We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Fun, Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson Gore Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jackson Gore Inn to your Saves list
Jackson Gore Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   111 Jackson Gore Road, Okemo Mountain Resort, Ludlow, VT 05149   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Fun, Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I Like Okemo alot. I think they provide a fun environment. The Jackson Gore Inn had a lot for the kids to take in. They had the skiing. There is a decent beginners run right off the lift at the base of the Inn. They had tubing, and ziplining (which we didnt do). They have the bigaloo which to my kids amusement we think someone puked in. (still very cool). They had the mountain coaster, totally fun and amazing, the kids loved it, a must do. They have an amazing outdoor swimming poole which is "heated" , still a little chilly but we let the kids enjoy it as I soaked weary muscles in the nearby hottub. The spring house had a completely indoor pool, nice and warm with a slide. The resturants in the Inn were very good. There is always a real wood fire going outside in the pit and in the lobby which I like. The lobby is nice and festive, lots of people having a beer on the couch near the fire. Really cool smores kits you can purchase from the bar. Lots of loveable New Yorkers with their families. The people were a mix of wealthy people who must be there every week and crunchy ski bums who might also find some way to be there every week. Parking was convenient. Overall, a really good experience, but... (wait for it) expensive. No 2 ways around it. I had to get away and decided to incur some debt but overall, it was worth it. The staff were all very nice. I wish check in time was earlier but I'd recommend it to anyone. We got the cheapest, smallest studio room. It was fine but we were stepping on each other. More then 2 nights and we would have had the 4 of us at each others throats.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    54
    29
    7
    10
See reviews for
87
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratham, New Hampshire, United States
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at the Jackson Gore Inn over NH vacation week - nice hotel with only a couple of drawbacks. We checked in at the front desk, and received our room keys, which also provide access to underground parking area. Unfortunately, we were given the wrong room number (twice), and entered a room that was occupied - thankfully, nobody was there. After getting the correct room, the accommodations were adequate for a standard hotel room. I was very surprised that there was an old 19" TV (not an LCD), so that was disappointing, but they did provide a DVD player. The main drawback to the inn was the lack of restaurants/coffee shops after 4:30pm. The main Roundhouse cafeteria closes when the ski day is over, and the only option for eating is the Coleman Brook Tavern, which is "fine dining" and not very kid-friendly. Most of the other restaurants at this base lodge and the Clock Tower base lodge are only open on weekends and holidays. They do have a shuttle, which we did not use, but it's convenient enough to drive. The daily ski check is great, and the rentals were discounted for staying at the inn. Another drawback was that no ticket windows were open during the weekdays, so we had to wait in line with all the people renting equipment, which took a half hour out of each ski day. They have a nice pool/exercise building, including a racquetball court. We spent a lot of time at the huge outdoor heated pool, and two outdoor hot tubs. We were in the main inn building, so we were able to walk indoors to the pool, but they do have changing rooms. Beware of the hours - the pool doesn't open until 1pm on weekdays. Overall, it's a nice and convenient place to stay, and Okemo Mountain is a great ski area (119 trails) - we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Jackson Gore Inn, as opposed to the Bixby or Adams Houses, which are the adjac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here this past week - NH vacation week. Family of 5. The underground heated garage and bell service made unloading a snap. The ski check is great. Walk to the lift and ski your legs off - we also skied back for lunch each day. The room was clean, everything worked, the kitchen could have used some additional bowls, pans, and utensils though. The maid service was very good. The outdoor pool and hottubs were fantastic - there were also a steam room and sauna. No crowds whatsoever. There is a BIGLOO which the kids loved and a fire in the center area and a big hill of snow which the kids slid down. We did not use the ice rink but it looked ok. We did not use the indoor pool either or the fitness room but those were nice as well. Again the underground garage and bell service made loading very easy. We will most likely go again.
In general, the hotel was really nice and provided for a great ski experience.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a great view. A view of the ski area would have been much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We rented a 4 bedroom condo and couln't be more happy. There was so much living space. We had a kitchen, washer & dryer and 3 bathrooms. Skis were kept in ski room on first floor. The lift was there as was the ski school for the children. Service was very good. Rooms were cleaned well each day. We had breakfast in condo, lunch in cafeteria, dinner in hotel. Restaurants could have been better. Food expensive but convient with kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westport
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just got back from 4 nights at the Jackson Gore Inn at Okemo. We had a great time. The hill has come a long way from the ol' Poma days of yore.

The Hotel:

The Jackson Gore inn has the feel off an off-piste Condo complex in Avon or Edwards. It has a serviceable lobby with bar, an "upscale" tavern, a cafeteria, and the obligatory italian restaurant. The hotel has an attached outdoor heated pool (all-season, with indoor entry), and two outdoor 12-seat hot tubs, one indoor hottub, a steamroom and sauna. There is a mandatory (but free) ski check. There is daycare on the first floor, and children's ski lessons meet in the building as well. There is also a small convenience store and ski shop in case you left the simple things at home.

Having all the amenities under one roof is massively convenient, especially for families. Once you have your shopping taken care of there is little reason to leave the Inn. We didn't even make it to the "Spring House" pool complex next door, since the Inn's pool was so convenient (if a bit chilly). Having the daycare and lessons meeting area in the building made mornings very, very easy on Mom and Dad. The in-Inn (hehe) eating options were serviceable, but far from fine dining. The lobby bar gets PACKED from about 3pm to 8pm - it appears to draw quite a few people who are staying elsewhere, getting their legs back before heading out to farther-flung condos.

The hotel staff seems a bit overwhelmed, but maintains a great attitude in the face of type-A NYers and Bostonites screaming bloody murder about every minor inconvenience. [We personally witnessed two parental tantrums, one of which involved a grown woman throwing her kid's skis in disgust over some miscommunication, and whining that she was "tired of picking up things." sigh...] You might wait awhile for a bellman on changeover day, and you might have to wait in a line for something. If you can't handle that, you might have problems. We found the whole experience very pleasant.

The Room

This is a tale of two rooms. The "One bedroom suite" which appears to be the most popular option consists of a "studio" and an adjoining "bedroom".

The "bedroom" is a standard-size two-double bed hotel room - Holiday Inn size. The beds are nice enough, the bathroom has a very nice deep jet tub (not luxury, mind you, but nice) and there is an area at the entrance to hang ski equipment - as well as two large closets. HOWEVER - the TV is an old tube model, housed in a wardrobe cabinet at the foot of the beds. There is no more than 14 inches of clearance between the beds and the wardrobe, making the room feel VERY cramped. It is actually hard for two adults to find space to gear up in the bedroom, let alone the 4 that could theoretically sleep there.

The "bedroom" adjoins (via two lockout doors) the "studio". This room feels like a standard condo living room, with a flat screen TV above a gas fireplace, an (uncomfortable) sleeper couch, an armchair, a coffee table, and a four-seat table. The galley kitchen is well-equipped and has a dishwasher. There is also a murphy bed housed in an attractive wooden "cabinet" against the wall. The "studio" has a standard bathroom with tub, a gear area, and two closets (one in the bathroom).

Our little family of four was pretty comfortable in the suite, with the exception of the very cramped bedroom. I honestly can't imagine packing in the 8ppl that could theoretically sleep in the four beds - people would have to sit on the floor or folding chairs, and would be all over each other in the mornings. Add to that some (apparently common) thermostat issues which kept the temp in the rooms at 74 or above unless a window was opened, and you have a recipe for a nice big family fight. Maybe a batchelor weekend or college outing could hack it, but I think 5 is about the sane limit for this config.

With a holiday-week per-night price of $750, the overall experience is fantastic, but the room itself leaves a bit to be desired for a new construction time-share property. Off season or midweek, the price drops substantially, which makes the whole package much more attractive.

A note on Okemo:

Okemo doesn't get much respect, which I don't quite understand. It is a little light on amenities for the price, and lacks the old-world charm of Stowe or Sugarbush, but it also lacks the crowds. Even during peak weeks, there is plenty of space on the mountain to find some unmolested turns, and there is rarely a substantial lift line. There is a wide variety of terrain, including glades and nicely structured bump runs. The ski school is great for kids, and the staff is uniformly pleasant and friendly. Sure, Stratton is a bit closer to NYC, but escaping the crowds seems worth the extra 10 minutes of driving. As a father of a 6yo and 3yo, the lack of finer dining options frankly doesn't bug me, either. I'm sacked out by 9pm anyway. If you are with a family and you came to ski, this is a great little mountain.

Room Tip: Facing the mountain is great for people-watching, but the valley view from the other side is spectac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, Brazil
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We've picked up the midweek madness stay and ski package. It can't get more convenient. The room was gigantic enough, the staff was kind and the most important thing: you're two steps away from the lift. No lines, no parking. Just check your skis and be happy. I read some reviews complaining about the noise during the night (snow making and grooming). Yes, that's true. But come on! You're sleeping by the slopes!!

I also wouldn't recommend this place if you're a first timer. The carpet trail is very short and when it gets easy (and it does get easy after a couple of hours), the next green option is not very welcoming. In this case you'd better stay close to the main base, where there're many options of nicer green trails at the slow ski area.

The restaurants were too pricey for the quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Jackson Gore Inn, our second stay in three years, and the first in the main Jackson Gore Building. We had a two bedroom loft condo on the 4th floor. We stayed during the coldest stretch of days for probably the entire winter, and we could not have picked a more convenient location. Upon checkin by the helpful and friendly front desk, we were able to drop our skis at the ski check, which we would drop off our skis at the end of each day and pickup each morning. We parked in the underground garage beneath the building and headed up to our condo - underground is huge with a packed car, 4 kids, and a negative windchill. The condo was perfect. The loft area served as a third bedroom for some of our kids, which allowed the kids to get good sleep. The living area was very comfortable, with a gas fireplace and plenty of seating. The kitchen was well stocked - although I never like cooking with electric :), and we made our breakfasts and dinners each night. The place was clean, the linens fresh, mattresses were good. The only downside was no washer and dryer in the condo (which we did have when we stayed at the Bixby House two buildings down), but there were coin operated laundry facilities one floor down.

On the bitterest of days, there is no greater convenience, then being able to get to Daycare without having to go outside! We loved that we could go right downstairs, and be at Daycare, or walk 10 yards to Ski School, or 5 yards to Ski Check. The Roundhouse was a great place to get lunch every day, or a quick snack before it closed. We didn't utilize the Coleman Brook Restauarant this trip, but have in the past and it's excellent. Indoor pool and hottub were available as well, although we didn't partake - too tired from a day fo skiing - we saw many families enjoying it both in the Inn and about 25 yards away at the Spring House. There were a lot of great activities for the whole family, that we didn't partake this time such as tubing and the roller coaster (which is fun!), and plenty of restaurants nearby. The Corner Store was convenient when we needed to refill with some necessities for kids and adults, and the equipment store had everything we needed to make sure we could ski comfortably.

We didn't get back in our car until it was time to leave, which is a great trip in my book. Facilities were great, skiing was fine (it was bitter cold, so conditions were icy), staff was excellent and we will go back.

Room Tip: If you can request a view of the mountain, it's great, but even looking at the parking lot is fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jackson Gore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson Gore Inn

Address: 111 Jackson Gore Road, Okemo Mountain Resort, Ludlow, VT 05149
Location: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jackson Gore Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jackson Gore Village includes a variety of beautiful, classic and luxurious residences. In addition to the original Jackson Gore Inn, the adjacent Adams House and Bixby House offer larger, more spacious units with the newest furnishings in an ideal setting. Options include standard and executive rooms, studios, one and two-bedroom suites (some with lofts), up to 3-bedroom penthouses. Most units have a jetted tub and all have entertainment centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jackson Gore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson Gore Hotel Ludlow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson Gore Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.