We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Trails Motel

Happy Trails Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Happy Trails Motel to your Saves list
Happy Trails Motel
321 Route 103 S, Ludlow, VT 05149   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ludlow
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not worth it !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just stayed at this motel for the blizzard. At 150.00 a night stay away. I will give it a 10 for heat. We had two adjoining rooms, one the heat did not shut off and we had to open the window as it was beyond hot. The other room had only a space heater and even without it it was hot as well. Carpet was well worn and dirty,bathrooms needed work,t.v.remotes did not work, and bulbs missing through out the units. At least the linens and towels were clean. Avoid this dump.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    4
    11
    15
See reviews for
10
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Since the latest reviews were well over a year ago we thought there might have been some improvements. Well ...

Good: Staff very friendly upon arrival. Rooms were spacious. No smell. Bed was okay with firm covers and pillows. Small fridge worked fine. Hot water in the shower and sink. Jacuzzi was working. Wifi worked fine. Coffee machine and available coffee. Minimal cable TV.

Cons: Annoying noisy pipe knocking sounds in the walls throughout the night. Probably from the radiator pipes. Room walls are thin. You can hear "everything." Bed was uncomfortable for back. No microwave. Entry doors are sliding doors which need much updating. After 2 days jacuzzi smelled like a fish tank. Rooms could have been cleaner.

Seems like the management is neglecting everything. Perhaps cutting corners to save costs or just plain cheap. I mean a sealed cheap styrofoam cup obviously torn at the bottom is not going to hold the coffee okay! Only for those with low expectations.

Room Tip: Looks like there are rooms in the building with the office that might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goffstown, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We arrived to a dark empty office. After a minute or two, an employee (owner?) arrived without a smile. By now we had a feeling this wasn't going to be great. We asked to see the 2 rooms first, and we are glad we did. The hallway was narrow, dingy, smelly, dirty carpets, and poorly lit. When we opened the door to the 1st room, we were hit with a strong smell of cat urine. The furnishings look nothing like the web site (not pink and cheerful and clean!). The second room was not much better,except instead of cat urine, it smelled strongly of mold and mildew. We peeked in the room with the hot tub and saw white plastic garbage bags filled with ? piled around the hot tub. We returned to the office and told the person there that the rooms were dirty and we would not be staying - she seemed shocked at our statement. She never said a word to us as we left. The only thing this place may have in common with Roy Rogers and Dale Evans is is that when the song "Happy Trails" was a hit - that may have been the last time the rooms were cleaned!

Room Tip: Smelly and dirty. Carpets in halls and the room were disgusting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

The good - Rooms are spacious and clean with refrigerators but no micro waves. Wifi and about 20 channels of cable are provided. There is a hot tub that is open from 4 to 8 in the afternoon. Ski and stay packages are available for Okemo.

The not so good is that there is absolutly no breakfast or coffee available at the front office. Only a little in room coffee machine had to ride into town every morning to get a cup of coffee.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

we had made reservations through orbitz a week in advance and reserved a 3rd bed (folding roll-away). we got there and first said they were booked full and had no reservations made with orbitz.com. then when we showed them our confirmation paper that luckily we brought, we had to wait 3 hours for them to find us a room, and then they said they couldn't give us the 3rd bed. around 10pm they came knocking on the door and gave us the 3rd bed,which was falling apart and useless, i ended up just using the mattress on the ground. other than that it was reasonably priced, close to the mountain, and town, and passable as far as cleanliness. oh and bring an ethernet cord if you want to go online, no wifi, plus we had to reset their router with our computer from our room because they said they had to get someone to fix it, so hopefully you know about computers if u want internet acess.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We have stayed here every time we ski at Okemo over the last 4 years. Good place to stay if you want to ski all day and just need a place to sleep at night. Rooms are relatively clean and very spacious. There was one time that we did not get hot water in the shower but generally the water quality it good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

We stay at Happy Trails regularly - at least four or five times a year. It is a reasonably-priced option for those of us who want a place to sleep in Ludlow without breaking the bank. We've never experienced the problems other visitors have complained of: our rooms have always been clean and the staff has always been friendly. During ski season, we do occasionally hear other visitors, but that speaks more of the guests' inconsiderate behavior rather than anything over which the owners have control, unless the suggestion is to vet all potential customers, an impossibility for motel staff. We're planning to visit Ludlow again soon, probably April, and we'll be staying at Happy Trails as usual.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Happy Trails Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Trails Motel

Address: 321 Route 103 S, Ludlow, VT 05149
Location: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Happy Trails Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Trails Hotel Ludlow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Trails Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.