We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must to Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Fork

Silver Fork
4201 Main St., Route 7A, Manchester, VT 05255
(802) 768-8444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 62 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bonita Springs, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Must to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Six of us went to this marvelous little restaurant. We were greeted like family. Our server Jerry was fabulous, answering all of our questions with knowledge and ease. We all had such a difficult time choosing our appetizers and entrees - they all sounded fabulous. We chose caprese salads, scallops and sauteed shitaake mushrooms for our appetizers. All delicious and rave worthy. For our entrees we chose crab cakes, wiener schnitzel, salmon strudel, and two of us were going to share the crab cakes and lamb chops. Our food was plated beautifully - none of this cutting and sharing on a extra plate. Both served together. For dessert we had blueberry cobblers and bread puddings. Oh my heaven. Drinks were a tasting of 3 sauvignon blancs, and red wine sangrias. Very generous portions. We all said we MUST return to sample the other appetizers and entrees. Make your reservation now! Very small - only 6 tables, and there is a small bar seating, which also needs reservations. You won't be disappointed. One of the best meals we have every enjoyed.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    19
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Tops in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Definitely the best restaurant in Manchester. Food and service are A+. I'd take the drive, just to eat there. Make a reservation days in advance so as not to be disappointed.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in a small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

It is really hard to believe that a restaurant the quality of Silver Fork can be found in rural Vermont. The amazingly diverse menu literally has something for everyone. There are a dozen different appetizers and a dozen different main courses from which to select. Likewise, there is a good selection of wines, both read and white, all of which are available either by the glass or bottle. There is also an array of cocktails available if you're not in the mood for wine. I found the food quality, taste and presentation to be absolutely first class. The staff is super friendly and knowledgeable.

This is a tiny restaurant and it books up. Call and book a table as soon as you have an inkling that you would like to dine at the Silver Fork. If you are in this part of the country, it is well worth a special trip.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“NOW......this IS special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The Silver Fork has to be the number 1 restaurant in Manchester VT, an absolute MUST if you enjoy beautifully prepared and presented food through the whole menu, but you will have to book early. With just 6 individual dining tables and 6 seated at the bar, the restaurant is small. We managed to book two seats at the bar, nice to chat with bar tenders through the evening and with our fellow diners sat on either side of us swapping stories of the day's events. A lovely atmosphere, reasonably informal dress code in a restaurant that might suggest something more formal. If only it were closer to home!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Absolutely a must if visiting the Manchester area. We sat at the bar and enjoyed fabulous wines, appetizers and excellent entrees. The atmosphere is down to earth yet upscale at the same time which adds to the overall ambiance. The restaurant is chef owned and the food is really superb.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Fork also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Silver Fork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Fork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.