We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean option in a expensive town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Aspen at Manchester

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Aspen at Manchester
Save
You added The Aspen at Manchester to your Saves list
5669 Main Street, Route 7A, Manchester, VT 05255 (Formerly Aspen Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off Spring Special
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rock Island, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice clean option in a expensive town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My spouse and I stayed at the Aspen on the recommendation of a family member who lives in Manchester Center. Other family members often stay there while visiting their father and mother. Our room was very clean, water was hot, bed was comfortable. We could not get our original request as the motel was busy with people participating in a golf tournament. We did get a room with a double and a single bed which was fine. I had difficulties with the WiFi but contacted the owner at the desk and he quickly got me online. There is no continental breakfast but there are many options in town. The owner will put in a mini refrigerator in the room for a $10 fee. We paid under a hundred for our room which seemed OK for the area. We would stay at this facility again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    22
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
28
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Large rooms. Lots of space but corners cut a bit. For 150 a night I would at least expect fresh coffee, not those cheap makers in room. Soaps, etc could be better. I was expecting more based on the reviews I read. I think there are better options than the aspen.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Aspen for four nights in July 2013 having chosen it because of the good Tripadvisor reviews; we weren't disappointed. The web site has an old fashioned look and even more old fashioned was telephoning to book (you can of course send an email request) but that just reflected the traditional values of the Aspen.

We thought that it might be a bit close to the road but the 7A is relatively quiet and the accommodation is set well back. Our room was, well roomy. Very comfortable bed and spotless bathroom with decent towels. The $5 extra charge for the fridge was well worth it in 90F heat! Speaking of the heat the pool was a delight to cool off in after a day sight seeing in Vermont.

The position of the motel is ideal with just a short walk in to town with plenty of restaurants and cafes to chose from. As others have said the rates are very good value and the owners Steve and Bruce are most helpful. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We travelled to Manchester extensively when our daughter worked in the area. We tried quite a few of the motels and always kept coming back to the Aspen. Very comfortable rooms at an excellent price. If you expect a Ritz or Sheaton experience you are not getting it, but if you want a clean comfortable room and great owners that bend over backwards for you - THIS IS THE PLACE. When our daughter got married in Arlington, VT, they even let us keep some of our possessions at the Aspen even though we moved to another hotel nearby for the wedding day itself!

If you are looking for a pleasant stay with no worries you will have found it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have stayed at the Aspen several times over the years and we have always had a pleasant experience. Room are clean, pool is a plus and staff is very nice. We take motorcycle rides into VT a few times a year and when we come through Manchester we always stay at the Aspen.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night over Memorial Day weekend for a wedding at the the Equinox. We didn't want to pay the resort rates!! The owner was conversational, room was clean and bed comfy. We did notice a faint wet dog smell when we got into the room, but no pets are allowed so I'm not sure where that came from. Rates were good compared to similar accommodations in the area. Just a note... We took a "cab", and a random guy in an SUV with a GPS picked us up and kept changing the fare as we drove... Just be careful with the cabs.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

After one stay, the staff will remember your face! The television has DirectTV (all channels), the hotel is located right by all the good restaurants, and the price is a great value! The only place I will stay in Manchester - this is where the locals send their relatives to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Aspen at Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aspen at Manchester

Address: 5669 Main Street, Route 7A, Manchester, VT 05255 (Formerly Aspen Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly New England hospitality in the heart of Manchester Vermont. A variety of homey, comfortable lodging accommodations to suit all your vacation needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Manchester Center
Aspen Motel Manchester Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aspen at Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.