We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but over priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Manchester View to your Saves list
Manchester View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77 High Meadow Way & VT-7A, P.O. Box 1268, Manchester, VT 05255   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable but over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The GPS directed us to the Manchester View the back way where there is no sign. My heart sank when I saw the series of older style motel buildings and shabby office. We were uplifted when we opened the door to our room. Although the building is old, the 2-queen premium room was spacious. The bedding appeared new and the mattresses were comfortable. The view is outstanding, but I felt the $200 price was a little steep for this establishment. The nearest restaurant is five miles away and there is no food available on the premises.

Room Tip: Be sure to specify "top" floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your visit to The Manchester View. Although we have no control over the directions from GPS, we do empathize with your experience. We are actually well-located just off the main road of Route 7A, 1 3/4 miles north from the center of town. Our large signs are on the main road.

We are surprised and disappointed your initial impression of the exterior of The Manchester View was not favorable. We take pride in the constant upkeep of the buildings and grounds. While ours is not brand-new construction, we upgrade and update all year long. As you mentioned, the room was spacious and the bedding and mattress were new. We're glad you enjoyed your room.

Our desk staff could have directed you to restaurants close-by. The closest restaurant to The Manchester View is Nipper's Cafe. It is highly rated on tripadvisor.com, is just a minute down the road, and serves breakfast and dinner. The next closest restaurant is also highly rated - Ye Olde Tavern - and is about a mile down the road towards the center of town. There are other numerous and varied restaurants located within 5 minutes, as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    84
    21
    9
    9
See reviews for
73
135
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ogdensburg, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was the first time we have stayed at the Manchester View and loved it. We were in town for the Vermont Summer Festival horse show and the location of this hotel was ideal for us. Very quiet and clean place to stay. The staff is very professional and accommodating. We will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for giving us here at The Manchester View the opportunity to host your stay while you were in town. We're so happy to hear you loved your visit; your words of praise for our staff and rooms are much appreciated. We look forward to your visit next year, if not sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed at the Manchester View when my daughter rode in the Vermont Summer Horse Festival. We stayed in the Norman Rockwell suite. The main bedroom was large and the king size bed was firm (the way I like them). My son and daughter each had a pull out sofa that turned into a full sized bed. The both slept soundly. The property is beautiful and the view from our deck was perfect. There is a $3 breakfast at the hotel... but there are so many great places for breakfast in Manchester, we never ate at the hotel. The location was perfect... close to the fair grounds, close to downtown Manchester, close to the marble quarry, close to everything we wanted to do. My only regret is that I didn't get a chance to use to jacuzzi tub! We would definitely stay there again if we don't rent a house next time out.

Room Tip: The "named" rooms as the more expensive rooms but they are much nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your kind words about The Manchester View. The Norman Rockwell is a super room, great for a family with children because of the twin sofa beds, or for a couple looking for spacious luxury. We offer other superb suites and specialty rooms, as well as queen and king rooms that accommodate from one to six guests. As you mentioned, our location is excellent, being within minutes of all attractions, restaurants and shopping. As for missing out on the spa tub, you’ll just have to come back! We’d love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have stayed at the Manchester View 3 years in a row now for the Vermont Summer Festival horse show. The rooms are very clean, the bathrooms are clean and updated, and the air conditioning works great. The views are stunning from the balconies. The hotel is conveniently located to both the horse show and town - only 6 minutes from each place. I barely saw the staff because we had no issues. The ice machine works great. They serve a cute little continental breakfast Friday through Sunday, but otherwise, there is a college-dorm size refrigerator and a Keurig coffee machine in the room, so you can really make your own breakfast. We stayed there for 11 consecutive nights and it was great. It was so quiet, we slept like rocks every night. The walls are surprisingly sound-proof. It is one of the nicer places in Manchester from what I have heard. It doesn't have a fancy spa and health club or restaurant, but the fairly priced rooms reflect this. We will return for sure.

Room Tip: I don't recommend the lower level suites because you can hear people walking above you. The King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
We’re so pleased to hear that you’ve returned to stay with us at The Manchester View. We get many return guests who attend The Vermont Summer Festival Horse Show, and we truly appreciate it. Thank you for your accurate description of the amenities guests enjoy in our rooms – all rooms have a Keurig coffee maker and a refirgerator, as well as the wonderful peace and quiet. We hope you had time to soak up some sun by and in the pool. We thank you for making our “home” yours and look forward to seeing you again next summer, if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORNING, NY
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We add an extra day to the end of our vacation each year just to relax and spend "us" time at The Manchester View. After spending a fun week with family, my husband and I drive the extra miles off our designated route to enjoy the quiet and the magnificent views from the balcony of our luxurious room. Seating by the fireplace; a king-sized bed in a beautifully decorated room; a shower made for couples and a jacuzzi for two! Now that's the way to end a vacation! Thanks to the staff for a great restaurant recommendation and for accommodating a late check out! We'll be back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for returning to The Manchester View and for going out–of-the-way to do so! We’re delighted you enjoy our serene setting and gorgeous views. All rooms have balconies or patios from which to appreciate the scenery. Many have indulgent one or two-person spa tubs and in-season fireplaces like you enjoyed in your room. We look forward to your next visit and hope it’s soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We returned to Manchester VT after a nine year absence to visit the town where we once owned a home. We stayed at the Manchester View the night before we closed on our property in 1989.
Our kids and I all missed the place, so we returned for a "nostalgia weekend" and decided to stay at Manchester View again.
The staff was more than accommodating, we had three rooms booked right near each other, even though this was a last minute trip. Everyone was very friendly, informative and we felt comfortable back in the old surroundings very quickly.
After a beautiful day hanging out with the locals and swimming at the quarry, we went to dinner in town and just marveled at how much had stayed the same.
There are a wide range of beautifully decorated rooms, with standard rooms all the way to two room suites with jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. The view from some of the rooms cannot be compared.
We returned to CT with a sense of peace and calm after our weekend in VT. My kids are planning on returning next weekend for their anniversary!

Room Tip: Rooms on north side have stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Welcome back! It was a pleasure to see you again! So glad we were able to put your family in rooms that were close together. Although The View has 36 spacious rooms, the property is quaint, with nothing too far away, such as the pool, breakfast room and office.

By now your kids have returned to The View and we trust they had an equally special visit. Our best Happy Anniversary wishes to them! We hope to see you all again soon, well before nine more years passed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry,NH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed here one night while visiting Hildene. Great place. Wonderful grounds and views! Near to town restaurants and Hildene. Told people at front desk we were going to Hildene the next day and we were able to buy admission tickets right at the front desk for half price. Nice surprise. Rooms were perfect. We had a room with one double bed which was perfect for my husband and I. Rooms quaint and inviting. Nice shared deck looking out to mountains and extensive lawn area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words. We’re so glad you found us, too! Located on the corner of Route 7A & High Meadows Way on a lovely hill, with a mountain view, we’re quite near all the restaurants and attractions such as Hildene, Bromley, The Southern Vermont Arts Center and shopping, just to name a few.

We’re glad to hear our desk staff was able to surprise you with discounted tickets to Hildene; they always aim to please! And we’re delighted that you enjoyed your Queen Standard room (all rooms have Queen or King beds) and our relaxing view. Please join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manchester View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester View

Address: 77 High Meadow Way & VT-7A, P.O. Box 1268, Manchester, VT 05255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manchester View 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manchester View is a 3-Diamond AAA Vermont destination for both family vacations and romantic getaways. There are 36 rooms and suites set on 10 landscaped acres with 360-degree views of the Green Mtns. including 1 and 2 bedroom suites, fireplaces, 2 person spa tubs, all with individual decorated themes. Every room or suite has a balcony or deck to enjoy one of the best views in Southern Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Manchester View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester View Hotel Manchester
Hotel Manchester Center
Manchester Center View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.