We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Inns at Equinox

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Inns at Equinox to your Saves list
The Inns at Equinox
3567 Main Street Route 7A, Manchester, VT 05254   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Manchester B&B and Inns
Boxford, Massachusetts
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Inns at the Equinox Hotel for our Anniversary. We purchased a Groupon. Our room was in the Townhouse. The website boasted about multi-million dollar revitalization, not in the Townhouses. The room was small and the bathroom featured outdated tiles and cabinets. There was no WiFi or coffee in the room. When we told the staff at the front desk about our disappointment in the room they said the Hotel was completely booked, but I checked my ipad and they were not completely booked. He told us the Inns at the Equinox is a completely separate hotel. I found out after trying to contact the parent company, that they are a separate hotel. This is NOT communicated clearly and I feel like I was deceived. I would never stay at this Hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    41
    29
    22
    12
See reviews for
38
89
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Very nice property full of extremely nice professionals! Incredible rooms, great restaurant/bar, fantastic grounds! They have an outdoor firepit that truly must have a gravitational pull! Was here for work and plan to visit again with my wife and kids. Try to get one of the corner rooms - views are spectacular. Free shuttle van to drive & pick up from local restaurants. Fly fishing pond, golf course, falconry.....nothing not to LOVE!!!

Room Tip: Any of the corner rooms are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We've stayed in the main building ( for a lot more$$).. Several times.But you get what you pay for!
Townhouses were a groupon and if we hadn't been upgraded to a queen suite: we might have left! The rooms were so tiny,you could only fit around the bed to get into it! And it looked on the parking lot at wheel level! Our accidental Upgrade was worth the discount price and it was fine. But although it's described as renovated: it's really a new paint job and not much more. A little grimy, not pristine. Sheets had patches sewn on them and covers had permanent stains. The toilet had disgusting stains that looked like no one ever dumped bleach into the bowl. No vents in the bathroom. Faucets were grimy underneath the heads. No one us chrcking on the cleanliness! And although there was a heat lamp. We couldn't find the switch for it.
BUT! The property and facilities are great ( the pool was closed for part of the stay by the health department bc some kid had a. Accident! If you know what I mean!! And no one even offered to buy drinks fir the inconvenience of not being able to use it! BUT!I'd return but to different accommodations. And ask for some kind of comp bc of the pool incident!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I feel the need to add to all these reviews to say my husband and I had a wonderful stay at the equinox. A groupon and gift card was purchased for us as a group gift from our family and friends to give us our first weekend away as a married couple.

I can't speak to the value of the resort itself because I honestly don't know how much it costs per night, but my husband and I have never been so well taken care of at a hotel. Granted, we are not the type of people who are used to valet parking or breakfast where the orange juice comes out in a carafe.

We checked in on Saturday afternoon, and did no leave until Sunday morning. We each went down to the spa for a Swedish massage and absolutely loved it. My husband had never gotten a massage before and after this visit to the spa he can't stop talking about wanting to do it again.

There are a lot of complaints here that the room was small, and I guess it was, but we were looking for some quiet romantic time and for us it was perfect. Our room was on the first floor and was not far at all from the front desk. There was a chair and small table. We were able to chill some champagne we brought and toast our first weekend away together. We thought all of the furnishings were very nice and loved the leaf theme.

We went to dinner at the marsh tavern and loved it. We each got drinks, appetizers, and entrees and it came to about $150 with a generous tip. The food and service there was amazing.

We did stop by the falcon bar which had a really neat feel to it. The drinks were very expensive BUT very strong. My drink was so strong I wasn't really able to drink it, but I'm also kind of weak when it comes to how strong I like my drinks.

For dessert, we decided to get room service. We wanted ice cream, and the only place we could see it on the menus was the kids section. We called and asked if we could have adult portions, and someone was at our door in no joke five minutes.

In the morning we had a lovely breakfast on site. My husband says that the pancakes at the buffet were literally the best he's ever had.

From beginning to end the staff was amazing. When we filled out the survey, I even got a personal follow up from the person who checked us in. During the phone call He mentioned tripadvisor and filling out a review, so considering we had an amazing romantic weekend together, it's the least I could do.

Again, we aren't the type of people who stay at a place like the equinox all the time, but after this experience I understand why people pay big bucks for places like this.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkONeillGM, General Manager at The Inns at Equinox, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Good evening and thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post your review! The Inns offer complete access to the amenities of the Equinox Resort at a very smart price; however it is our amazing ambassadors and personalized service that sets us apart. Thank you again, and I look forward to your next visit to Manchester Village! -Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towanda, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We recently stayed at the Townhouses at The Equinox. I have to admit, I was skeptical about staying here due to the poor reviews the resorts annex building has received. Honestly, I was pleasantly surprised with the comfort, cleanliness, and amenities of the room. We stayed in a king room with a great view of the mountains. It was convenient to everything the resort offered and the bed was heavenly. We enjoyed every minute of our visit from each onsite restaurant to the spa. Our only complaint was the rain that spoiled some of our outdoor activities. We expect to return in the summer months when we can enjoy the patios off the rooms in the townhouses and of course, more outdoor activites in the sunshine! Thanks to ALL the staff at the Equinox....we truly did have a WONDERFUL stay!

Room Tip: If you are on a budget and would like to experience a grand resort, the townhouses are perfect. I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Since we were using a Groupon I was not under any illusions that we would be in the Presidential Suite, but I was certainly not prepared for for the downright shabbiness of the accommodation. We are not talking "shabby chic" here either. In fact the entire annex where we were housed was very reminiscent of those tired motels that used to line I95 between North Carolina and Florida. Since I very much doubt that the annex was built exclusively for Groupon users I would seriously advise checking on the location and furnishings when booking. The only redeeming feature was the pool/gym/spa complex. All in all, considering the many fine options in the area I'd definitely give The Equinox a pass.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Maybe I shouldn't place a review because I didn't actually stay here, but I did want to place a comment that my decision not to stay was based on the Inns' customer service. After purchasing a LivingSocial coupon for the Inns, I tried on multiple occassions to call and make a reservation for a pet-friendly room. The phone rang, and rang, and rang on at least two occassions. On the third try, when I did get someone on the line, they were rude. It seemed like we were having phone problems, and eventually this person hung up on me. When I called back, this person said, "is this a wrong number? this is the third time you've called." This time, I hung up on him. I'd had enough. I claimed LivingSocial's 30-day refund on travel deals and got my money back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inns at Equinox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inns at Equinox

Address: 3567 Main Street Route 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inns at Equinox offer a traditional way to experience the charm of southern Vermont with access to all of the amenities of the Equinox Resort. The 1811 House, which is the former home of Abraham Lincoln's granddaughter, is an excellently maintained romantic country inn offering soaring mountain views and a glimpse into history. Retreat to one of 13 unique guestrooms, which delight guests with graceful details, such as canopied beds, private porches, authentic antiques, and prized artwork. The 1811 House is open seasonally, Memorial Day weekend through the end of October. The Inns thirty newly renovated townhouses have a fresh new look. Designed by sought-after interior designer Mitchell Gold for the Bob Williams Collection, this new decor includes new sofas, furnishings, light fixtures, reclaimed floor wood for side tables and area photos from local photographers. A 75-yard stroll from the resort brings you to The Dormy House, situated just off of the first tee box of our golf course. Two distinct suites offer comfortable sleeping and dining quarters with the feel of an upscale Vermont country home. A private patio is equipped with outdoor furniture for an impromptu barbecue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Inns at Equinox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inns at Equinox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.