We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect motel, reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stamford Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Stamford Motel to your Saves list
The Stamford Motel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6458 Main Street, Manchester, VT 05255   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbia, MO
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perfect motel, reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

If you're not looking for a colonial New England inn, but an uncomplicated motel, Stamford fits the bill. It's back from the highway and surprisingly quiet. The bed was excellent, the room large and spotless, and the wifi fast. The proprietors had good suggestions for what to do in Manchester, the center of which is just a couple minutes away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Thanks the rates are priced right for most - as long as you are not looking for a four star hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    77
    14
    10
    5
See reviews for
94
103
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Our son decided at the last minute to attend the Bennington Cycling Stage Race. Karen and Adam were so accommodating and helpful to two - 18 yr old young men. Because I was out of town and a thousand miles away, Karen worked with me to reserve a room without the boys having a credit card during their stay. They found my son’s wheel in the parking lot, kept it in safe keeping…AND they provided late check out without ANY advance notice. Thank you for all of your help….it is greatly appreciated.

Stayed May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. We were glad to see that your son has a good sense of humour when my husband decided to play a little trick on him in regards to his lost bicycle tire. Glad the boys did so well in the race. Hoping they return next year. Both were very nice young men.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

The Stamford Motel was an unexpected pleasant surprise for both my wife and myself. We didn’t expect to much as it was far less costly then the five star hotel we had stayed in the two nights prior. We found the Stamford a neat, clean, very reasonable cost motel with a great view of the mountains from our room. In addition we received friendly service and a great night sleep on a mattress on par with the previously mentioned five star hotel. Something I deeply appreciated with a bad back. In all a great value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
It was nice getting to know you over the week. I'm sure you would have helped with the gardens if you hadn't been putting together a wedding for your daughter. Thanks so much for the beer - the labels are awesome and the beer is delicious. Thanks for taking the time to write this review it means a ton to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

The king-size bed was extremely comfortable and bedding was very clean. Quiet room adjoined kids' room and we both had our own bathrooms. Comfortable climate controlled room with satellite tv. Would like to return again in summer for some outdoor activities with the kids. Thanks Karen and Adam for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
You have great kids! It was a pleasure to have your family stay with us. We hope to see you again this summer hopefully the restaurant will be open. The matress in room 1 is very comfortable. I believe room 1 and room 2 work great when you are traveling with the kids and you have the hallway attaching both rooms. Thanks so much for taking the time to write the review. Look forward to seeing you this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Greatful we found this motel. Clean, quiet and spacious room. Will go back again. Owners were very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
We are so happy that you felt that you found a great place nestled in these beautiful mountains at a reasonable price. Hope you visit us again real soon and thanks so much for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Connecticut
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed in Rm 14. The two queen beds offerred plenty of room for my wife and two children. The room was clean and offerred plenty of natural light providing a warm morning feel from the warm sun. The windows overlooked the mountain ranges near by. Our hosts, Karen and Adam were informative of local items to do and explore. Manchester Center is filled with shops and eateries along the way. A must stop is to the local bookstore. Filled with thousands of books, toys and games. There is a cafe right inside to unwind from a busy day. We are planning a return trip this summer to hit the local ski resorts as they turn over to theme parks with slides and other activites. My kids also want to go back for skiing as well so we will be frequenting the Stamford Motel often. Great value for putting smiles on the kid's faces.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
It was so great that you guys found us. We had an awesome time getting to know you. Hope that you travel up here with the family again this summer so you can hit Bromley mountain. My Hannah had the time of her life and keeps talking about that night. Room 14 is by far my favorite room - newly remodeled and tons and tons of room. Thanks for taking the time to write the review and once again we can't wait to see you guys again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Karen and Adam are wonderful hosts. The rooms are comfortable and the views beautiful, Can't wait for the new restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VermontClouds, Owner at The Stamford Motel, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
It was so great to see you again we hope that you continue to return. We are looking forward to the restaurant opening July 1, 2011 keep your fingers crossed for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stamford Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel

Address: 6458 Main Street, Manchester, VT 05255
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Manchester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run business for more than 50 years the Stamford Motel is conveniently located in Manchester Center, VT we are just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 9 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. Specializing in a variety of different steaks and sauces at unbelievable prices. Seafood, salads, appetizers and lighter fare are available as well. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. We have chickens and are able to offer a few people fresh eggs in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Stamford Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stamford Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.