We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond my expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Killington Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Host Killington Lodge to your Saves list
Budget Host Killington Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4293 US Route 4 East, Mendon, VT 05701-9652 (Formerly Econo Lodge Killington Area)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call Direct for BEST Rate
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mendon
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
“Beyond my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

We have stayed at the EconoLodge 3 times and had a wonderful stay each time. The rooms were always clean and the staff friendly. We have stayed here in the summer and to ski..this time to see the leaves. Love the cozy lobby with the huge fireplace! We will be going back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    21
    12
    20
    10
See reviews for
24
34
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

I went here with some firends for 4 days about a week ago. The Staff were all very helpful in many ways offering assistance to dining out and other local area attractions. Each evening we would sit in front of the fire and have a couple drinks in the lobby. Our rooms were always very clean you could tell the house keepers liked their job, I think there is nothing better then to walk into a room and smell the cleaness. They had just up dated the wireless Internet which was really nice, worked fast and easy. The game room is small but was nice was not a major thing for us as we were here to ski, but we did play a couple games of pool while the girls used the hot tub. They offer a continental breakfast which was really nice, we also got the low down on a nice breakfast place just down the road from the front desk.
I don't know what else to say we plan to come back to this place many more times this year. For the price and the friendly staff we all felt it was really worth it. It's no 5 star by any means but, it offers about the same ammenities as the other hotels in the area. You know when we come to Vermont to ski this will be the place for us.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

I stayed at this Econolodge on a recommendation from a business associate during my last trip to the area.

The hotel is a small place up on the hill and doesnt seem to have very many rooms. The room I stayed in had a fairly large space between the door and the door frame and when looking at the door from inside the room, I could see the hallway. Weird.

The bathrooms are small, very small. In fact, very very very small. Just a toilet and shower.

The internet connection was horrible. It kept disconnecting the whole time i was trying to use it and the signal was really bad. I called the office and they reset it twice but it didnt take long for the connection to go funky again.
Also, the "breakfast" if you can call it that, was simply horrible. Breakfast consisted of terrible coffee, mini-muffins that tasted terrible and some bagels. It really wasnt breakfast. After seeing that unfortunate breakfast, I absolutely would not stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

The location of the lodge was good. Lots of parking area. The lodge was at least 50% empty when we stayed there. Our room was booked by telephone which was a mistake. We were advised by staff that they had no idea what we paid and they could not provide us with a bill showing the charges. We were assigned a room down a flight of 3 or 4 stairs, undoubtedly the worst area of the lodge. The door to a very messy laundry room, close to our room entrance, was left open for the full two days we were there. The toilet bowl in our bathroom appeared dirty. The staff obviously is not well trained on how to treat customers, as we feel we were treated as second class citizens due to the location of our room and the messy laundry room that we had to walk by for two days.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

If you have asthma STAY AWAY . The place is dangerous because they over use aresol cleaners to the point that anyone sensitive to these products could be in the ER or worst. We walked in to the over powering scent of some cleaner. After going into a full asthma attack we inquired what was in the room giving off the odor... they replied oh it is just this cleaner ( he holds up a spray can of cleaner) . Then goes about spraying the lobby office with the stuff. Until you have experienced a coughing fit where the air goes out faster than you can breath in you may not understand how bad this place is.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Booked a 2-queen bedroom with full kitchen. The room was spacious and clean. It did not have mold filled floor tiles or sink as one reviewer complained about his room . The staff was friendly and provided me with everything I requested, like towels for the spa and a new box of kleenex. This is not your typical Econo Lodge, with such special amenities as hot tub, a lobby with sofas & fireplace, library, and a game room with pool table and ping pong. The only downside is the complimentary breakfast, which is the bare minimum.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed overnight coming back from Montreal to New York. The location of the hotel is convenient for this purpose – right on route 4, easy to find and not far from Rutland. The room was big with a small refrigerator and seemingly clean bed and bathroom. TV and small AC worked ok.
On negative side - water in a small pool outside had awful green color, continental breakfast was a joke, Wi-Fi worked only in the lobby and only on a bench next to reception and only the first day. The place looked like it did not see any major maintenance work for years. And there were only few travelers staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host Killington Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Killington Lodge

Address: 4293 US Route 4 East, Mendon, VT 05701-9652 (Formerly Econo Lodge Killington Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Killington Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Budget Host Killington Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Killington Area Hotel Mendon
Econo Lodge Mendon
Econolodge Killington Area
Mendon Econo Lodge
Budget Host Killington Lodge Vermont/Mendon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Killington Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.