We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant as far as ski resorts go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coleman Brook Tavern

Coleman Brook Tavern
111 Jackson Gore Road, Okemo Mountain Resort, Ludlow, VT 05149
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 37 Restaurants in Ludlow
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
new york
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great restaurant as far as ski resorts go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I have only had lunch here, but the lunch food is better that I have had at any other east coast mountain (ditto for Epic at the solitude base...I alternate between the 2). The lunch prices are similar to the cafeteria in a spacious upscale setting. Service can be slow.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    29
    14
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, NY
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Mediocre would be kind.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We were a group of 4 adults for dinner one evening. We specifically asked not to be seated near a family with children since we didn't need the antics that accompany that scenerio. Ten minutes later they seated two families with 5 kids next to us. There were plenty of other tables available. Two of us ordered halibut and it was truly awful. The rest of the meals were just okay. Needless to say, we are done.

  • Visited November 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayville, Connecticut
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Upscale atmosphere - basic food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We ate here at one of the busiest times for the resort - Feb vacation. The atmosphere was very interesting - upscale but the clientele, at least for lunch, is very much not. The cozy chairs were nice but felt out of place since everyone was dressed for skiing. It would have been nice to have more room to put ski stuff - layers, bags, etc. The service was awesome, very friendly, fast.

However, the food was subpar. The cafeteria has better food and is cheaper. It seemed pricey for what we got, my shepards pie was more a soup than pie, and was not filling at all. At least for lunch they need to take into account the amount of energy being spent on the slopes, bigger portions and a salad would have been expected with the high cost of the meal. Hopefully they will improve next year.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cafeteria Quality at Best”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Menu is hugely misleading in terms of quality. Reality is mediocre cafeteria food if one were being generous. Kids food was of especially poor standard (what was clearly Kraft microwave Mac & Cheese and a barely edible hotdog). One of the worst restaurants I have been to in some time. Service was only bright spot with very pleasant wait staff - shame they are working at such a poor quality establishment. Also massively over priced and exploits its location at the very nice Jackson Gore Inn. Don't bother.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okemomountain, Manager at Coleman Brook Tavern, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Thank you for your honest feedback about your recent experience at Coleman Brook Tavern. While I regret the food was not to your liking, I am happy that you experienced top-level service as that is something we take tremendous pride in. Interestingly enough, we did switch to Kraft macaroni and cheese on our childrens' menu recently due to feedback from many families. While adults tend to rave about our homemade recipe, the kids actually did not care for it. Thanks again for writing, your comments are taken to heart and used to make improvements.

Marc Miller, Manager
Coleman Brook Tavern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresco, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised! Was worried by previous reviews...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Wonderful meal - wonderful atmosphere! We were worried by other reviews, but decided to try for ourselves, and so glad that we did. My wife ordered thea fish dish over risotto that was perfectly prepared, healthy, and delicious. I had steak that was also as good. We loved the plush chairs in the dining room and service was excellent. Wwe will be back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okemomountain, Manager at Coleman Brook Tavern, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. We look forward to hosting you again very soon.

Marc Miller, Manager
Coleman Brook Tavern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coleman Brook Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Coleman Brook Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coleman Brook Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.