We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort and location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson Gore Inn

Save Saved
You added Jackson Gore Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jackson Gore Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   111 Jackson Gore Road, Okemo Mountain Resort, Ludlow, VT 05149   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great resort and location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Jackson Gore Inn for one night in a king bed room w pullout couch and fireplace. It was perfect, definitely request a slopeside room. Location and amenities can't be beat. There is a huge indoor/outdoor pool and hot tubs plus a indoor kids pool with slides, hot tubs, racquetball, exercise rm and classes. Okemo is the most family friendly mountain and Jackson Gore is in the center of all the activities. Everything was clean and not too crowded. We hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    48
    27
    6
    9
See reviews for
83
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I Like Okemo alot. I think they provide a fun environment. The Jackson Gore Inn had a lot for the kids to take in. They had the skiing. There is a decent beginners run right off the lift at the base of the Inn. They had tubing, and ziplining (which we didnt do). They have the bigaloo which to my kids amusement we think someone puked in. (still very cool). They had the mountain coaster, totally fun and amazing, the kids loved it, a must do. They have an amazing outdoor swimming poole which is "heated" , still a little chilly but we let the kids enjoy it as I soaked weary muscles in the nearby hottub. The spring house had a completely indoor pool, nice and warm with a slide. The resturants in the Inn were very good. There is always a real wood fire going outside in the pit and in the lobby which I like. The lobby is nice and festive, lots of people having a beer on the couch near the fire. Really cool smores kits you can purchase from the bar. Lots of loveable New Yorkers with their families. The people were a mix of wealthy people who must be there every week and crunchy ski bums who might also find some way to be there every week. Parking was convenient. Overall, a really good experience, but... (wait for it) expensive. No 2 ways around it. I had to get away and decided to incur some debt but overall, it was worth it. The staff were all very nice. I wish check in time was earlier but I'd recommend it to anyone. We got the cheapest, smallest studio room. It was fine but we were stepping on each other. More then 2 nights and we would have had the 4 of us at each others throats.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, New Hampshire, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at the Jackson Gore Inn over NH vacation week - nice hotel with only a couple of drawbacks. We checked in at the front desk, and received our room keys, which also provide access to underground parking area. Unfortunately, we were given the wrong room number (twice), and entered a room that was occupied - thankfully, nobody was there. After getting the correct room, the accommodations were adequate for a standard hotel room. I was very surprised that there was an old 19" TV (not an LCD), so that was disappointing, but they did provide a DVD player. The main drawback to the inn was the lack of restaurants/coffee shops after 4:30pm. The main Roundhouse cafeteria closes when the ski day is over, and the only option for eating is the Coleman Brook Tavern, which is "fine dining" and not very kid-friendly. Most of the other restaurants at this base lodge and the Clock Tower base lodge are only open on weekends and holidays. They do have a shuttle, which we did not use, but it's convenient enough to drive. The daily ski check is great, and the rentals were discounted for staying at the inn. Another drawback was that no ticket windows were open during the weekdays, so we had to wait in line with all the people renting equipment, which took a half hour out of each ski day. They have a nice pool/exercise building, including a racquetball court. We spent a lot of time at the huge outdoor heated pool, and two outdoor hot tubs. We were in the main inn building, so we were able to walk indoors to the pool, but they do have changing rooms. Beware of the hours - the pool doesn't open until 1pm on weekdays. Overall, it's a nice and convenient place to stay, and Okemo Mountain is a great ski area (119 trails) - we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Jackson Gore Inn, as opposed to the Bixby or Adams Houses, which are the adjac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here this past week - NH vacation week. Family of 5. The underground heated garage and bell service made unloading a snap. The ski check is great. Walk to the lift and ski your legs off - we also skied back for lunch each day. The room was clean, everything worked, the kitchen could have used some additional bowls, pans, and utensils though. The maid service was very good. The outdoor pool and hottubs were fantastic - there were also a steam room and sauna. No crowds whatsoever. There is a BIGLOO which the kids loved and a fire in the center area and a big hill of snow which the kids slid down. We did not use the ice rink but it looked ok. We did not use the indoor pool either or the fitness room but those were nice as well. Again the underground garage and bell service made loading very easy. We will most likely go again.
In general, the hotel was really nice and provided for a great ski experience.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a great view. A view of the ski area would have been much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We rented a 4 bedroom condo and couln't be more happy. There was so much living space. We had a kitchen, washer & dryer and 3 bathrooms. Skis were kept in ski room on first floor. The lift was there as was the ski school for the children. Service was very good. Rooms were cleaned well each day. We had breakfast in condo, lunch in cafeteria, dinner in hotel. Restaurants could have been better. Food expensive but convient with kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westport
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just got back from 4 nights at the Jackson Gore Inn at Okemo. We had a great time. The hill has come a long way from the ol' Poma days of yore.

The Hotel:

The Jackson Gore inn has the feel off an off-piste Condo complex in Avon or Edwards. It has a serviceable lobby with bar, an "upscale" tavern, a cafeteria, and the obligatory italian restaurant. The hotel has an attached outdoor heated pool (all-season, with indoor entry), and two outdoor 12-seat hot tubs, one indoor hottub, a steamroom and sauna. There is a mandatory (but free) ski check. There is daycare on the first floor, and children's ski lessons meet in the building as well. There is also a small convenience store and ski shop in case you left the simple things at home.

Having all the amenities under one roof is massively convenient, especially for families. Once you have your shopping taken care of there is little reason to leave the Inn. We didn't even make it to the "Spring House" pool complex next door, since the Inn's pool was so convenient (if a bit chilly). Having the daycare and lessons meeting area in the building made mornings very, very easy on Mom and Dad. The in-Inn (hehe) eating options were serviceable, but far from fine dining. The lobby bar gets PACKED from about 3pm to 8pm - it appears to draw quite a few people who are staying elsewhere, getting their legs back before heading out to farther-flung condos.

The hotel staff seems a bit overwhelmed, but maintains a great attitude in the face of type-A NYers and Bostonites screaming bloody murder about every minor inconvenience. [We personally witnessed two parental tantrums, one of which involved a grown woman throwing her kid's skis in disgust over some miscommunication, and whining that she was "tired of picking up things." sigh...] You might wait awhile for a bellman on changeover day, and you might have to wait in a line for something. If you can't handle that, you might have problems. We found the whole experience very pleasant.

The Room

This is a tale of two rooms. The "One bedroom suite" which appears to be the most popular option consists of a "studio" and an adjoining "bedroom".

The "bedroom" is a standard-size two-double bed hotel room - Holiday Inn size. The beds are nice enough, the bathroom has a very nice deep jet tub (not luxury, mind you, but nice) and there is an area at the entrance to hang ski equipment - as well as two large closets. HOWEVER - the TV is an old tube model, housed in a wardrobe cabinet at the foot of the beds. There is no more than 14 inches of clearance between the beds and the wardrobe, making the room feel VERY cramped. It is actually hard for two adults to find space to gear up in the bedroom, let alone the 4 that could theoretically sleep there.

The "bedroom" adjoins (via two lockout doors) the "studio". This room feels like a standard condo living room, with a flat screen TV above a gas fireplace, an (uncomfortable) sleeper couch, an armchair, a coffee table, and a four-seat table. The galley kitchen is well-equipped and has a dishwasher. There is also a murphy bed housed in an attractive wooden "cabinet" against the wall. The "studio" has a standard bathroom with tub, a gear area, and two closets (one in the bathroom).

Our little family of four was pretty comfortable in the suite, with the exception of the very cramped bedroom. I honestly can't imagine packing in the 8ppl that could theoretically sleep in the four beds - people would have to sit on the floor or folding chairs, and would be all over each other in the mornings. Add to that some (apparently common) thermostat issues which kept the temp in the rooms at 74 or above unless a window was opened, and you have a recipe for a nice big family fight. Maybe a batchelor weekend or college outing could hack it, but I think 5 is about the sane limit for this config.

With a holiday-week per-night price of $750, the overall experience is fantastic, but the room itself leaves a bit to be desired for a new construction time-share property. Off season or midweek, the price drops substantially, which makes the whole package much more attractive.

A note on Okemo:

Okemo doesn't get much respect, which I don't quite understand. It is a little light on amenities for the price, and lacks the old-world charm of Stowe or Sugarbush, but it also lacks the crowds. Even during peak weeks, there is plenty of space on the mountain to find some unmolested turns, and there is rarely a substantial lift line. There is a wide variety of terrain, including glades and nicely structured bump runs. The ski school is great for kids, and the staff is uniformly pleasant and friendly. Sure, Stratton is a bit closer to NYC, but escaping the crowds seems worth the extra 10 minutes of driving. As a father of a 6yo and 3yo, the lack of finer dining options frankly doesn't bug me, either. I'm sacked out by 9pm anyway. If you are with a family and you came to ski, this is a great little mountain.

Room Tip: Facing the mountain is great for people-watching, but the valley view from the other side is spectac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, Brazil
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We've picked up the midweek madness stay and ski package. It can't get more convenient. The room was gigantic enough, the staff was kind and the most important thing: you're two steps away from the lift. No lines, no parking. Just check your skis and be happy. I read some reviews complaining about the noise during the night (snow making and grooming). Yes, that's true. But come on! You're sleeping by the slopes!!

I also wouldn't recommend this place if you're a first timer. The carpet trail is very short and when it gets easy (and it does get easy after a couple of hours), the next green option is not very welcoming. In this case you'd better stay close to the main base, where there're many options of nicer green trails at the slow ski area.

The restaurants were too pricey for the quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jackson Gore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson Gore Inn

Address: 111 Jackson Gore Road, Okemo Mountain Resort, Ludlow, VT 05149
Location: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jackson Gore Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jackson Gore Village includes a variety of beautiful, classic and luxurious residences. In addition to the original Jackson Gore Inn, the adjacent Adams House and Bixby House offer larger, more spacious units with the newest furnishings in an ideal setting. Options include standard and executive rooms, studios, one and two-bedroom suites (some with lofts), up to 3-bedroom penthouses. Most units have a jetted tub and all have entertainment centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Jackson Gore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson Gore Hotel Ludlow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson Gore Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.