We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family-run lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olympia Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Olympia Lodge to your Saves list
Olympia Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7259 Main St., P.O. Box 606, Manchester, VT 05255 (Formerly Olympia Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Garden City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent family-run lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our last minute reservation turned out great! Sal & Trish are wonderful hosts, the lodge is nice and clean, room was clean as well. Plentiful breakfast menu, cozy fireplace & seating in the main area. We stayed only one night over the weekend while skiing in Vermont for the first time. Sal was very helpful with directions and info on the area. We'll definately stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia L, Manager at Olympia Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post on tripadvisor. We are so glad your last minute getaway was spent with us at the Olympia. We enjoyed having you as our guest in our home. We look forward to seeing you next ski season...Have a great summer and think snow.....See you soon.

Enter as strangers, Leave as friends...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    18
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
35
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Olympia Lodge is a family run hotel that in my opinion is the example of how other small businesses or family run businesses SHOULD run. The way they greet and treat their guests is like those very nice neighbors inviting you to their home and making you feel welcome. This is not a 5 star enterprise but it is a very nice place to stay. The home made breakfast to me was a highlight. Its amazing how much effort they put to make sure their guests are comfortable in their place. The rooms are clean, the owners are very friendly and professional, the included breakfast is a HUGE PLUS and the hospitality is unheard of. I would recommend anyone taking a trip to that part of Vermont to stay at this place and save your money from overspending at places where you are just a number. I take a trip with my wife up there for skiing in the winter and we finally found a place to stay every year. Great place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Olympia for the second time over President's Day weekend and once again had a great time. Cute and cozy, you will feel right at home while staying at the Olympia. Whether relaxing by the fire or enjoying an Old Fashioned at the bar (yes, they had all the ingredients necessary!), the Olympia is a great find in Manchester!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We randomly decided to spend a night in Manchester VT when the weather turned bad. Read some reviews and decided to check out the Olympia Lodge. Was greeted by the owner Sal at the front desk and after a brief conversation realized we both grew up in Sheepshead Bay, Brooklyn. Small world. Both Sal and his wife, Trish, really make you feel welcome, and provide great advice about the area. Sal helped us out with a dinner reservation at Ye Old Tavern, which had really good food.

This is not a fancy 5 star hotel, and doesn't pretend to be one. The room was spacious and clean, and the made to order breakfast was tasty. There is a fireplace and a small bar in the Lodge, that adds to the relaxed atmosphere of the place.

Overall, we had a very good stay, and can recommend without hesitation. We hope to visit again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia L, Manager at Olympia Lodge, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi guys, thanks so much for taking the time to post a review.
It's very rare to have someone just walk into the Olympia and find out they grew up just a few minutes away. It was great meeting the both of you and talking about Sheepshead Bay. It truly was a magnificent place to grow up. Hope the rest of your trip was fun. We look forward to seeing you again.
Thanks
Enter as strangers, Leave as friends...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend over MLK weekend. Trish and Sal couldn't have been any nicer! Granted, it's not a 5 start hotel, but the rooms are very clean, the breakfast is made to order, and I can't rant and rave enough how accommodating everyone is. Whatever you need, Trish will make sure you get it along with other recommendations of where to eat, where to go shopping to get the best ski deals, etc. You're about 20 minutes away from Stratton Mountain, and 5-15 minutes away from some very lovely bars and restaurants. We recommend The Perfect Wife Restaurant and Bar. The downstairs is a nice restaurant, and the upstairs is a pub (with tables as well). We're definitely going back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia L, Front Office Manager at Olympia Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
So glad we were able to help make your weekend so enjoyable!! It nice to be able to get away and have a fun weekend with friends. Let us know if we can help with planning another trip to Vermont anytime soom!!
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

After reading the great reviews of the Olympia we decided to try it out for our first "big" ski trip, and am I sure glad we did! From our first inquiry call to when we reluctantly said goodbye, Trish & Sal made us feel welcome, comfortable, and treated us like longtime friends rather than the VT ski trip novices we really were. With their help, we got the best deal possible on Stratton lift tickets, had all the great local/insider advice on the slopes/lifts/lodges/logistics we could ever need, and had a lot of laughs at the end of the day reliving the adventures next to the fire with them & all the guests!

The kids & I LOVED the generous breakfasts Sal & Trish served us. After a full morning of skiing I was still pretty full and didn't need to eat lunch. Everything -even the toast- was special!

The rooms are large, extremely clean, and unloading/reloading is a cinch for the downstairs guests. Their location is ideally close to all the shopping and dining in Manchester, and an easy 15-20 minute ride to the slopes.

In summary: Outstanding hospitality, Ideal location, Reasonable rates, Highly Recommended. I have a feeling we'll be back to try some hiking in the summer or fall.

Room Tip: Downstairs at the end of the hall worked great for unpacking/repacking the car. 10 steps. Downstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia L, Front Office Manager at Olympia Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hey Jim,
It was so nice to meet you and your family. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in the BIG MOUNTAINS!! Sorry to say your going to have to come back because the kiddos are now going to want to ski the big slopes all the time!! Maybe next time our kids will get to hang out?
We are looking forward to your next trip to Vermont!
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

The Olympia is always our favorite part of a trip to Vermont. Sal and Trish are great innkeepers and make everyone feel at home. We spent yesterday afternoon après ski in front of the fire. What could be better?

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia L, Front Office Manager at Olympia Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hey Jean and Hank
It's always so nice to see you guys relaxing in front of the fire.....Hank you do a great job keeping that fire going!! (you have a promising 2nd career as an innkeeper). Hopefuuly the time between visits can be shorter. We really enjoy seeing you.
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olympia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Lodge

Address: 7259 Main St., P.O. Box 606, Manchester, VT 05255 (Formerly Olympia Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympia Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Olympia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.