We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gringo Jack's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gringo Jack's

Gringo Jack's
5103 Main Street, Manchester, VT 05255 (Formerly Gringo Jack's Southwestern Bar & Grill)
802.362.0836
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 62 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gringo Jack's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This place had some of the best Mexican food I've ever had. The decor of the place is really great and the staff is outstanding.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    99
    53
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good service but the food was just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The nicest part of Gringo Jack's is the outside seating, but the food is just okay. My husband and I both ordered hamburgers. I specifically ordered mine well done and it was rare when I got it. Of course, our waitress took it back to be recooked, but in the meantime my husband was finished with his meal by the time I got my meal. The waitress took $4 off the bill on her own.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“dog friendly, outstanding outdoor seating, fun food and drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

For canine visitors, the outdoor seating provides a great place to watch your human eat. The gardens around the patio area are clean and well kept and the waitress even brought me a water bowl. My humans seemed to really like the 'chef's veggie taco pizzata", the cobb salad, and the shrimp avocado salad. Especially the shrimp avocado salad - they said it was really excellent. I got a tid bit under the table of the chef's veggie dish and agree that it was outstanding. I also got to eat some of the leftover crumbled gorgonzola from the cobb salad - best I have ever had. There was chipmunk running around in the beautiful manicured gardens, which kept me busy most of the meal. I lot of the people there noticed me a smiled. I liked them. Then there were these two little kids who tried to cozy up to me, but I would have nothing to do with them. Then I took a nap, because although the waitress was at our table a lot, my owners didn't seem to be in a rush to get going because they were really enjoying those margaritas, the lime and the pomegrate ones in particular, without the salt, and frozen. Fun drinks for the younger humans too - like those smoothie thingies. Anyhow, besides the gorgonzola, the homemade chips were quite devine. I had quite a few of those under the table when my owner 'accidentally' dropped few. Highly recommended, especially on warm, clear days.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, New Jersey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stumbled upon this place on a recent bike trip. Lucky us! Just an overall fantastic place. Started with chips n salsa, probably the best most unique chips I can remember having. Had fajitas for main course, again, the best I can remember having in a long time. Delicious food, cold drinks and great service. What else can you want?

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmont
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“lunch outdoors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I loved my margarita with fresh lime juice and when I asked for it "not sweet" it came that way. I ordered the guacamole appetizer which I enjoyed with the fresh made nachos.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gringo Jack's also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Gringo Jack's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gringo Jack's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.