We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hildene

Hildene
1005 Hildene Rd, Manchester, VT 05254
802-362-1788
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic home of Robert Todd Lincoln, only child of President and Mary Todd Lincoln to survive to adulthood. The estate has beautiful gardens, restored 1903 wooden Pullman palace car, goat farm and cheesemaking facility, walking trails and cross-country skiing in winter.
Napa, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Unexpected treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were "peeping" our way through Vermont and looking for historical/educational stops along the way. Hildene came up on numerous lists, though I had never heard of it before. The grounds and the view are enough to make it a valuable stop. The home itself was a treasure, lovely, livable, less ostentatious than many mansions open to the public....

But it was the exhibits, especially the Lincoln Second Inaugural, that were the highlights for us. Robert's office was full of memorabilia and references to the conservation that is a theme and a value of the resorted estate, farm, and grounds. The home is largely furnished with original pieces.

It was raining when we were there, which limited our ability to enjoy the view or walk the trails. I want to go back in summer and take a picnic lunch.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    87
    15
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Worth Your Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

So much history to explore. It's a beautiful home with scenic views. The staff were very helpful. I had the opportunity to visit Hildene 20 years ago with my parents, but didn't. Now my mother has passed on and I got to retrace her steps.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home & Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was a beautiful property with very infomative docents. We enjoyed the introductory video prior to our tour. Walking the grounds to the historic refurbished Pullman car was an unexpected bonus.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A beautiful house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Having entered. the grounds through the gift shop we took the short walk up to the house to find a red Franklin car of 1930's vintage parked outside the front door. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and on learning that my wife was from Scotland one of the guides started reciting poems by Robert Burns. The Aeolian Organ in the entrance hall is a powerful instrument which has 1000 pipes but which apparently only uses 500 and plays rolls which are gradually being transcribed on to floppy discs. To further welcome us they got the organ to,play Annie Laurie! The noise the instrument made with 500 pipes was enough - 1000 would probably have blown the place apart! The house itself is tastefully furnished and not ostentatious in contrast to some of the "cottages" we visited in Newport, Rhode Island. Another great attraction is the restored Pullman rail car dating from 1903 situated in the grounds. The restoration has been carried out painstakingly and the result is a wonderful attraction. We allowed plenty of time to visit Hildene and were able to appreciate the gardens and the great views all around.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxemburg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Intesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was worth the time and money to go and see. The house was just unbelievable along with the flower garden and the Pullman traun car. The view was brethtaking.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hildene also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Hildene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hildene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.