooms and in the hallways. We didn't get much sleep on our stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay here without a set of ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Nice rooms, clean, spacious and equipped with some more recent furniture; bathrooms are a bit more modern as well. Hot breakfast with limited selection but in general all right. Staff is very friendly. Made some last minute reservation and front desk hooked us up with a stay and ski package. Price was very reasonable and it's only a few extra minutes to get to the Killington access road and ski bases. All in all a good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our stay at the Cortina Inn was great. We came in late after a very cold day of skiing. The management was more that happy to have us check in around 6 rather than 3. The man at the desk was helpful, going so far as to offer us the free coffee, tea, and granola bars.

The room was well-appointed and very clean. Though it was a bit chilly. The temperature had bee set at 59 degrees, which after a day spend skiing that starts at -3, was quite cold. The room heated up quickly and we moved on.

The beds were insanely comfortable and, after returning from dinner, we fell right asleep. There was a small game room with an air hockey table and a ping-pong table but it looks like a work in progress. The pool and hottub looked nice, but we didn't have a chance to utilize them. There was also a bar that looked cool, but we were far to tired.

The breakfast in the morning was a pleasant surprise. We had been expecting a simple continental breakfast but were met with a dining room and a full hot breakfast including eggs, bacon, home fries, hash, waffles, pancakes, and french toast.

All in all, our stay was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortina I, Manager at Cortina Inn and Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel and staff to your liking. We look forward to having you stay with us again and maybe next time you will be able to enjoy the other amenities the hotel as to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cortina Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortina Inn and Resort

Address: 5709 Route 4, Mendon, VT 05751
Location: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cortina Inn and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cortina Inn, located in Rutland/Killington is one of Vermont’s loveliest hotel and four-season destination resort, is centrally located in the Green Mountain State only minutes from the Killington and Pico ski areas and just a few miles from downtown Rutland. Here, experience the true meaning of “relaxation” amidst the awe-inspiring beauty of the extraordinary natural environment. Virtually everything you could want is within a few steps of your door, and you’re always welcomed by a friendly staff dedicated to your every comfort.Internationally renowned for offering guests the charming hospitality of a country inn with the splendid amenities of a full service resort hotel. Cortina Inn features 57 beautifully appointed rooms and suites, all air-conditioned and many with their own fireplaces. Tastefully and uniquely furnished in luxurious contemporary décor or charming country style, every room and suite provides enviable levels of comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cortina Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortina Hotel Mendon
Cortina Inn And Resort Vermont/Mendon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cortina Inn and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.