We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice family motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stamford Motel

Save Saved
You added The Stamford Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Stamford Motel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6458 Main Street, Manchester, VT 05255   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Manchester
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Very nice family motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a very nice and affordable place. It has a back lawn area with chickens and vegetables that ends up in your dinner. The food is wonderful and fresh. Karen gave us great local tips and was very friendly and inviting. It felt like we are guests in someone’s home. We had the steak and hamburger plus the house salad and an omelet breakfast. Everything tasted and looked great so that we did not even look to have dinner outside. When the weather permits you can sit outside on their porch and enjoy the view. Traveling with 2 energetic girls (2 and 5) is not easy to say the least … every evening we wondered all around the place like it was ours, but it is really the owner’s home. In our view, this is an opportunity to get to know one of the locals.
One thing that bothered one of us is the mattress which is too soft for my back. We also wished we could have breakfast during the week as well. Before coming to this place we stayed in a more expensive hotel with more facilities, and a fancy restaurant. However, the Stamford motel gave us a feeling of home and we enjoyed it much more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. I hope that you stay safe in your country. Thanks, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    66
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
81
72
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland oh, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed there in July on the way to Maine and they were so helpful. We arrived way late and they made sure that we had access to our room. The place is so charming ,really nice retro feel.
the prices are reasonable and our room was lovely. it felt like home and I am looking forward to staying there again and exploring Vermont. The owners are very nice and work hard to maintain this place. cant wait to go back!! clean nice comfortable and reasonable!! What more could you ask for! only nice people allowed here!! Thanks Stamford!! I didnt get to try the restaurant but it looked very inviting...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
THANKS!!!! We are thrilled you enjoyed our place and we look forward to meeting you again. Thanks so much for taking the time to write the review. Thanks, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is my first trip to New England and Vermont. I usually stay at brand name chain hotels but i noticed that there are very few chain hotels in Vermont. B&B are more popular in this area.
Also the prices are skyrocket for B&B and motels. I am more familiar with west coast and it is unusual for me to pay so much for motels.

Anyways, we booked through their website and i requested room 10 with queen but i received an email saying that i got room 12 with queen bed. I thought it would be more or less same.
Our room was little small than the room 10 on website.

Karen was very welcoming on check in. Since it was our first trip so we were mostly clueless about area. She showed us lots of points of interest on maps. She recommended good places to eat. She spend good 15 mins explaining about area. It really helped us to navigate next morning.

As for the room, it was very nice and clean but bit dated. Bedding was high quality. we had Ralph Lauren comforter :) It was quite good for the price we paid. our room was missing iron/iron board and fridge (as mentioned on website).
I was taking a medicine at that time that need to be kept in fridge but i carry personal cooler so it did not bother me much. if you take some medicine like insulin then ask about fridge in advance. I am sure that they will make arrangement for it.

Landscape was good with lots of flowers and location is nice. Overall a nice experience

Room Tip: Room No 12 is bit small and it is upstairs. Prefer Downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
I do apologize for the confusion with your reservation and you are correct 12 is a bit smaller than 10. However the rates are the same for all the queen size rooms and rooms with two full size beds, rates vary between the king size rooms for good reason. However, we are thrilled that you had an ejoyable experience and we look forward to you guys returning - please just remind me of your stay and i will upgrade you free of charge if a room is available. Many thanks, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Conveniently located hotel in a beautiful environment. However its facilities are rather worn-out and its management showed a very bad service attitude. Definitely bad value hotel, would not recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
same man as August 22nd review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed 1 night at this convenient, but rather tired motel. Manchester is a great town, in a beautiful environment and great outlet shopping. At check out, we were requested to pay for breakfast, although we had booked including breakfast. This situation was poorly handled by the management, which left us feeling uncomfortable. Overall, a disappointing experience. There are plenty of places in Manchester, so next time we will definitively stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Sir you booked a room using booking.com for 2 people including breakfast - you requested a cot upon arrival (which you weren't charged for) - you showed up for breakfast and ordered off the regular menu instead of using the prepaid menu for 2 and you expected breakfast to be free for all five of you. We contacted booking.com and they told you that you needed to pay for the additional breakfast and you said you didn't want to. In your eyes the situation would have been handled perfectly if you hadn't been charged for the cot (which you weren't) and if everyone could have eaten breakfast all at the rate of $110. Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend with my son, daughter In law and 2 grandchildren...we were visiting my brother & sister in law who have lived in Vermont for 30 years. We loved our accommodations at the Stamford Motel....the beds were so comfortable....rooms clean and the convenience of having a restaurant on the premises was great....we had breakfast at Nipper's Café the first morning of our stay....food was delicious and service was great. Prices for the rooms and in the restaurant were very reasonable.... We definitely want to go back sometime in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review we look forward to seeing you again. We aim to offer nice, neat rooms at an affordable price - glad it worked out. Thanks, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicoutimi, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed there on our way to Mount Equinox and did not expect too much because of the low price. We were pleasantly surprised! The room was clean and was cozy. The bed was firm and comfy, the air conditioning worked perfectly.The only thing I would suggest is to get rid of the carpet. Then it would be perfect. The staff was very pleasant to deal with. A few little details to take care of and they could charge twice as much. We would go there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks for the review and thanks for the thought on the carpet. It is actually only a few years old but I will say that you are right and that is a project for this spring. Thanks, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Stamford Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel

Address: 6458 Main Street, Manchester, VT 05255
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#4 Business Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run business for more than 50 years the Stamford Motel is conveniently located to Manchester Center, VT we are just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 9 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 7am - 11am and dinner from 5pm - 9pm. Specializing in a variety of different steaks and sauces at unbelievable prices. Seafood, salads, appetizers and lighter fare are available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Stamford Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stamford Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.