We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ye Olde Tavern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YE OLDE TAVERN

YE OLDE TAVERN
5183 Main Street, Route 7a, Manchester, VT 05255
+1 802-362-0611
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 63 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $16 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open daily for dinner from 5pm with last seating at 9pm.Reservations are suggested. Our Tavern is handicapped accessible and attire is casual neat.Ye Olde Tavern has facilities for meetings and special events, such as Brunch, Lunch, Dinner and Cocktails. We can serve up to 90 people.The State of Vermont has recognized our circa 1790 Colonial Inn as a 'Green Restaurants'. Wine Specatator & Wine Enthusiast Magazine have recognized our Wine List as one of the best in the country. Minna & Michael Brandt- Proprietors Jeannette Garneau- General Manager Cliff Cooper- Executive Chef
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ye Olde Tavern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

While in Manchester, we always eat here. Outstanding food and great ambiance. Great staff who are always friendly. For that extra special treat, when done eating get the (I believe it's called) the Chocolate Bombe. Extra rich chocolate layer cake with flaming brandy finish. Outstanding!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
David,
Thank you for reviewing your evening at Ye Olde Tavern. The greatest compliment we can receive is your repeat business. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food, atmosphere and service. The chocolate bombe is in addition to tasting awesome, is a fun dessert to serve, you get to flambé it tableside.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    106
    39
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Loved the ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We had a lovely meal and great service. The restaurant offers a price fixe meal before 6pm which includes salad, dinner with sides and dessert. The homemade ale is a winner. There was nothing to complain about here.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Sandy,
Thank you for the kind words and dining with us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Tavern experience and were able to take advantage of the Early Bird Menu. Until next time, cheers! Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“CHARM AND WARMTH ALL IN ONE RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We dined at the Ye Old Tavern last night and had a charming and welcoming experience. The Garden Room is an oasis in any season, bringing the beauty of the outdoors inside, without the heat! Marie was our waitress and could not have been more professional, helpful, and lovely. The restaurant was quite busy and despite the crowd, she managed to pay attention to her tables with grace and humor. Our appetizers and entrees were as artistically presented as they were delicious. Flavors were clean and very fresh. There are so many options available on the menu, that are sure to please any palate. Ye Old Tavern is an experience not to be missed if you enjoy carefully orchestrated food, a charming ambiance, service that is top notch, and an atmosphere that allows you to relax and enjoy your special evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Claudia,
Wow, I am speechless. a big THANK YOU from all of us for your wonderful
review and your visit! From our server team to our kitchen brigade, we were
delighted to see that "the food was artistically presented and delicious"
and the "service was professional, helpful and lovely”. Your comments
will be shared with the staff and especially Marie. She has been a valued
member of our team for 13 years and we love working with her. Our chefs take
great pride in there work and happy it showed. I must agree, the Garden
Room is beautiful with its hand hewn beams, wood stove, antique 'tchotchke' and
abundance of plants.

Many thanks again and we look forward to your return! Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Crafted cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My friend and I were only going to stop in for a cocktail. Our crafted cocktails were so exceptional we stayed for dinner which was also exceptional.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for stopping in for one of our 'Crafted Cocktails'. It is very important to us to keep history alive and that's our goal with Our 'Classic Cocktails Menu' Many of these drinks, have fallen out of fashion and have been replaced by cocktails like the 'Cosmopolitan'. It's a lot of fun reintroducing these cocktails, we like to say... "Drink what you grandparents drank'. I am very happy you decided to stay for dinner and enjoyed the entire evening. We look forward to your next visit. Cheers! Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie in Ho-Ho-Kus, NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“What you'd want from Ye Olde Tavern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This place is charming and kitschy in exactly the right way. The history of the very old building is awesome and the decor is appropriate to the time period. Some may find it a little tired-looking but we loved that it fit what it was supposed to be, an authentic homage to times past. Service was friendly, menu was full of familiar classics done well and deliciously, without unnecessary fluff or weird ingredients that wouldn't make sense here. My veggie lasagna was surprisingly well done (didn't expect an Italian offering to be so yummy! but I risked it anyway... It spoke to me) and my husband's "pot pie" was delicious, although more of a shepherds pie without the crust. Waitress described it right on so we knew what to expect. Fun throwback dinner spot. Loved the beer in chilled mason mugs. Worth the spot, we would return in a heartbeat when back in Manchester.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Katie,
On goes the computer this morning and up pops your review, thanks! It is great knowing that you enjoyed the evening! We try to stay true to the age of the building with our twists on old time favorites and happy you get it. We look forward to welcoming you back and once again thanks. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed YE OLDE TAVERN also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to YE OLDE TAVERN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YE OLDE TAVERN, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.