We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AHHHHH Luxury in Southern Vermont” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Ormsby Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Ormsby Hill to your Saves list
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1842 Main Street, Manchester, VT 05255   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Manchester B&B and Inns
Westwood,MA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“AHHHHH Luxury in Southern Vermont”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

It is a testament to the quality of an Inn where you feel totally invited and comfortable when you get lucky enough to have the inn completely to yourself. I experienced this recently, on a off spring weekday, with a two day stay at the Inn at Ormsby Hill in Manchester, Vermont. The new owners, Yoshio and Diane, have successfully embraced the unique concept of what a stay at a Five Star Vermont Historical Bed and Breakfast is all about. The Inn is an elegant historical home with comfortable common areas, a guest refrigerator and beverages and snacks available 24/7. I was lucky to be given a tour and history of this beautiful Inn. The Frances Suite/Honeymoon suite is the ultimate in absolute luxury and space. All the rooms are tastefully decorated with beautiful furnishings. Most of the rooms have fireplaces and Jacuzzi tubs to soak in. the Inn is set back on a landscaped lot with outside seating areas in the back for the enjoyment of the wonderful Vermont mountain scenery and sunshine. There is a sun filled breakfast parlor to have your well made custom breakfast. It is located a mile from downtown historical Manchester Vt., a Mecca for outlet shoppers and a short distance to local ski areas, golf courses and hiking trails. I stayed in the Gideon Ormsby room which had an outside entrance, making it easy to come and go as I pleased. I highly recommend this Inn for its beauty, peace and hospitality.

Room Tip: If you come and go a lot, there are two rooms with outside entrances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your inspirational review. I think of you often as I travel the back roads, wishing my car was a convertible. Stay well, and come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    18
    5
    10
    19
See reviews for
14
211
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Rest and relaxation; romance and landscapes, food and fun are some of the pairings that go with a weekend or week in Vermont. Enter Manchester - and a meet new owners of Ormsby Hill, Diane and Yoshio, who are making this gorgeous Inn better than ever. As hosts , they both make you feel like you have visited many times before. Every room in the inn is beautiful, but the grounds, backyard and view of the mountains are even more stunning. You will have no trouble staying outside on the rocking chairs, patio, or gazebo with a beverage - more peaceful to me than the ocean. Another viewer wrote, and I agree, it is a special place - with alot of history and interesting stories that I won't reveal here but can be told once you get there. Once you discover the Inn, you will want to book your next trip. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did. - KD

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
The dynamics of any inn experience include the guests, the physical inn, and lastly, the inn keepers. We are so grateful for the warmth and generosity of spirit we encounter every day at Ormsby Hill. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Averill Park, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I must say the Inn at Ormsby Hill was a pleasure. PLEASE disregard all negative reviews from the previous innkeepers because the new owners Diane and Yoshio Endo are wonderful!! The hospitality and friendliness of this couple was fantastic. I chose the Ormsby for my wife Susan's surprise birthday getaway in the beautiful town of Manchester without any previous knowledge of the inn. And what a fantastic weekend it was. Perfect weather coupled with great accommodations. We stayed in one room the first night and another the next, both fabulous. I cannot say enough about the Ormsby as a wonderful quaint Vermont inn except to say we will be staying there again whenever we go to Manchester. Loved it! Bill Stonner

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
You guys are the best! We had a lot of fun; really enjoyed your company. Enjoy your summer, and please, please come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

When you're looking for an inn to stay at for your 35th anniversary, you don't just want any inn. You want a fabulous inn. The Inn at Ormsby Hill is such a very special place. Our hosts Diane and Yoshio made us feel at home immediately, and by the time our four day weekend was over, we felt like part of the family.

We have stayed at exquisite inns and hotels all over the world and we have to say that this was absolutely one of the best! The common rooms were so inviting, and our room was spacious and wonderful. Soaking in the whirlpool each evening was a relaxing end to the day. And last, but very much not least, were Diane's amazing breakfasts. These were served in an inviting breakfast room overlooking the Inn at Ormsby Hill's beautiful garden (and entertaining bird feeer) and the magnificent mountains.

Manchester has always been a very special place for us. The Inn at Ormsby Hill made it even more special on our special occasion. We will certainly be back. Thank you Diane and Yoshio!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
We had a blast talking to you. We appreciate your generous words and thoughts. It would be great to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We've been coming to the Inn at Ormsby Hill for 7 years now, almost once per year. Once we came here once we were hooked. The inn itself is a gorgeous colonial home with a rich history, and every guest room is richly appointed and spotlessly clean. I am constantly impressed by the innkeepers attention to every detail of our stay. The breakfasts are well-prepared and healthy. The rates now during off-season are very reasonable -- allowing us to spend more money antiquing!

We just returned from a weekend getaway and the relaxation was total. if you are visiting Manchester I can highly recommend the Inn at Ormsby Hill.

Room Tip: The Anne Eliza and Pierrepont rooms are our favorites -- lower priced but still richly decorated and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Yoshio and I are so grateful for your loyalty to Ormsby Hill. We are really looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The old Isham homestead is now an inn which has been very elegantly refurbished and modernized. Each room is uniquely decorated and include fireplaces and extravagant bathrooms. Inn owners Diane and Yoshi are quite welcoming and put out a delicious and generous breakfast each morning. A history of the remarkable Isham family is provided in each room and you can hike out back to visit the Robert Todd Lincoln residence if you are further enticed. Although the inn is located on busy (relatively, by VT standards) 7A, the back of the property faces the southeast and provides beauty and tranquility. Our room (Ethan Allen) was on the ground floor and you could hear noise from the rooms above, but guests are overall very quiet and sounds of the rear meadow greeted us along with the morning sun.

Room Tip: See them all, each one is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We feel honored you stopped at our inn after so many years of passing by. Your kind words and thoughts mean a lot to us. We hope you will return the next time you are in Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have much experience in staying at Inns and B&B's and feel we can write with confidence at what's good and what's not so good. The Inn at Ormsby Hill is at the top of our list. The location, the ambiance, the amenities, the facilities and the staff are of the highest quality. Diane and Yoshio are new at inn-keeping and have run the Ormsby Hill since last July - but you'd think they were doing it all their lives. They welcome you as family and treat you with true care and interest. No detail is spared and no detail is too small. The rooms are wonderful and the breakfasts - indescribable. Would we return? At least several times annually since they took over the place. Our stay was a "10" without any hesitation.

Room Tip: It's hard to choose a favorite room. All have fireplaces and all are furnished in period antiqu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your generosity and support. We loved sharing stories with you; loved every minute of your stay. I'm still smiling from your visit...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Ormsby Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ormsby Hill

Address: 1842 Main Street, Manchester, VT 05255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Ormsby Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If our lavish rooms and full, energizing breakfasts aren't enough to take your breath away, our spectacular mountains views will. Recipients of the AAA Four Diamond Award for the past fourteen years - a Manchester inn exclusive. One enchanting evening with us and you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Ormsby Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Ormsby Hill Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Ormsby Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.