We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An affordable, family owned, gem in Manchester...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stamford Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Stamford Motel to your Saves list
The Stamford Motel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6458 Main Street, Manchester, VT 05255   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Manchester
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“An affordable, family owned, gem in Manchester...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just returned home from a 4 day ski trip up to Stratton, Mount Snow & Bromely. Based on previous tripadvisor reviews, and the motel's website, my boyfriend & I decided to try staying at the Stamford Motel for our trip. We selected Room #10, a Queen Room and found the Stamford to be exactly what we were looking for. The room was affordable, clean, quaint, warm, cozy & the bed was very comfy. It was the perfect place to call home after a long day of being out on the mountain. The owners of the Stamford were very welcoming and provided us with great tips on the local ski mountains. We had breakfast at the onsite restaurant -"Nipper's" - one morning and it was also great. I would highly recommend the Stamford Motel to anyone looking for an affordable place to stay in the Manchester area. The Motel is close to 4 great Mountains (Stratton, Bromley, Magic & Snow) & its just minutes away from great dining & shopping in Manchester. I cannot wait to return to the Stamford for my next Ski trip and plan on taking advantage of one of their great Ski & Stay package deals. (details are on their website).

Room Tip: Room #10 Queen Room was great, its an end unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
These reviews mean the most when it comes from a well established contributor. Wow!!! thanks for the awesome review and staying with us. We are so happy that we lived up to your expectations. Looking forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    75
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
85
100
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I was visiting the Manchester area to spend the holidays with family. Many members of my family stayed at the Stamford as well. Our first night, the heat in the room was not working well and the staff quickly moved us to another room. We ate dinner one night at Nippers and enjoyed ourselves. We definitely got a sense that this was a great family business which is the type we aim to support when traveling. If you are in the area, I recommend this motel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Yes things will go wrong, but we will correct them as quickly as possible in order to make sure you have a great stay while you are with us. Thanks so much for dining with us - we are happhy that you had a good meal. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and being completely honest about your stay. Thanks and we look forward to a return trip next year for the family reunion. Thanks!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our family loves this little place -- simple setting, great breakfast and dinner at the cafe, and so easy to get to ski mountain and town. If you plan on spending all day in your room, then go to one of the luxury resorts. But if you want a comfortable spot to kick off your VT adventure, then this is excellent. We are headed back this ski season!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Yes we are not a four or five star resort, but we certainly don't try to be. We offer nice, neat, clean rooms at an affordable price for Manchester, VT. If that is what you are looking for we are happy to help. Thanks so much for returning - we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Many thanks, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I booked this hotel for my parents last summer and for my brother this past month. They all said the hotel was extremely comfortable, quiet, clean and friendly. In addition, the restaurant serves fabulous food and the staff are genuinely nice people. Kids had fun in the pool during the summer too. This is now our go-to property in Manchester!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Your family is awesome. Thanks so much for booking all of them with us - since Manchester does offer some really nice places and plenty of spots; we look forward to your parents returning this summer. Thanks for finding a time to write the review - I know being a doctor it can be tough:) to find extra time to help someone out. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My family and I enjoy skiing in Vermont. We needed a quick place to stay that was easy access to Bromley. The Stamford Motel was clean, comfortable and affordable. Close to shopping and mountains. Having the restaurant Nipper's right there was a bonus.

Room Tip: If you have a larger group of friends or family there's an upstairs that would accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for the stellar reviews - it is always a pleasure to serve you and your family. Enjoyed New Year's and we are looking forward to doing it again next year. Thanks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a one star hotel / motel. I selected it based on the fact that it was the #2 ranked establishment in Manchester - this is a gross error, there are much nicer places to stay in the area. I may be spoiled but this is the worst motel I have ever stayed at next to a straight-up truckers motel that I stayed at during a blizzard. I have stayed at many motels during various road-trip vacations in the Northeast, Southwest and Southeast .
Management made a mistake and was not helpful nor apologetic about it. We were promised a king, they gave us a full. There were two house flies in the room. Bathroom door doesn't close - it appears they recently painted it and either the paint affected the door or maybe they removed the door and it sits differently now that it is re-installed. Hallway has several broken / missing mirrors and exposed sheetrock. Deadbolt didn't work with the key. Our friends stayed at this motel as well, their room was nicer.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the first floor facing the road are nicer than the rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We are not the second best motel in Manchester - that is a gross error on your part. Many people have our motel to be nice, neat, clean and affordable. Sorry we didn't live up to your expecations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Pros:
Mostly clean rooms (lots of dust/crumbs on night table) otherwise good (clean linens!)
Loved hair dryer and fridge in room (no more putting our coolers outside to stay cool!)
Easy drive to Manchester Center
Great restaurant on site
Loved walking into warm and toasty room after long day on the slopes - no waiting for the room to heat up

Cons:
No clear Internet instructions in room
No conditioner in bathroom (just combo shampoo/conditioner which never works like it should)
Need better snow/ice removal on the stairs

I would recommend and will def. return in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ground floor for easy access to car but with no room above as can hear people w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
I do apologize for the dust left on the dresser. Once in a while things do get over looked but I apologize for that. All and all we are happy that you had an enjoyable experience and we hopefully will cross paths again. Many thanks for staying with us and taking the time to write the reviews. Happy New Year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stamford Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel

Address: 6458 Main Street, Manchester, VT 05255
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#3 Green Hotel in Manchester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run business for more than 50 years the Stamford Motel is conveniently located to Manchester Center, VT we are just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 9 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 7am - 11am and dinner from 5pm - 9pm. Specializing in a variety of different steaks and sauces at unbelievable prices. Seafood, salads, appetizers and lighter fare are available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Stamford Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stamford Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.