We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas season lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marsh Tavern

Marsh Tavern
Equinox House, Manchester, VT
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 62 restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Marsh Tavern is a restaurant at the Equinox House located downstairs in the main hotel. Others have reviewed it so I don't understand why I couldn't find it. I didn't give the hotel a good review but we loved Marsh Tavern and I would like to publish it.
Saratoga Springs NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Christmas season lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Had lunch here over Christmas holidays (live within 20 miles). Always a delight, especially around Christmas. Our lunch was very enjoyable and reasonable($). The tavern setting is great for lunch or dinner. Afterwords we walked around the hotel and enjoyed the beautiful Christmas tree, decorations, and the sitting rooms around the fireplaces.
(The Marsh Tavern is in the Equinox Hotel)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    25
    35
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“We waited but they recovered....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We went there on sunday evening when most of the town's restaurants are closed...
Very busy. We have a réservation and acces to our table quickly. Very long wait for the main courses (35 minutes).
But fishes fresh, perfectly prepared, hot and well seasoned.
The server proposed desserts and a liqueur on the house.
Overall a very good experience on an evening where choices are limited.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious, Cozy Christmas!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Nestled in the Green Mountains of Vermont, the Equinox Hotel's Marsh Tavern has a cozy and inviting atmosphere. On the wall next to our table was a copy of the dinner menu from August 27, 1879!!! This place is rich in history and very proud of it, and even though the menu has changed since then, the pride in their restaurant has not. As a result, the food is outstanding. We recommend the Coq au Vin and the Lamb Shank. Both were delectable. My girlfriend's quote about the lamb was "melt in your mouth delicious". This is a truly great restaurant that caters to all dietary needs. We highly recommend and give two thumbs up!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Prairie, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food and great people !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The food and the service was excellent. Try the shepards pie, 3 people in our party had it and they raved about it. I had the steak one night and it was very good even though there was a lot of it. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredible food, service, and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

All of the food at the Marsh Tavern is prepared with so much thought and attention, it is hard to go wrong in picking anything on the menu. I went with a large group with a lot of different tastes, and everyone loved their food. Even the breads and butters brought to the table prior to eating were delicious. Plenty of vegetarian options and a kids menu to boot. Best food that I have eaten in Manchester, VT.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marsh Tavern also viewed

 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Marsh Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marsh Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.