We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dining room in historic town with meal to match” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant

The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
17-39 West Rd, Manchester, VT 05254-0678
+1 802-362-2568
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 62 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $55
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Seminary Road
Description: The Restaurant features the Panther's renowned gourmet farm-to-table cuisine and offers a sophisticated dining experience that is among the highest rated in New England. The Patio Raw Bar is open seasonally offering Al Fresco dining for dinner in a less formal atmosphere. With views over the gardens and Mount Equinox, the Patio is a picturesque venue for a casual dinner. The Panther Pub is open for special events, private group dining and receptions and offers an intimate private dining or meeting experience.
El Paso
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely dining room in historic town with meal to match”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The dining room is traditional with French doors or floor to ceiling windows on three sides, which makes a very lovely environment at twilight. The mood is reasonably formal for a country inn but very comfortable. The food was most pleasing. A first course of curried sweet potato soup was unusual, cool, and tasty. We had a vegetarian main course that was excellent; the chicken with pasta was outstanding; and the swordfish was as good as the other two main courses. The wine list has a good range of prices. The wait staff were friendly and helpful. All in all, a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    20
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fair Price for finner Wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Mark up of better Wines was about 100 % of what I pay for at home as opposed to 2 to 3 x's the price found in Manhattan. Food was acceptable (give it an 8 out of 10) but service was excellent.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“PORR QUALITY & SERVICE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

As a hotel guest, I had high expectations & I agree with other reviewers, brakfast was good. I was greeted by a waiter/supervisor, who seemed miffed because I was solo; my original booking was for 2, but I notified the hotel (more than once) that i was dining alone. My server was pleasant, but seemed totally inept. The "amuse" was a single shrimp - not fresh or tasty. I ordered the scallop appetizer & some other dish was delivered, without explanation or apology. When the scallops finally came (all 2 of them) they were accompanied by an abundance chorizo, which was dry & tastless; I didn't eat it & also avoided the hush puppies on the plate which were hard as marbles. Maybe the main would rescue the meal? NOT SO. The chicken was oversalted, over cooked; but I ate it anyway, because I was hungry. It was served on square pieces of pasta with ricotta cheese--I asked the waiter if the pasta was supposed to be cold? He said he would check with the chef-- I never got an answer & did not eat the pasta. So, 2 scallops, bread & a piece of chicken, plus 2 glasses of open wine (the ones on my check were not what I ordered or drank?)
for $80. I do not recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Awesome rooms ... get the epicurean package 2 nights wine and cheeses on arrival breakfast each day dinner one night girlfriend did not want to leave

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Corner, Connecticut
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Breakfast was a lot better than dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

First let me say that the breakfast that came with a stay in one of the inn's rooms was superb! The only negative about it was that many of the really lovely German china cups had chipped lips. The servers were also very nice and helpful.

Dinner, however, was not of the quality that I would have expected at the price we paid. The wine selection was very good, and the salad excellent, but my meat was, frankly overcooked. My dessert was three scoops of sherbet that were miniscule in size. We ate there the firstof three nights we were in town, and opted to go elsewhere the next two nights. We arrived without reservations and were asked if we had them with a tone that made it sound like we might really have a problem getting in wirthout one, but there were, as it turned out, very few diners in the room, and only one couple who came in after us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.