We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First timers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse

Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse
6458 Main Street, at the Stamford Motel, Manchester, VT 05255
+1 802-362-2342
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 62 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: North Road
Description: Welcome to Nipper's Cafe and Steakhouse. Offering the best outdoor dining in Southern VT. We offer magnificient views of Mount Equinox. Winter hours 2014 until March. Monday, Thursday & Friday 11:30am-2pm & 5pm-8:45pm, Saturday 8am-10am and 5pm-8:45pm and Sunday 8am-12pm & 5pm-8pm. We strive to make every meal you dine with us a memorable experience. Nipper's has become popular amongst the locals and tourist for serving up outstanding fresh food at reasonable prices. Please note we consider ourselves to be a two star restaurant. We are not a four star dining experience. We serve only Certified Angus Beef (CAB) steaks and fresh seafood. Whenever possible we use all local produce or preferably the vegetables come from our own gardens and all of our sauces are handcrafted on the property. We invite you to join us for a delicious home-cooked meal either in the afternoon or evening hours. Nipper's is the perfect setting for any size gathering and we want to make sure that your dining experience is enjoyable so you will return. Catering, private parties and to go orders are available. We offfer a casual dining experience at a reasonable price. We look forward to serving you in the future.
North Bennington, Vermont
1 review
“First timers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

As a first timer to your restaurant I must say that I was very impressed . The food was very good and the service was great . We had a family gathering of around 12 -14 people which was handled at very professional level . Would I go back ? You can count on it ...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
It was a pleasure to have your family dine with us and we are so very happy everything worked out so well for breakfast. I know much thought went into deciding where to dine due to the fact that everyone was traveling. We were happy that you choose us and ecstatic that we lived up to your expectations. We look forward to you dining with us again in the near future - hopefully another family event. Thanks for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    45
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Red Hook, New York
2 reviews
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

food was delicious and the prices were very reasonable. atmosphere was great. staff and owners were very friendly and on thier toes whenever we needed anything. we stayed in thier hotel too. (the stamford hotel) a great romantic trip all around

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you guys stay with us and dine with us. We are so happy that we lived up to your expectations and had an enjoyable dinner. Hopefully you will join us again in the not so distant future. Once again many thanks for finding the time to write both reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“ok well maybe we were misinformed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were told this was the number one restaurant in Manchester Vermont so we made a point to try it out. We called ahead to be sure there was avaialble seating and was told that we needed to make a reservation, so we did only to find the restaurant empty we when we arrived, only two other guests arrived while we dined. The meal was average, frozen and unremarkable. the server was nice but overly chatty, ok thats fine , and we left feeling a little bit confused. How does a restaurant in a Motel lobby with portion controlled, average frozen vegtable meals earn a FIRST in class rating, come on.
maybe it was an off night, well we won't be dining there again

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
I certainly won’t wait two days to respond to this – horrified. You were totally misinformed and didn't know where you were going.

First off we are perhaps a two star restaurant offering delicious fresh homecooked food at affordable prices. The most expensive item on our menu is a $24 filet – doesn’t that tell you something we can’t compete nor do we try to compete with Mistral’s, Chantecleer or the Silverfork – we are not offering that type of food or that ambiance. We also enjoy those restaurants for a nice and expensive meal out. Did you not think to look at our menu - if you had you could have recognized the fact that we certainly aren't the four or five star dining experience.

If you called to inquire about making a reservation of course you would be advised to make a reservation because we have had evenings where the place has filled up – we only have ten tables. We certainly weren’t forcing you to make a reservation and upon walking in you could have left. We are very small and we do not keep extra hands in the kitchen if we don't need to. So we will advise so we can get a rough idea of how many people may or may not be dining with us we can have the kitchen run smoothly and your food can come out in a timely fashion.

We take great insult to your comment about frozen vegetables – in the summer we try to grow all of our vegetable and in the winter all of our vegetables come from our purveyors – they aren’t frozen nor are they close to being frozen. As you saw the restaurant is very very small – how big do you think the kitchen is – even smaller. We don’t have a walk-in freezer – we have two small fridges and everything is fresh. We have limited storage and buy everything in small amounts – one so we don’t waste and two so we can provide our consumers with the best product we can offer. You really shouldn’t make slanderous comments when you are so misinformed. So before you lie perhaps you should know what kind of food you are eating.

We were rated the number 1 restaurant not because it was the best meal in town and we are quite capable of stating that we don’t nor do we try to offer a $40+ to die for meal. What put us in that #1 spot is just a numbers game – we had a bunch of people who enjoyed a good home-cooked meal at an affordable price – so they rated us high. It’s all a numbers game and we had more reviews and the ratings were high because people understood who they were comparing us to – unlike yourself who is comparing us to a Mistral’s etc... since it is quite evident that you were looking to dine that evening at a four or five star establishment and not our little two star restaurant with a casual ambiance.

We are the first to admit that the ambiance may or may not be ideal but once again our price point warrants the experience and the food we are serving. We certainly don’t try to stick it to the tourist like many places do. So perhaps you should understand where you are going and really do your homework before you make a reservation.

Once again people like you shouldn’t be allowed to write reviews because 1. You don’t understand how tripadvisor works 2. You aren’t comparing us to our competition so we aren’t fairly judged 3. You may have been hired by the competition to bring down are score.

I do apologize it seems as though I or another server spoke to much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killington, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nippers café is a breath of fresh air when looking for reasonable prices and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Pleasantry

My grandmother once told us that "it's the simple things in life that make us happy"

Nippers café is a breath of fresh air when looking for reasonable prices and great food.
In a world of hotels and motels nippers café stands alone for its simplicity and great food!

Upon entering the doors to the café you are pleasantly surprised with the quaint setting and warm hospitality.

I had the pecan / horseradish crusted salmon with mashed red potatoes. I travel quite a bit, more than most and this is without a doubt the best tasting salmon I've had the pleasure of eating. My wife had a similar experience with her lamb both of these dishes were well proportioned and would have made the chopped judges smile!

Bottom line..... looking for a great place to eat in a great atmosphere where the prices are as friendly as the smiles.... make the trip to nippers café !!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
So happy that the two of you were able to join us. Glad that we were able to live up to your expectations we look forward to serving you again in the not so distant future. Thanks for the great review and happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Georgia, Vermont, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I had an awesome dinner out at Nipper's the Friday following Thanksgiving. The atmosphere was very comfortable, the service was excellent, prices were reasonable and the food was delicious! I had a wonderful meal; salmon with horseradish sauce and the house salad dressing was very tastey. Unfortunately we did not have enough room for dessert! I am looking forward to trying their breakfast menu some day. Thanks for the great night out!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
You are very very welcome for an awesome night out. So glad you guys were able to join us and leave the kids at home:) We look forward to having you join us again. Many thanks for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.