We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something very special...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Ormsby Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn at Ormsby Hill to your Saves list
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1842 Main Street, Manchester, VT 05255   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Something very special...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our stay at this lovely bed and breakfast was something very special. The inn, located on the edge of Manchester, VT, is truly charming. The public spaces are warm and inviting, from the gathering area to the beautiful bright breakfast room. The guest rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. We stayed in the Taft Suite, with a large 4 poster bed, a wood burning fireplace, a bathroom with a steam shower and jacuzzi. It was wonderful! However, it was Diane and Yoshio, the recent owners, and Christine, the Assistant Manager, who made our stay so wonderful. Their warm and gracious hospitality really made the inn glow! They helped with dinner and snow shoe arrangements, Diane prepared creative and delicious breakfasts, and there were freshly baked cookies and coffee or hot chocolate every afternoon and evening. We were made to feel that we were visiting with good friends. We look forward to returning soon to Manchester and the Inn at Ormsby Hill.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your thoughtful words and your beautiful photos. Your visit was like meeting with great friends. You touched our lives in a wonderful way. We can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    18
    5
    10
    19
See reviews for
17
226
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have wanted to stay at The Inn at Ormsby Hill (TIAOH) for many years now. For one reason or another we always ended up someplace else like the Equinox, Reluctant Panther, etc. Nothing to do with the TIAOH - just luck of the draw as to where we called first. Well this year was the lucky time for TIAOH and for us.

We stayed on 12/29 and were pleasantly surprised and pleased. When we arrived were given the grand tour by Yoshi and was made to feel instantly at home. He went through the amazing history of the place, the accommodations and the amenities. He recommended a few restaurants and when we told him we had already made a reservation at the Ye Old Inn, he said great place and that his neighbor owned the place.

Since it was the holidays, we had only one choice for rooms which was the Ethan Allen. It is a nice room with its own entrance from the outside. If you like privacy - this is the room for you. If you are a social butterfly, don't pick this room. If we had a choice, I would have stayed in the Frances which seems to be the nicest room from what I can tell from the website.

Dinner at the Ye Old Tavern was amazing (see my other review on this) and breakfast on Sunday morning was incredibly good - off the scale good.

Diane and Yoshi were both great hosts and TIAOH will never lose the luck of the draw again as this is where we will stay from now on when headed to Manchester, VT.

Room Tip: Since it was the holidays, we had only one choice for rooms which was the Ethan Allen. It is a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Ormsby Hill, and hope you get a chance to explore our other rooms over time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Inn twice and both times stayed in the Lincoln room (my favorite room). On our most recent stay, my husband and I were the only guests, we were treated like royalty. The Inn at Ormsby Hill is the only place to stay in Manchester, you will truly feel "at home".

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Your visit was pure delight for us because you were perfect guests. I'm so glad you were able to stay in "your" room. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Inn at Ormsby Hill is one of only two 4 diamond B&B's in Vermont. My wife and I stayed there for six nights during New Years. To say that we had a great time in an understatement! We had a fantastic time!

Firstly, Diane, Yoshio, and Christine were super! They were all a pleasure to talk to and be around. In particular, I spent a few evenings chatting with Yoshio about life experiences and family. He has a great sense of humor and can put a humorous spin on any serious situation. Diane was always pleasant and made you feel relaxed and welcome. Christine was extremely friendly and was always available to answer questions and get local advice. She is a fountain of knowledge about the Manchester area. All in all, everyone was great!

The inn itself is gorgeous and clean and at the time was decorated for the holidays! It felt warm and inviting. The fireplace near the sitting area is very large and we spend a good amount of time drinking tea and playing games near it which at times got very competitive and out of hand. Needless to say, I was defeated on two occassions by my wife and I vowed revenge on our next visit! Our rooms were clean and comfortable and had gas fireplaces which toasted up the room during the winter evenings. The whirlpool tubs seemed new and the steam shower was amazing.

The breakfasts were fantastic and were different each of the six nights. They are not overwhelming and heavy....the portions were perfect and delicious each time! The Japanese milk bread with maple butter was a favourite. Diane and Yoshio even catered to my wife's dietary needs with perfection. Cheers to the cook (i.e. Diane)! They really go above and beyond to make your stay special. For dinner, the "Perfect Wife" restaurant was recommended and we loved it. We actually went back twice!

We have stayed at many Inn's throughout the United States. Many on the east coast and we can honestly say that the Inn at Ormsby Hill is now one of our very favorites! We would definately return again and hope to do so soon. The combination of a beautiful inn and great innkeepers and staff make it an easy choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words and thoughts. We, too, had a great time during your visit. You really made yourselves at home, and that makes us very happy. We hope you can return this summer, and get cozy in our outdoor areas. Can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband, 17-year-old daughter (a last minute addition when her own plans were cancelled), and I traveled to The Inn at Ormsby Hill for New Year’s Eve. A New Year’s tradition for us, we have bounced around the southern part of Vermont searching for the “right” place to call our own. From the moment we stepped through the door, we knew we had found our home away from home. We were greeted by Christine who showed us around the downstairs, explained about breakfast and the specifics of the front and back doors and then brought us upstairs and told us that if a door to a room was open that meant no one had checked in yet and to feel free to take a peek into the room. She pointed out the little sitting room which had a refrigerator for guests to store leftovers or other things in (although our room had its own refrigerator), along with a basket that carried incidentals such as toothbrushes and the like if we had forgotten to pack our own (nice touch). We were then brought to our room (Taft) which was breathtaking. From the 4-poster canopy king-sized bed (which was extremely comfortable), to the functional wood burning fireplace and the 2-person Jacuzzi tub with separate steam shower to the additional sitting room with a small pull out couch perfect for our additional guest this room was exceptional. We unfortunately missed out on the sleigh ride my husband had booked because of weather conditions but he and I both got our massages that were fabulous the next day from Christine. The bread that is served each day at breakfast is unbelievable as was the hash brown casserole. We had a couple dinners at Mulligan’s which is right down the road from the Inn and one dinner at Johnny Seesaw’s in Peru. I would definitely recommend both places. My daughter and I took advantage of the Checkers and Scattergories games a couple nights that are downstairs (along with a bunch of other games) for anyone to use. I also loved watching the birds in the morning that came to the bird feeders. My husband and I are looking forward to our next visit back so we can try out the Jacuzzi tub (something we couldn't do with our daughter there)! Thank you for a really nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We loved that you made yourselves right at home. It would be our privilege to be a part of your New Year tradition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent Christmas Day at the Inn at Ormsby Hill & had a "magical" time.....we had stayed there several years ago and although we loved the Inn, the prior innkeepers were not particularly friendly or welcoming....we only stay at inns or B & B's when we travel & over the years we have intereacted with many, many innkeepers with a variety of personalities....I can honestly say that we have never met such a warm, gracious & hospitable couple as Diane & Yoshio..they are genuinely down-to-earth individuals who made our stay all the more memorable...our room, the Pierrepont Room, was absolutely amazing.....so cozy, romantic, warm & beautifully appointed with the most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on!....Diane & Yoshio had the Inn decorated so festively & homey for the Holidays which only added extra ambience to an already beautiful inn...our gourmet breakfast was simply delicious & wonderfully presented....the bottom line is that the Inn at Ormsby Hill is a gem whose innkeepers are two of the most caring people you could ever meet!....we can't wait to get back there this spring!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We will not forget your graciousness and kindness, and wish the weather did not interrupt your stay with us. It will be our lucky day to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, N.Y.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have visited The Inn at Ormsby Hill several times a year. The Inn is beautiful and the new owners, Diane and Yoshi, are lovely. They go out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The breakfasts are always good with a base of organic and healthful ingredients. Diane and Yoshi send out emails suggesting things to do in the area and places to eat. It is a pleasure to visit The Inn and spend some time with the Innkeepers.

Room Tip: We love the Lincoln and Taft Rooms but all of the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Yoshio and I are thrilled you stayed with us over the holidays. We appreciate all your help and feedback, and are looking forward to seeing you the same time next year (if not sooner)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Ormsby Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ormsby Hill

Address: 1842 Main Street, Manchester, VT 05255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Ormsby Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If our lavish rooms and full, energizing breakfasts aren't enough to take your breath away, our spectacular mountains views will. Recipients of the AAA Four Diamond Award for the past fourteen years - a Manchester inn exclusive. One enchanting evening with us and you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Ormsby Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Ormsby Hill Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Ormsby Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.