We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep coming back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Barnstead Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barnstead Inn
Save
You added The Barnstead Inn to your Saves list
Bonnet Street, P O Box 988, Manchester, VT 05255   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Keep coming back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have now stayed at the Barnstead Inn three times in a year when we travel to Vermont to visit friends. Neil and Cindy are very welcoming and we love going back there. The rooms are very clean, there is great information available about all of the local attractions, and it is within walking distance of town so you don't have to worry about parking in Manchester Center, which is tricky on a good day. Now that we have outgrown being able to stay with our friends, we definitely consider this our Vermont home away from home!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    22
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
34
90
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This place is immediately inviting. My husband and I went for our anniversary and we only had 1 night to get away and the Barnstead Inn was incredibly accommodating. First, we showed up early and one of the maids let us go into our room before we even checked in so we could use the bathroom and let us park our car so we could walk down to the outlets. When we did check in, Neil was like an old friend that you haven't seen in a while. It was all so comfortable and familiar. We will definitely be going back, hopefully before our next anniversary.
Altogether, it was a clean, comfortable, and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have stayed at other places in Manchester but the Barnstead Inn is a real find. The Inn is charming and in a great location. We were greeted by Neil upon our arrival. He was genuinely nice and check in was seamless. Our room was clean, we had a fridge and the bed was very comfortable. Important to note how quiet the Inn is, other guests were around but we never heard doors slamming, tv's or toilets. Due to weather, we did not have a chance to use the pool but hope to on our next trip. It was clean and the pool area was nice. Grounds are very well kept with plenty of spots to sit and enjoy the scenery. Neil greeted us again right away upon check out and he was around when we had questions. We will be returning!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We selected this Inn because it was a last minute trip and our original choices were sold out. The location is very good, the innkeepers pleasant and the room is basic, clean, but the bathroom has a small sink with no counter space. The mattress was firm and we slept well. There is air conditioning and heat controlled individually in each room. There are no real amenities. The room was $175 which seemed overpriced for what it is; $150 max for this room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil H, Owner at The Barnstead Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I am sorry that you were not completely happy. The Barnstead Inn is a great place with historic value. It has been restored to my specifications. Sometimes twice! I Love it and It is meant to be simple, cozy, comfortable and clean. So, thank you for that. It is our home and it is perfect. Cindy and I put our hearts into the place. As for our rates, there has been no increase since 2007. Although I do not anticipate any increases at this time. I will have to ponder that. This being our 28th. year as Innkeepers I know that our rates are very reasonable when compared to others in town especially given our location as being the only Inn in the Center and walking distance to everything. With a little "investigation" I am confident that you will find that as well. The room that you were luckily able to reserve is one of my favorites and ,(I like them all), was only available due to a last minute cancellation brought on by a personal matter for one of our returning guests. I sure missed them this year. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This was the find of the century. It's a perfect walk to town and the cutest, most comfortable place on earth. I stayed in a room with my daughter and son (there was a pull out for my son). The rooms are large and clean and have mini fridges. The bathroom was fabulous as well. The setting is story like. I can't wait to come again. (And the owners make you feel so welcome!)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Barnstead Inn is home away from home. The rooms feel like an extension of Cindy and Neil's house. They are clean, beautifully decorated, and welcoming. The setting is picture perfect. The gardens are beautiful, and everything is kept flawlessly. The location is convenient to walk into town to shop or eat. The park directly across the street is perfect for walking or running. Overall A+!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I am a repeat customer with the Barnstead Inn and each time I reserve a room I am met with warmth and appreciation by the owners Neil and Cindy. The rooms are always beautifully outfitted with Vermont decor and the little conveniences such as the coffee maker, fridge and microwave.
The gardens are beautiful. It is the "Vermont" escape in town. We love to walk the couple of blocks to our favorite bookstore and the little eateries on Historic Main Street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Barnstead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barnstead Inn

Address: Bonnet Street, P O Box 988, Manchester, VT 05255
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barnstead Inn sits in the perfect Vermont setting. A short stroll and a you will enjoy shopping and dining on Manchester's Main Street. If your desire is to remain at the Inn there is plenty of seating available around the grounds. There is a screened in Gazebo set into a beautiful flower garden. A great place to relax or enjoy a comfortable rocker on the front porch.Free wireless internet access available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Barnstead Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barnstead Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.