We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stay here EVERY winter for 4 days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chalet Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Chalet Motel to your Saves list
The Chalet Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1875 Depot St., Manchester, VT 05255   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Manchester
Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“We stay here EVERY winter for 4 days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Its not new. Its not fancy, but its all you really need and the staff is great.
There is a Sauna and a Hot tub that you reserve your own private time and its the perfect way to end your ski day before heading to one of Manchester's restaurants (there is a huge selection)
You can get discounted tickets to Bromley (about 5 miles away) and Stratton and Okemo are both an easy drive, We will continue to stay at the Chalet as we don't like staying on the mountain (especially Stratton) and recommend it highly

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer section across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    10
    1
    5
See reviews for
16
11
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights while in town for a funeral. Definitely book a room in the annex. Rooms are much bigger there. Tried to get a microwave, but was told no. The rooms in the annex have a small kitchen area with a coffee pot and an refrigerator and a sink. Furniture is past its prime, but it functions fine. The couch could have used a good vacuuming. Otherwise the place was reasonably clean. Good quality pretty new towels. There are hairdryers in the annex, although it is not mentioned on their website. I had brought my own because I couldn't get a straight answer. Easy to get to from the highway and only a few minutes into town. Wi-fi is iffy--sometimes worked and sometimes didn't. I was in room 212.

Room Tip: Get a room in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We only stayed there for one night but really like it. Jack at reception was very friendly and helpful and we had some good talks. Thanks for that. The room was quite big, clean and had everything we needed. It is not the newest motel anymore but you have a pleasant sleep for a good price. The motel is a bit outside of Manchester but by car it is less than five minutes to all the outlet shops and restaurants. The motel doesn´t offer any breakfast but there a lot of cafes or restaurants in Manchester were you can have breakfast. Recommendation issued!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weare, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Chalet motel is a gem, I had called the beginning of the week as we had planned a motorcycle trip and wanted to stay in the area, forgetting it was a long weekend. The gentleman who answered the phone told me if I called back on Thursday he would see what he had, and would let us book for just the one night. Called back and was given a large room in the Annex. It's quiet and off the road, the place was spotless and had everything you need for a comfortable stay. The grounds are set up with chairs & BBQs you could use for a family get together. This is not a five star hotel, it's a little gem, run by nice people in a great area.

Room Tip: The Annex is a great area for families as there's room for the little ones to play and it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I'm writing this from my motel room on our last night here, already feeling sad that we're leaving! The room (#137) is HUGE! It overlooks an enormous yard area with an adorable wooden playground nestled in the middle. There are little (tasteful!) bbqs and wooden chaise lounge chairs with nice cushions and tables in the yard area. The location of the motel is perfect -- super close to the highway and a 1 minute ride into the center of Manchester...and yet, it feels like a secluded hideaway with a beautiful mountain backdrop. The owners welcome pets (with a very nominal charge). The room was spotless and the bed was the most comfortable bed I've slept in in a very long time. The shower was okay -- good for this area (but I'm really spoiled b/c we have the best shower ever at home). The owners seem super nice and incredibly accommodating. We will definitely book here again. We've been to about 6 different motels in the area and found this one to be the best value with the biggest, cleanest rooms (although we loved the Aerie Inn as well, which has since closed). Highly recommend The Chalet!

Room Tip: We were in the Annex section - which is across the street -- and would definitely book there again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

One night in a pricey town. Plenty of high-end restaurants and pricey places to stay.
Not the Chalet Motel. We were given a room in the annex (a set of rooms across the street
from the main part of the Motel. "Room" is inadequate. It was a suite. The price was
$79.20 for the 2. The bedroom had a window looking out onto a back lawn that had a
grill, presumably for the use of guests, although we did not have time.

When I arrived the owners were celebrating a birthday and promptly offered me a piece of
cake. Admittedly, our timing (after Labor Day, before Foliage season) meant that we would
get reduced rates in many places, but this value was unexpected. Nothing fancy here, but
on my Top Ten for best value. I booked with owners. They asked if wifi was needed. It
worked fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here in May with my elderly mother. Very large rooms, excellent cross ventilation, table, microwave, "kitchen" sink, OK bathroom. A refrigerator was supplied upon our request. Walls are a bit thin and had a problem with late night loud TV next door, but they turned it off upon first request. Price was right. Not fancy, but I would happily stay here again. Where is that elusive ice maker???

Room Tip: We were in the "annex." Don't know if that makes a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chalet Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet Motel

Address: 1875 Depot St., Manchester, VT 05255
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chalet Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Chalet Motel, where you will find affordable, friendly, family oriented lodging right in the heart of Vermont's beautiful Green Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Chalet Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chalet Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chalet Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.