We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty hotel but not worth the price or hassle” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Inns at Equinox

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Inns at Equinox to your Saves list
The Inns at Equinox
3567 Main Street Route 7A, Manchester, VT 05254   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Manchester B&B and Inns
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pretty hotel but not worth the price or hassle”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

good food and service in Marsh Tavern. Room we got was in god's country out back near mountain, 10 minute walk to main Inn. Reservations never mentioned we wouldn't be in main Inn with our Groupon voucher and we felt disconnected from property. Valet parking and pool a plus but pool is in separate building which almost prohibits swimming in winter. We were disappointed that gift shoppe was closed for the two days we were there with no plans to reopen. Staff seems disconnected and vague about referrals and Vermont County Store in Manchester that we were told to look for was a warehouse. So we probably won't be going back anytime soon and we felt our money was wasted, but it was a lovely property and probably good for some but not us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    41
    29
    22
    12
See reviews for
38
89
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were shocked by the small size and lack of amenities in our "superior queen townhouse"
The meanest motel 6 has a microwave, adequate dresser, desk, closet, chair.. Our room was too tiny and baerebones for any of these, not to mention very noisy. Overpriced?, you bet, even at the discount
rate.
The inadequacy of the room was tempered somewhat by the friendliness of the staff and the magnificence of the Olympic pool, stem room, spa. Food and libations, very pricy.
Luxury accommodations?? Not so much.

Room Tip: Premium rooms at a premium price are probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

DATES OF STAY 01/12 @ 01/13/14

We stayed at the Equinox Resort for a ski trip to Stratton. The resort has the main building and the townhouses. It has a great Olympic size swimming pool and workout area and spa. We stayed in the townhouses and had a room with a king size bed, the room was a good size, clean and comfortable. The resort is in a great location in the historic area of Manchester Vermont. There is a lot of shopping and restaurants close to the resort. I had a groupon and stayed midweek so the room rate was more affordable for us. The hotel staff is very accommodating and there is a restaurant onsite. I would recommend a stay at this hotel. For skiers Stratton and Bromley ski areas are about 20 to 25 minutes away.

Room Tip: If staying in town homes get a room in the back away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The service at this hotel is excellent-very courteous and friendly. The hotel is in a beautiful setting; picture-perfect Vermont. The problem is that the infrastructure of the hotel cannot handle the cold.

It was bitterly cold out when we were there (-15 degrees F or colder). We were given a room on the first floor. The wind essentially blew through the walls and windows, right into the room, overpowering what passed for a heating system. The floor was so cold that we had to wear boots in the room. At night, any body parts that weren't covered by several blankets froze. We asked for the heating to be addressed after the first night, and they tried one remedy to reduce the draft. It helped a bit, but not enough. After a second freezing night, we were finally moved to a much warmer room on an upper floor.

The problem wasn't just in our room-as the hallways on the first floor were all freezing.

Cold weather in Vermont in the winter is not a surprise. The hotel has had many, many years to figure out that the first floor rooms are punishingly cold during very cold weather. They should either solve the problem, or they shouldn't rent out those rooms. (I can think of many solutions, and I don't even work there.)

Another annoyance was the complete lack of warm water in the showers at the spa. A cold shower after a storm during a blizzard, in a hotel where you have to walk outside to get to and from the spa, pool and well-appointed fitness centre, is an unwelcome shock to the system.

There was also a persistently bad odour in many areas of the first floor-most likely the result of a frozen waste pipe. We raised the issue with management, and were given a nonsense explanation.

To give my complaint some context-I grew up with even colder winters. Staying at The Equinox was like visiting an unwinterized cottage in a blizzard, and paying a lot to do it.

I would have liked to have given this hotel a good rating, as the setting and service are worth recommending. However, the most fundamental thing that a hotel is supposed to provide (more important than a posh setting and a valet) is warm shelter. They failed.

Room Tip: If it's cold, do not accept a room on the first floor. Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Girt, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

don't know what happened to my review . Certainly would like Mark o Neil to respond . Stayed 12/30 to 01/114 . { snow predictions ] Room was terrible [523] . I shouldn't have to go out in the cold to ask for a lamp to go with the 60 watt bulb . How come no chair or table ? How come no glasses . Thanks for the water , but didn't help to take my pills . Shower filled up so I was more than ankle deep . Spotty internet service . How could you even present this room ? Iam a Starwood member , but that didn't count in this room . What a waste . Thank heaven for the Falcon Bar . Why would anyone want to go to this room ? Must say the front desk was fine . And though it's dog friendly I should have been advised of this . Too, too many . Are they all service dogs ? While i would never say never I certainly would advise stay at the Reluctant Panther & walk . As a side note what happenned to 1811 House ? stayed there nmany times before you took over . Please tell me it is not a bad as some reviews Oh & why didn't the waste baskets get emptied

Room Tip: Don't even think about staying in the townhouses unless you like dorm rooms that are way below m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

we stayed at the Equinox from Jan 1 -3,2014

If the Equinox Hotel offered Groupon deals to make a few extra bucks,
they acheived their goal. But if their intent was to attract new
customers at a budget rate with the expectation that they would be
repeat guests at higher rates or special occasions, they FAILED
miserably. In fact, not only will I NEVER go back to the Equinox Hotel
for any reason, I will be happy to tell all my firends to avoid it as
well.

We purchased a 2-day stay at the Equinox Hotel in Manchester, VT. Its
reputation is that it is a pricey but elegant comfortable place to
stay. So, when we saw a groupon for a half price stay, we grabbed it.
Skiing wasnt far, and the hotel has a dining room, spa, and gym. What
could be more appealing in the middle of winter?

Well, in our view, ANYTHING could be more appealing!
1- We were placed away from the main house in a "townhouse" -sounds
good, right? Not this townhouse! What is meant by "townhouse" is that
there are many small bedrooms in each of several attached buildings.
Our room was in one of those buildings on the first floor.
2- The room was half the size of a normal cheap hotel room. We both
could not move around at the same time.
3. The room had cheap basic furnishing; a decent bed, and nightstands,
and a fairly large closet. But no chairs, desk, or other comfort
items. The bed linens were old and probably cheap as well.
4. The bathroom was basic with a cheap fiberglass tub/shower
combination. The sink was so small and the faucet so low in the sink,
I could not fit my waterbottle under it to fill it.
5. What really frosted me was that there wasnt even a cup - not even a
cheap plastic cup in the room. Yes, I could have asked for a cup -but
i have never been in a room in a hotel or motel that didnt provide a
cup! NERVE.
6. Because there was no room in our room to relax, we chose public
spaces in the main building to read. They have a space they have named
"the Library" - another joke on guests. Their library is a
thoroughfare of people walking through from the main lobby to the
dining room,spa, gym, and other areas of the hotel. The lighting is
awful, and the noise level is unacceptable for a "library".

Room Tip: don't stay in the townhouses
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This is our second trip to the Equinox. The first time we visited the Equinox we stayed in the main building and really enjoyed our stay.

This time we had rooms in the townhouses. It felt as if we were staying at a motel. We were told that the townhouses were not considered part of the resort and didn't qualify for such amenities as turn down service. This should have been explained to us when the reservations were made. We would have made reservations in the main building. We stayed four nights at the Equinox - checking in on Christmas Day and out on Sunday.

We did have a good time because we were with family but the hotel was not up to par. I have to say our Christmas trip to the Woodstock Inn last year was more pleasurable and memorable. We never felt like second class citizens at the Woodstock Inn. The services and amenities at the Woodstock Inn were fabulous.

Next year we will be planning a Christmas trip in VT again. The Equinox will need to make some changes to their facilities and treatment of guests before we will consider staying there again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inns at Equinox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inns at Equinox

Address: 3567 Main Street Route 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inns at Equinox offer a traditional way to experience the charm of southern Vermont with access to all of the amenities of the Equinox Resort. The 1811 House, which is the former home of Abraham Lincoln's granddaughter, is an excellently maintained romantic country inn offering soaring mountain views and a glimpse into history. Retreat to one of 13 unique guestrooms, which delight guests with graceful details, such as canopied beds, private porches, authentic antiques, and prized artwork. The 1811 House is open seasonally, Memorial Day weekend through the end of October. The Inns thirty newly renovated townhouses have a fresh new look. Designed by sought-after interior designer Mitchell Gold for the Bob Williams Collection, this new decor includes new sofas, furnishings, light fixtures, reclaimed floor wood for side tables and area photos from local photographers. A 75-yard stroll from the resort brings you to The Dormy House, situated just off of the first tee box of our golf course. Two distinct suites offer comfortable sleeping and dining quarters with the feel of an upscale Vermont country home. A private patio is equipped with outdoor furniture for an impromptu barbecue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Inns at Equinox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inns at Equinox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.