We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yuck” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wilburton Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wilburton Inn to your Saves list
Wilburton Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   257 Wilburton Dr, Manchester, VT 05254   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Mother's Day Package
Ranked #5 of 13 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
IL
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“yuck”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

Hoping to get a relaxing weekend away from our baby, my husband I chose the wilburton inn. HUGE mistake. The Inn has potential, but clearly is going down hill.

We were not warned ahead of time that there was going to be a wedding that weekend, so the entire place was closed to us.Weddings also = drunk/loud people. We did not have access to the restaurant, bar, common areas, etc..

The inn boasts about sculpture grounds with a guided tour- HA! When we asked about this, we were thrown a brochure and told to walk around. There were also no afternoon cookies & tea as advertised.

Beware of paper thin walls, cobb webs & [--] chic decor. The entire place can use a complete overhaul. Their breakfast was so unforgettable that my husband & i opted for a local eatery.

Wish we'd stayed at the Equinox down the street!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    54
    13
    13
    17
See reviews for
69
99
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

On Friday afternoon when the weatherman predicted a 100 degree day for Saturday my husband and I decided to take a last minute trip up to Manchester VT. We chose the Wilburton Inn as they accepted children under 12, they had a pool and they were willing and able to accept us that same evening. Upon our arrival there was a lovely pre-wedding party and we were greeted and welcomed right away. We had a choice of rooms in a building seperate from the main house and we chose room 17. It came with a king sized bed, a gorgeous view of the mansion and mountains beyond as well as a seperate seating area with a couch and a small refridgerator and sink separate from the bathroom. This came in very handy when preparing and cleaning bottles. This was our second visit although 5 years had passed since our first visit. The staff and the owners were all welcoming, lovely and warm. It was a pleasure to be in their company. The room was very sweet and suit our family very well. The included breakfast was absolutely delicious. Along with the buffet of fruit, toast, coffee and tea, there was a fantastic made to order menu consisting of eggs any style, pancakes, french toast and more. The view in the breakfast room alone was spectacular but we really looked forward to the food too! The rooms were appointed with classic decor that suits the inn. It is not a 5 star hotel with brand new rooms but it is a lovely clean inn with charm and warmth. We will surely return again!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currently traveling the U.S.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

I am surprised to see the recent negative reviews of this lovely place! Our experience was so different! My husband and I decided to spend a night in Manchester on our way back to New Hampshire. We visited and inspected several inns and motels in Manchester before finding the Wilburton Inn, thus we were very aware of our options beforehand. Our original intention was to spend one night only, but when we saw the place and met the owners, we decided to stay two nights. We chose room# 24 which is a cottage room on the property and has an awesome view of the Green Mountains off its private patio deck. The price was $195 per night and included a full hot breakfast in the main house dining area that has a spectacular view! The inn sits on 20 acres of beautiful grounds that are sprinkled with lovely, inviting places to sit and contemplate, and also some very curiously interesting sculptures. My husband and I are always open to meeting new and interesting people, and this place hinted that the owners were just that. We were right! Albert & Georgette Levis were very open, warm and accomodating to us. Even to the level where Albert, after our inviting him to sit with us at dinner, spent much time with us sharing his obvioulsly well thought out views on conflict resolution. He is from Greece and has a strong accent, but it was well worth the effort to listen intently! He was not troubled at all by us asking him to repeat some of what he shared. A lot of the sculpture and art on the property is in support of his desire to communicate these principles. However, you almost have to drag it out of him because it is not his intention to force it on anyone. If you ask, he'll tell you. Otherwise it is not mentioned. The positives are: quiet, peaceful, beautiful, good food, gracious staff, historical significance, all the amenities like sattellite tv, gas fireplace, jacuzzi bathtubs and lovely furnishings. The negatives are: since it is an old property, and they do not charge the typcial $250 per night fees that some of the newly rennovated inns charge, their pace of rennovations is slower (although they are continually improving), and our king sized bed was too hard but sleepable. We plan on returning to this place as often as we can! Laura Abernathy

  • Liked — The grounds
  • Disliked — The bed was too hard for my taste.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

We've just returned from one night at the Wilburton Inn, very unhappy to end our vacation on such a negative note. When the inn we preferred was full, we decided to give the Wilburton a try. The rate was substantially more ($190 was quoted for a standard queen room in the main house) but the pictures looked gorgeous so we thought we'd treat ourselves. However, we were in for more of a trick than a treat. After having been quoted a rate via phone, we were surprised to notice a 10% gratuity charge on the card we signed at check-in (never mentioned verbally until we checked out); considering the price of the room and the 9% state tax, this extra 10% was a substantial addition to the bill. The room was musty to say the least. No curtains meant an early morning wake-up call when the sun came up, not to mention getting dressed in full view of the inn's driveway, pool, and parking lot. The bathroom has seen cleaner days, particularly the tub and shower. Pressure in the shower was terrible and the hot water disappeared every minute or so. The bed was extremely uncomfortable, keeping us up for part of the night and causing us to wake up sore the next morning. Finally, the staff was less than friendly. Even when talking with the owner, we were surprised to see how little he seemed to care about our experience. When he checked us out, he told us the room would be $195...when we told him we were quoted $190, he repeated "195" and continued to enumerate the charges. (Granted, $5 may not sound like much but given the gratuity charge, costs were adding up quickly!) Rather than sit down and figure out our actual bill, he proceeded to "approximate" in his head, rounding up as necessary: the 9% state tax become 10% and when we questioned that, he brusquely responded that he didn't have a calculator. Luckily, my husband's cell phone did, so he started doing the math himself to calculate our bill. As we were finishing the check-out process, he took a personal phone call and sat down to begin chatting. We took the hint and left the inn.

The breakfast room is indeed beautiful but breakfast was utterly forgettable. Unlike other inns in the area, which offer a breakfast menu with plates cooked to order, the Wilburton offers a buffet. Potatoes were beyond cold and other items remained unfilled. It was a mediocre breakfast at best, leaving us wishing we could have gone out to get breakfast on our own. Even a diner would have been better -- this wasn't only not luxurious but it was substandard.

Overall, we were extremely disappointed on many fronts and only wish we could have the last night of our vacation to do over!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2007

My wife and I travelled for the first time to the Manchester, Vt area and were anxiously anticipating our long waited vacation. Upon arrival at the Wilburton Inn, we immediately recognized that the property was in desperate need of loving attention. From the front reception carpet, to the interior carpets, all covered with noticable dirt and bugs, we realized that our dream vacation might not be that.

Our room, in one of the out buildings had cob webs, dead bugs along with some lives ones as well. The matress was extremely uncomfortable and the one nights sleep in that room was not a good experience.

While the innkeepers were extremely personable, along with their staff members, the properties cleanliness detracted from our experience. For our second nights stay, we were allowed to change rooms into one in the main building. The room itself was stately, had a much softer bed, but again, showed dead bugs, dirty carpet and drapes that needed to be cleaned years ago. We walked across the hall to the honeymoon suite and saw where the hardwood floor in the closet had become home to a family of dead bugs.

Inside the breakfast room, overlooking magnificent scenery, our breakfast was shared by the many bugs who joined us for our meal. Once again, the area rugs located in that room were in desperate need of cleaning.

At some point in time, I'm sure that the Wilburton Inn was "the" place to go. With having very impressive grounds, I believe it could very well be one of the better resorts in the area. However, in the condition that it is currently in, I would suggest that potential guests consider alternative locations.

  • Liked — when we checked out
  • Disliked — The abundance of dirt, dust, cob webs, bugs (both dead and alive)
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2006

To Whom It May Concern:
I have been unable to post a review of an Inn we loved on your site. In late October of 2006, we were lucky to stay at the Wilburton Inn in Manchester, Vermont. It was our second venture to that area but our first at the Wilburton. We were so warmly welcomed, in the beautiful mansion part of the Inn, that we felt we were with relatives. I was suffering a sore throat and was immediately offered hot tea which I drank in the beautifully appointed and furnished living room. It is a large room with antiques and wonderful art. Our room was in a cottage a few feet from the main mansion. We walked in to a huge immacutely clean room with shiny wood floors, a king sized four poster bed, oriental rugs on the floor and a gas fireplace which felt so welcoming. The room had a large fenced deck looking at the glorious mountains. The food, breakfast and dinner, was terrific. All you could eat at breakfast which was hot, plentiful, tasted great and was attended by a great waitstaff. Our experience with the staff, service and ambiance was so pleasant, that we can't wait to go back to the Wilburton Inn.

Sincerely,
Louise and Jerry Mayer, Bethesda, MD.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — That I couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staatsburg NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

I have to say my wife and I couldn’t disagree with the negative comments of “member2432” more. We had our Vermont winter wedding in February of 2006 and it could not have been better. The enitre staff at the Wilburton was completely accommodating. They worked with my wife and I to plan a wedding that was exactly what we wanted. They also extended this high level of service and attention to our guests. We looked at four Inns within a 20mile radius of Manchester but as soon as we drove up the tree-lined driveway at the Wilburton and caught a glimpse of the mountains to our right we were hooked. When we visited the Inn for the first time it was in the fall and the colors were beyond description. As we went from fall into winter each season seemed to be as beautiful as the last. We toured the entire inn including the kitchen and rooms. We also toured the rooms that we not within the mansion it’s self. The décor within the mansion and each bedroom was neat and comfortable without being stuffy or “typical”. There was no peeling paint or shabby carpets unless you consider antique oriental rugs shabby. Sitting by the grand fireplace in the main room should not be missed. It’s a great place to meet the other guests and chat while sipping afternoon tea. The owners Georgette and Albert Levis certainly do have an eclectic collection of sculptures around the outside of the Inn but we didn’t feel intimidated by these pieces in the least. After talking with Albert about the sculptures it was interesting to learn the significance of each. The bottom line is the Wilburton was exceptional in every way. Don’t miss a meal at the Inn either or you will be doing your self a disservice. My wife and I are already planning a reunion weekend for 2007.

  • Liked — The view from the rooms in the mansion
  • Disliked — Can't think of any
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't miss Chef Ned's amazing breakfasts!
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilburton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilburton Inn

Address: 257 Wilburton Dr, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilburton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand historic mansion and separate villas on 20-acre hilltop estate, the Wilburton Inn has exceptional mountain views, tennis court, pool, sculpture gardens. Restaurant on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Wilburton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilburton Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilburton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.