We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this diner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bob's Diner

Bob's Diner
2279 Depot St, Manchester, VT 05255
802-362-4681
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 63 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Albany NY
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Love this diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I generally refuse to eat in diners. Bob's is the exception. We like the fresh quality of the food; while you can certainly get your burgers and eggs you can also get butternut bisque soup and avacado club type sandwiches. Staff is friendly, prices reasonable.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    28
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

It was a rainy fall day in October that called out for Chili. On the way back to our house up the road, we stopped to ask if they offered chili. Diners are known for their diverse and affordable offerings and we've had been to Bob's a number of times for breakfast which never disappoints Since I ordered the chili as take-out, I had no idea what was inside the cups before I had paid $10 and arrived home. Imagine my surprise when I discovered two coffee-cup size containers of watery soup containing a couple of pieces of ground meat. It wasn't worth a trip back in the rain; but, I truly felt that Bob's took advantage of the what he thought to be people just passing through whom he would never see again. You are correct! You will never see me again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Diner delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

There's nothing like like eating at a diner to find down home cooking. We stayed in Manchester for 24 hours and ate at Bob's Diner three times it was so delicious. There were plenty of menu choices, the portions were good, and the prices were great! The staff was very welcoming and attentive. I'm sure we'll stop again the next time we visit. It's a great place to feed a family at reasonable rates.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Who doesn't love a diner? And this diner serves great food. I will go out of my way to dine here again. The service is okay, but the cooks, more than, make up for it! I had the Mr. Green Jeans Skillet and it was deeeeeeelicious! My husband had an omelet & potatoes and enjoyed it, as well. Really glad we stopped here, instead of downtown Manchester.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really good diner food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We really liked our lunch at Bob's Diner. The onion soup was the best we had ever tasted and my husband's Monte Cristo was excellent. Service was prompt and friendly and the prices fair. Can't be beat!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob's Diner also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Bob's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.