We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk out with knowledge and cool stuff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Hot Glass

Manchester Hot Glass
79 Elm Street, Manchester, VT 05255
802-362-2227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Shopping in Manchester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Manchester Hot Glass is a glass blowing studio & gallery in Manchester, Vermont. Check out our popular Glassblowing 101 class and learn the craft yourself!Having read a few not so hot reviews I would like to add that Glass making is not a slow process. We work with HOT Glass and to do so you need to keep moving. I dont rush people, I work at a pace that is nessassary to make quality glass.
Rocky River Ohio
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Walk out with knowledge and cool stuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We took the 3 hour class and had a terrific experience! Not only did we learn something new, but we now have a better appreciation for glass blowing and took home some great stuff!. Instructors were very helpful and made sure we created something really nice. Two suggestions: wera the kevlar glove. Think about your colors for paperweights before you come (2 in each). Also, think of the shape for a vase or bowl - there are forms for shapes available.

Can't wait to go back!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    4
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Totally Unique Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Of all local things to do in Manchester this is one of the coolest! Where else can you play with fire and create beautiful art? Highly recommended for a day outing.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wow what a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Spent some time with Andrew and his hot glass shop. My wife and I took his class. He and his helpers were great and we both were entertained by his tongue in check making fun of you and his knowledge of glass blowing. We have since stopped by with broken waterford wine glasses and a venetian fine glass that he repaired at a minimal charge. Everyone loves his humor but if you are a stuck up and have some underlying pysche problem where you cant take his sense of humor than stay away.. And you probably should stay away from Vt. Cuz we are down to earth people......Jack

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Most Fun Two Hour Class EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

My new husband and I visited Manchester Hot Glass to take a two hour class on our honeymoon in Vermont. What an amazing experience. Andrew and Jeff are a hilarious duo of talented glass blowers. If you have any sense of humor/a personality, you will immediately feel welcome at the laid-back and zainy workshop, where pretty much anything goes. We made a total of a bowl, a vase, four paperweights, and a special glass that we created in two pieces together. Andrew took extra time to help us with this last project, which will become a family heirloom. We had a ball. The work on display and for sale is just incredible, and the photos of our foray into the glass world are insane!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Really cool experience, if you're looking for something different to do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We were up in Manchester for our annual outing. We always try to do something new when we're away and this week it was an outing to the Manchester Hot Glass gallery - and we're very happy that we did it!

Right from the start you're introduced to the process via hands-on creation of your first glass object (paperweights). From there it was onto making glasses and then onto bowls and vases. We never would've thought that within two hours we would've learned and actually DONE so much!

Sure, the owner has a salty sense of humor as alluded to in the earlier post, but that's part of the fun of this adventure and he's an amazing font of knowledge, willing to answer every question you throw at him.

We love everything we made and brought back and we'd definitely head back to see Andrew and Jeff again.

Thanks for a great time, guys!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manchester Hot Glass also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Manchester Hot Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Hot Glass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.