We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Bookstore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northshire Bookstore

Northshire Bookstore
4869 Main Street, Manchester, VT 05255
+1 802-362-2200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Shopping in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Northshire Bookstore is a family-owned, independent bookstore. We are one of the largest bookstores in New England. Northshire Bookstore was voted Best Bookstore in the country by Publishers Weekly magazine and Best of New England by Yankee magazine. Come see why so many people rave about this full-service, old world but up-to-date store. Many gifts as well as books and a whole floor devoted to Children!
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Gem of a Bookstore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I visited here recently while vacationing in the area..... I'd been several times before. I love this place because of all the nooks and crannies in this building. The staff are friendly and helpful and they have clean public rest rooms. I bought greeting cards, per usual, but it was fun to peruse the book titles as well, especially in the eastern philosophy/zen section. Northshire also offers a nice café and good selection of gifts and such.

I will go back.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    7
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best bookstore in the univers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Lovely, well organised and classical music in the background is a paradise on earth. There's toys, gifts, bargains books, used children books and a coffee shop.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the best bookstores EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

If you are someone who loves bookstores, and could spend hours browsing the stacks, this store is for you. On a cold winter night, my wife and I stopped in just to check it out and spent almost 3 hours here! The selection is vast, but my favorite part is that the store has staff recommendations and reviews spread around the store. (You don't really find that type of personalization or character at the big chain stores). The store is multi-level with different sections almost broken up like little rooms. There is even a cafe attached to the store if you wanted to grab coffee or a quick bite. (Food is pretty good too). A must see if you are driving through Manchester or spending a few days there.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Got lost for hours in here!! A MUST SEE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Love the local bookstore - found cute crafts for my kids - great books - fair prices. Bookstore is large, well spaced/laid out, staff helpful. Love this gem!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
96 attraction reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Nice selection and layout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

While yes, this is just a bookstore, it is a very good one. You could spend a lot of time here and come out with a lot of books. The layout of the store is great, where each section has it's own division, almost split into rooms, if you will, with some comfortable seating, if you need to do some serious browsing. They appear to have a large selection, and there is definitely much more character than any of the chain bookstores, which is what makes this place worth stopping at, if you are a serious book collector.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northshire Bookstore also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Northshire Bookstore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northshire Bookstore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.