We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Manchester View to your Saves list
Manchester View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77 High Meadow Way & VT-7A, P.O. Box 1268, Manchester, VT 05255   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ansonia, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I'm not sure about the older reviews but everything seems to have been upgraded in the past few years. We stumbled on the Manchester View after we walked out of a "disgusting" place that was falsely advertised down the road (stay away from Stone's Lodge at the bottom of Stratton Mountain at any cost). The wonderful staff was able to accommodate us last minute and we were very happy with the spacious room. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we have been back twice in the past 2 months. The Manchester View is the perfect romantic getaway and a great place to take the kids too! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for the positive feedback! We work hard all year-long to upgrade and update inside and out. We have a fantastic staff that spares no effort to accommodate our guests; we’re glad they were able to make you happy! And we appreciate that you’ve become repeat guests! We agree - The Manchester View is the perfect romantic getaway and a great place for the whole family! We look forward to seeing you again really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    84
    21
    9
    9
See reviews for
73
135
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Appears to be a reworked 1950's roadside motel with outside entrance also there was an cockroach in the bed and other insects were killed in the room as well. We could not see out the window peephole. It was the week when the tempertures were in the 90's and when we arrived at dinner time the airconditioner in the room was turned off. When we explained problems at checkout the woman said she would have the owner call. I never received a call.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
It appears this reviewer did not look at our website prior to booking their reservation. As some photos show, most rooms have an outside entrance. Our guests appreciate having their cars nearby and not having to lug their luggage far. As for being overpriced, our prices are competitive with other similar properties in and around Manchester, VT.

Why would a reviewer think other reviews are suspect unless theirs is? All our reviews are unsolicited and honest. Most are very good to excellent. There are some we're less enthused over and we strive to be better. This particular review is just not nice.

The insect referred to as a cockroach was an earwig, an innocuous part of nature of the mountains in which The Manchester View is located. We periodically treat for such insects and only when rooms are empty for a period of time. In addition, each room is thoroughly cleaned and prepared after check-outs and then again before check-ins including vacuuming, so there would not have been lots of dead insects in any room. There are no peepholes in any room. We don't leave air conditioners on all day in advance of an arrival as guests can come anytime through the night. We try to conserve energy where we can. We do, however, always turn a/c's on at the request of an incoming guest, at any time they want.

Lastly, we, the owners, are not always available. We have an excellent staff including front desk, housekeeping and maintenance, that we entrust with The Manchester View. They do all they can and more to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable. There are times where guests have to make their needs known WHILE they are guests, and not wait until after they leave when it's too late for us to do anything about it. We look forward to exceeding the expectations of our guests in the near and distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

It was okay. It had a nice view being on the mountain, but the room was small and a bit dated, There was a funny chemical smell in our room. We didn't realize that high season only started after July 4th, and the daily breakfast wasn't available (except on weekends) until then, and we were there on a Wednesay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give a review of The Manchester View.

The Queen Standard room that you chose to stay in is a quaint room, with a queen bed, easy chair, desk, tv, dvd, refrigerator, Keurig coffee maker, private bathroom, and deck. We offer a full array of types and sizes of rooms from Queen Standards to Two-Bedroom and Grand Suites, all with a view.

Our rooms have been updated with new carpet, bedding, furniture and décor. Breakfast is offered on weekends since our guests usually aren't interested in breakfast during the week. We're sorry these issues took away from your experience. We hope that, if you return to Manchester, you give The Manchester View another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonsboro, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Booked via Internet. Was familiar with town, wanted Equinox but it was fully booked. Stayed in grand suite, king and sofa bed.

Pros: Beautiful grounds, most rooms have lovely mountain views, near Manchester, quiet, nice registration personnel, safe area, non-smoking, extra 1/2 bath was helpful.

Negatives: Need to amend the marketing. This is NOT what we consider "luxury". Where to start: Dated furniture/decor Uncomfortable bed. Even a foam topper would help. Uncomfortable sofa (granted, it was a sleeper). Pillows on king bed were nice (only 3 for 2 people) but if you need extras, the ones in the room intended for use by the sofa bed guests are like cardboard. Gym-like shower with cracked tiles and ants roaming. No microwave. Not enough outlets. We had to set electronics on the hallway floor to charge them. A surge supressor at the desk would help. NOISY AC units and very hard to regulate room temp. TV had several channels with no sound. No ability to order movies. No restaurant. Crazy Kuerig coffemaker with ONE pod per person for morning coffee. No tea bags offered. No reserved parking for any units so whenever we went out during the day, cars full of pool-goers would park in front of our strip of rooms, blocking room access. I'm not even sure they were registered guests. We'd have to park away from our room, wait for the pool people to leave and then move the car back near our room. MV needs either designated pool parking or reserved spaces for each unit.

It's a place to lay your head, but at 250/night, it seems overpriced for the area.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give your review. It is true - our beautifully landscaped grounds and marvelous view are priceless!
Sorry to hear Vermont luxury did not live up to your standards. We are sure you didn’t talk to our front desk about the issues you address here because the staff would have gone out of their way to make you happy!

The furniture, carpeting, bedding and décor are new. There are extra pillows in the closets in The Grand Suite where you stayed. Additional pillows and towels, the use of a microwave and additional coffee/tea service are all available for the asking. All parking is assigned; we ask for car information such as make, model and license plate so that, if an unassigned car is parked, we can have it moved. Only Manchester View guests use our pool; we monitor its use so that non-guests do not come onto the property without permission. Our rates are competitive with those in the Manchester area.

We hope your next trip lives up to your expectations. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed at the Manchester View June 28-30 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had an extremely spacious suite called the Grand Suite. Very clean and comfortable, an enormous bathroom with a Jacuzzi and a huge shower stall. There was also a powder room near the entry.
Staff was very helpful, the grounds are beautiful and immaculate.
Myra and Jerry
Montreal

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in The Grand Suite. We take pride in keeping all of our 36 rooms and suites clean and comfortable, our landscaping beautiful, and that our staff was very helpful. We hope you come back again as you were a pleasure to host!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner, The Fern Lodge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We are your typical well-traveled couple with 13-year old son. My husband travels frequently for business and is very particular. Every year we do a different "family bike ride" of approximately 275 miles with 2 other small families- 11 of us from multiple 45-50+ to multiple 13-15 year olds . This year, our southern Vermont tour took us through Manchester. It is a challenge to make everybody happy- Manchester View is a gem. Very reasonably priced (Manchester can be a bit "high") , very clean, MAGNIFICENT view, nice pool, refrig in room. It is a motel with a very nice "Inn-feel" . Book it.

Room Tip: we had a jaccuzzi in a Grand suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thanks so much for making us your PLACE TO STAY in Manchester!

Our hats off to you for undertaking the "family bike ride!" We're happy this year's trek took you through Manchester. You were excellent guests and we appreciate your kind words about The Manchester View. We try to make everyone happy with our competitive rates, clean and well-appointed rooms, and warm and sunny pool. The Manchester View is the INN place to stay! We hope your bike ride brings you our way again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We picked this place based on other tripadviser reviews. Overall, we were not disappointed. The place was just outside Manchester center. We booked it last minute and the price was better than what was quoted online. We stayed in the Calvin Coolidge room which was very nice. We had a private balcony and the views of the green mountains were breathtaking. The only disappointment that we had were the mattress which was very uncomfortable and the continental breakfast was not much of a continental breakfast. Granted I was only $3 a person, there was coffee, orange juice, milk, mini bagels, muffins and cereal. I would have liked a real continental breakfast with fruits, yogurts, and real fresh bagels.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We’re so pleased you weren’t disappointed by your stay. Our Calvin Coolidge room is well-appointed and very comfortable, as our all of our standard rooms, specialty rooms and suites. In addition to new mattresses, pillows and decorating, the rooms have decks with breathtaking views.

We’re sorry the breakfast wasn't what you would have liked. We provide a continental breakfast for $3 per person for the convenience of our guests and it includes all that you mention: coffee, tea, orange juice, milk, mini bagels, cream cheese, blueberry muffins and cereal (oatmeal in autumn). We do recommend local restaurants for a larger breakfast.

We hope you come our way again and stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manchester View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester View

Address: 77 High Meadow Way & VT-7A, P.O. Box 1268, Manchester, VT 05255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Manchester
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manchester View 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manchester View is a 3-Diamond AAA Vermont destination for both family vacations and romantic getaways. There are 36 rooms and suites set on 10 landscaped acres with 360-degree views of the Green Mtns. including 1 and 2 bedroom suites, fireplaces, 2 person spa tubs, all with individual decorated themes. Every room or suite has a balcony or deck to enjoy one of the best views in Southern Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Manchester View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester View Hotel Manchester
Hotel Manchester Center
Manchester Center View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.