We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Father's Day Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ludlow Colonial Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ludlow Colonial Motel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ludlow Colonial Motel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Main Street, Ludlow, VT 05149   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ludlow
Auburn
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Father's Day Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We arrived Friday early evening, after a full day ride (motorcycle) in the rain. The rain stopped long enough to check in to our rooms and unload all of our luggage. Our room had two Queen beds with plenty of room for all of our WET gear. For the Skiers, the rooms have built in ski racks and I believe is about a mile from Okemo Ski Resort. So, after the full day ride in the rain, the last thing any of us wanted to do was to get on the motorcycles again, to go eat. The Owner/Manager, said to us that we could use his car to go out for food. I have to say that this was pretty awesome.On Saturday morning we had the Continental Breakfast, fruit, cereal,toast,muffins,waffle maker,coffee and juice. Also, found one bar and a restaurant within walking distance of our Motel. The staff of the Motel was very very nice, set up a fire ring for us on Saturday night, brought wood for us. Overall it was a pleasant stay, I could go on, but I will put it this way, I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a lot of gear, such as luggage you need to take off your bike, or ski gear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    38
    27
    15
    18
See reviews for
47
36
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bronx NY
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent a weekend at this hotel this past late winter. We arrived very very late, but the hotel had left our key just as the desk said they would. Woke up the next morning to a plain but good breakfast: cold and hot breakfast foods available and the coffee was fine. The breakfast eating area is small but there are couches in the lobby where I took my coffee to read while waiting for the rest of the family to wake up. We were three family members in one large room, also plain, smallish TV, but clean, warm, and comfortable. Nice staff, plenty of parking, all right in the center of Ludlow. The drive to Okemo is just five minutes. No complaints at all - just the basics, done well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitman, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Our recent stay at the Ludlow Best Western was very pleasant and it is a great location for Okemo mountain, our favorite ski destination. Check-in process went smoothly, the room was spacious and clean. We were walking distance from stores and restaurants. Breakfast items could have been better, but we were overall very happy with our stay and will definitely be back again next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I've stayed here off and on for at least 10-15 years with various friends and family. There aren't many reasonable options in town, so I might be back, but will next time will strongly consider other options.

Last year we stayed in room with a sleeper sofa which seems like the same one they had 10-15 years ago. I've never, ever, slept in a more uncomfortable sofa bed. In fact, half way through the first night I had to move and share a queen with a friend (and I can sleep almost anywhere). This year, the rooms we had looked a bit tired - frayed wall paper, really old TV (so old the picture was constantly a bit blurry). Beds were really comfortable though and it was clean enough. Breakfast was decent for a hotel of this type.

One unfortunate part of the experience was that we had plumbing issues and it seemed like the owner/manager was doing everything he could to avoid dealing with them. The first night, we described that the toilet was making an incredibly loud noise upon flushing - nothing like I've ever heard before, not a normal flush sound at all - and he suggested that 'it only lasts a minute' in an effort to convince us it didn't need fixing. In the end, someone did come during the day to fix it. The next evening, though the loud noise was now gone, the water was running a bit- you could hear it on almost a continual basis. Though it wasn't loud we pointed it out upon leaving, thinking that they would want to fix it. The owner sort of argued that there couldn't be a problem because the plumber told him he had fixed it the day before. Why would we want to make something like that up?

I think rates are pretty low and it's conveniently located, so all in all perhaps the issues aren't deal-breakers. But I'm hoping to do better for future visits, if possible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
red bank, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great value for a ski weekend - clean room - good breakfast - good location. Breakfast was available at 7AM allowing us to eat and get to the slopes for opening. The room was very clean and evrything was new. The room had a sitting area + a frig. The wifi was spotty at times, but usable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Tucked close to the center of Okemo village, this place offers a great stay at the best value. Sure, you could pay more for a more glamorous room somewhere else and get luxury amenities include. If you're ok with rustic charm, a clean, decent room with comfortable beds, and a continental breakfast included at budget pricing with really close proximity to the mountain and village, stay here.

Pros: comfortable beds (I'm really picky about beds...and was relieved to know how soft-yet supportive- they are!), free parking with access to the village shuttle to the mountain, continental breakfast (yes, the breakfast room is small, but the attendant always replenished food and there was a great variety), and the staff are helpful and accommodating.

The cons- stay on the second floor if you can. We were on the first floor, and could hear our neighbors walking around due to squeaky floors (at 6am, not fun.) The only other downside is not being able to control the temperature of the room. The first night we stayed, our room was STIFLING which made it uncomfortable to sleep. But on the second night, the room was fine...so not sure what that issue is.

Overall, I would recommend staying here for a no-frills, comfortable place to rest after being on the mountain. You can always return to the mountain for their fun activities, and know that you saved a good deal of $ by staying here!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The staff is very friendly and accommodating.Close to the mountain .The best motel in town.The continental breakfast is more than enough.The bed was comfortable.Our first room had a running toilet after reporting it we were upgraded to a suite.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ludlow Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ludlow Colonial Motel

Address: 93 Main Street, Ludlow, VT 05149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ludlow Colonial Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Ludlow Colonial Motel! No trip to New England is complete without some skiing, theater and fine dining, which are all easy options from our Ludlow hotel. Visit the Okemo Ski Resort, one of the most beloved skiing destinations in Vermont. During the summer months, a trip to Echo Lake is a must for water recreation, swimming, boating and picnicking. Any time of year is a great time for an event at Weston Theatre or Weston Priory, conveniently close to Ludlow lodging. Whether you’re here to take advantage of the sunshine or visiting us during the winter months for a holiday season our friendly staff makes your stay special. Okemo Valley is home to Fletcher Farm School and the Okemo Mountain Resort. Just a short drive away is Okemo Valley Golf Club, a favorite destination for those looking for a relaxing escape. Whether the Bromley Ski Resort or hiking along the local trails are more your speed, you can enjoy everything this region has to offer when staying at this cozy, charming Ludlow, Vermont hotel. Business travelers in town with Mack Molding, Luzenac, Jeld-Wen® and Okemo Medical Center count on our Ludlow hotel to provide the best service in town. If you’re lucky enough to be here for work, staying at a supremely located property ensures that you can make the most of your down time. With Killington and Stratton Ski Resort 30 miles away, and Woodstock, VT and Manchester, VT drive-able, even a work trip can be a great vacation. Popular towns nearby for tourists make our Ludlow hotel a traveler’s favorite. You can drive to the bigger towns for special events, shopping and dining, but stay at our property to enjoy peace and quiet. We offer 43 deluxe rooms with a microwave and refrigerator in all rooms. A complimentary breakfast starts your morning off right, complete with hot waffles, sweet pastries, fruits and yogurt complemented with 100% Arabica coffee. Reserve a relaxing stay at BEST WESTERN Ludlow Colonial Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ludlow Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Ludlow Colonial Hotel Ludlow
Best Western Ludlow
Ludlow Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ludlow Colonial Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.