We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stay in 1911 House” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Inns at Equinox

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Inns at Equinox to your Saves list
The Inns at Equinox
3567 Main Street Route 7A, Manchester, VT 05254   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Manchester B&B and Inns
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Do Not Stay in 1911 House”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Avoid the 1811 house. The plumbing sounds like Niagara Falls, neither the TV nor internet worked, the electric keys failed several times, heating either high or off. Get your receipt in person - the email receipt never came. The whole place is nice - spa particularly - but the personnel although pleasant and helpful don't seem well organized.

Room Tip: 'nough said
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    41
    30
    22
    12
See reviews for
38
90
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The townhouse were very noisy. Could hear people walking upstairs, taking a shower or flushing toilet next door . Heat/air did not work had to move. At almost $200/night,way over priced for lack of comfort and quiet.

Townhouse should be torn down and rebuilt as it is negative to the rest of the facility.

They said Townhouses were not part of Starwood program but other 2 facilities on site were.

Also tacked on a $25 "resort fee". Grounds were nice.

Room Tip: Stay in another part of hotel (for over $200/night) but not townhouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just returned from 2 days at The Equinox. It was our 3rd time back.

First the plusses. The bell hops in their knickers who greet you on arrival are just fabulous. Always a smile and always helpful, as in the checkin.The hotel has so many small intimate places to just and relax, I especially loved the outdoor fireplace with loads of comfortable chairs and cushions to sit on and just relax and look around at the flowers and green.

Talking about the lawn areas, I defy anyone to find a weed. The outdoors are just kept up beautifully. We were up graded from a Superior room to a Deluxe one which was huge and with the most comfortable beds that I have slept on in a while. Our room was 402 but we had to get off on the third floor . When we opened the door there was a flight of stairs to get to the sleeping area. The room was slightly slanted and took a few minutes or longer to get used to. I was told that the concierge knew the story but we never asked.

A nice touch was that valet parking was included in the room rate and we were asked on checkin if we wanted the Times and/or Wall Street Journal delivered each morning which it was.

The buffet breakfast served was top notch. Anything you wanted was there for the taking.

I did not play golf this time but I had in the past and the course is really great; a true mountain course.

I won't discuss the outlet shopping in Manchester Village but surfise to say that the outlets there carried nicer merchandise than at other outlet centers I have been to.

Now for the minuses which are far outweighed by the plusses but should be mentioned.

There was no coffee maker in the room and if you wanted early morning coffee there was a coffee bar set up on the lobby floor. They did not provide sleeves for the coffee cups which when carried up to the room were quite hot. This should be easy to fix.

While the golf course was excellent there is no driving range. If you want one you have to drive a few miles out of town to get to one.

We decided to eat at the hotel our first night and I asked to see the menus for The Chop House and Marsh's Tavern . The prices at the Chop House were outrageous. Steaks were$43-$49 each and that was without sides. We live in New York City and eat at some of the best steak houses in The City. The prices in NYC at some of these places were less than the Chop House. I think that the Hotel is just taking advantage...This is Manchester Vermont not NYC.

Some of the green shutters need repair and paint as do some of the Window sills and frames.

Finally, and I still cannot understand this, with all the property that the hotel has they have never put in an outdoor pool. The indoor pool was lovely but in the summer people want to be outdoors not indoors. This was echoed by a several guests who were first time visitors. we have stayed at the Woodstock Inn and Top Notch Resort, both comparable hotels and both do have both indoor and outdoor pools. This omission gives me second thoughts about making the Equinox my first choice for a Summer vacation in Vermont, a state that I just love.

O

Room Tip: Stay in the Main House as the Hotel has other properties not connected
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We typically love the Equinox Inn. We were told the rate booked would be in the" lovely 1811 house". We were in the Carriage House next to the 1811 house. It was a dump. Dirty walls, chipped paint, musty smell, wall unit for A/C couldn't keep up with humidity or heat. We told them we were unhappy with our room. They did NOTHING!! The window treatments were old,dusty and they did little to block the light of the heavy traffic on the roadway (or the road noise.) At night, the parking area was unlit and stone walkway was difficult.Lock to the front door of the inn was sticky. Had to kick the door to open and close. Same for the room itself. Can you say FIRE TRAP?? The staff could not have cared less We were clearly 2nd class Steerage. NO STARWOOD POINTS GIVEN FOR YOUR STAY.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the Orvis Inn or the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere warm!
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Inns at Equinox is an umbrella for 3 very different properties--the Townhouses, Dormy House, and the 1811 House. This review is for the 1811 House only.

We are SPG Preferred and have stayed at the main Equinox property many times--and really enjoyed each of our stays. For our last trip we traveled with my parents and decided to stay at the 1811 House because the main property was completely booked for fall foliage season, plus we were looking forward to the uniqueness of the inn. We are huge fans of historic properties and more intimate hotels, and love the little idiosyncracies that come with an older inn. That being said, this place was a bit too much. I realize that they want to stay true to the character of the place, but I think there is a way to pay tribute to the history without making it feel like a museum. The entire house was dark, creaky, filled with odd decorative items, and overall felt...well...creepy. It just made the overall feel very uncomfortable.

Also, there is no reception at the 1811 House, which was not detailed in our reservation and made checking in a tad confusing. After a long drive from NYC we rang the front doorbell and stood on the stoop for a good while before heading across the street to the main hotel. Because it is a separate location, it almost felt like we were secondary citizens. Service at the main hotel has always been amazing, but for this stay there was no effort--we were given keys, but there was no effor to orient us to the inn or help with luggage. The inn has 2 floors, but the second floor is not contiguous. It is accessed by 2 staircases that go to completely separate areas. The rooms are not numbered in an intuitive way, so we and my elderly parents climbed the stairs several times before finally getting in to our rooms.

The place is interesting, but not recommended. Given the choice, definitely stay at the main Equinox hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Inns at Equinox....they call them their townhouses but trust me they are nothing like the rooms in the main resort. You could hear EVERY single sound from other guests and not muffled. Patio would have been nice if the huge ac unit wasn't loud and taking up a lot of space on the patio. Bathroom was outdated and towels the opposite of plush. Can't complain about the view it was spectacular. Bed was comfortable and the room was a decent size. We booked using a Groupon which was a good deal. At least we had the amenities or this trip would have been very disappointing. I have stayed at the Equinox before and had a lovely large room with a great bathroom, great patio and it was quiet and included turn down service. This stay was the opposite. I was under the impression the Inns would be of the same standard since they are on the Equinox property. I am a Starwood Member and was told I was not staying at a Starwood property which can be confusing since I was staying on property and allowed use of the pool, tennis courts, concierge services restaurants and bar. Staff are all really nice here no complaints there. I will not make the mistake of booking at "The Inns" again but I will be back to the Equinox an SPG property......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheldon Junction, Vermont, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We took advantage of a Living Social deal and booked a night at the Equinox. The room was half it's usual cost. When we called to book, the nice lady advised us that we should reserve a room with a king size bed. We agreed and added the $20.00 additional cost. On check-in day, we were told we would be in the "Town Houses" and not the Inn and that there were no king beds available. It was disappointing, but we took it. The building was out back; a two story row of rooms. The entrance hall was very dirty, our room was less than clean and not very "historic" in decor. The porch was covered in cobwebs and dirt, with a broken chair and an old towel tossed over the shrubs - overrun with tall weeds. Our neighbors had a large dog in their room and it barked every time a door opened. There was no coffee maker in our room; but one could walk over to the rear of the Inn and find free coffee set up. It appears that the property is running on its historic relationship with the Lincoln and Orvis families and is paying little attention to maintaining its infrastructure. When we checked out, we discovered our bill included the $20.00 fee for a king bed that was "unavailable". It took the desk clerk three tries to correct the error. If you are considering a visit to the Manchester, Vermont, area be advised that the area is very expensive; our dinner meal was almost $100 with no drinks. You will get more sleep and value staying at any of the motels in the area.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inns at Equinox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inns at Equinox

Address: 3567 Main Street Route 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inns at Equinox offer a traditional way to experience the charm of southern Vermont with access to all of the amenities of the Equinox Resort. The 1811 House, which is the former home of Abraham Lincoln's granddaughter, is an excellently maintained romantic country inn offering soaring mountain views and a glimpse into history. Retreat to one of 13 unique guestrooms, which delight guests with graceful details, such as canopied beds, private porches, authentic antiques, and prized artwork. The 1811 House is open seasonally, Memorial Day weekend through the end of October. The Inns thirty newly renovated townhouses have a fresh new look. Designed by sought-after interior designer Mitchell Gold for the Bob Williams Collection, this new decor includes new sofas, furnishings, light fixtures, reclaimed floor wood for side tables and area photos from local photographers. A 75-yard stroll from the resort brings you to The Dormy House, situated just off of the first tee box of our golf course. Two distinct suites offer comfortable sleeping and dining quarters with the feel of an upscale Vermont country home. A private patio is equipped with outdoor furniture for an impromptu barbecue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Inns at Equinox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inns at Equinox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.