We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey feel and the staff was great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Perfect Wife

The Perfect Wife
2594 Depot St / Rte 11 - 30, Manchester, VT 05255
+1 802-362-2817
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 62 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Amy's creative approach to combining ingredients results in an intriguing and delicious menu. Enjoy a memorable fine dining experience while relaxing in our rustic cobblestone walled restaurant and greenhouse garden room. Our broad wine list and extensive selection of spirits will provide just the right accompaniment for your meal. And as a reward for eating all your veggies, you should treat yourself to a delicious homemade dessert. Afterwards, feel free to stop in at our spirited local tavern for an after dinner drink or a game of darts, with live music in the tavern on most Friday evenings.
luxemburg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Homey feel and the staff was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The menu had so many good things it was hard to decide on something. They had a meatloaf special which we both had and it was like eating homemade food. The dessert we had was Blueberry crunch and that was excellent but big enough for 2 people to eat.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    73
    34
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, MA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hello:
My wife and I had dinner at the Perfect Wife after a day of driving the byways of Vermont. Everything was delicious but I think our favorite was the clam cakes. Awesome! The restaurant has a lot of character and we enjoyed our dinner and will visit again.

Take care,
Kevin

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Eat in the Bar Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had fantastic food. Try thr eggplant fries. Friendly atmosphere and the price has right. It also looked like there were alot of locals who ate there which is always a good sign.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Mixed Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The menu is interesting, the dishes very inventive. Some of the food delivered on the promise, but others really didn't. Loved the eggplant fries w curry dip, but our entrees were underwhelming. I truly feel promise here, but the menu needs to be edited so that the kitchen can prepare fewer dishes really well.
Important note: the formal restaurant was not open the night we went so we dined in the tavern. Different menu and experience I've been told.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I always have a good time at The Perfect Wife. It is a Restaurant/Tavern that offers two different experiences: more formal dining downstairs, and a casual dining experience with frequent live music in the Tavern upstairs with beautiful outdoor patio (covered) attached. I don't get in there too much, but I love the atmosphere in the Tavern, it is warm and inviting, and it thrives with music and life. The food and the bartenders (Melissa, Kelly and Greg) are always great! My favorite dishes are the "Teriyaki Chicken and Noodle Salad" (yum!), and the "Nacho Mama". We usually go with a small group of ladies and share our favorites, and the food is consistently delish.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Perfect Wife also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to The Perfect Wife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Perfect Wife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.