We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of 4 - One Bedroom "suite"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson Gore Inn

Save Saved
You added Jackson Gore Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jackson Gore Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   111 Jackson Gore Road, Okemo Mountain Resort, Ludlow, VT 05149   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Ludlow B&B and Inns
westport
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Family of 4 - One Bedroom "suite"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just got back from 4 nights at the Jackson Gore Inn at Okemo. We had a great time. The hill has come a long way from the ol' Poma days of yore.

The Hotel:

The Jackson Gore inn has the feel off an off-piste Condo complex in Avon or Edwards. It has a serviceable lobby with bar, an "upscale" tavern, a cafeteria, and the obligatory italian restaurant. The hotel has an attached outdoor heated pool (all-season, with indoor entry), and two outdoor 12-seat hot tubs, one indoor hottub, a steamroom and sauna. There is a mandatory (but free) ski check. There is daycare on the first floor, and children's ski lessons meet in the building as well. There is also a small convenience store and ski shop in case you left the simple things at home.

Having all the amenities under one roof is massively convenient, especially for families. Once you have your shopping taken care of there is little reason to leave the Inn. We didn't even make it to the "Spring House" pool complex next door, since the Inn's pool was so convenient (if a bit chilly). Having the daycare and lessons meeting area in the building made mornings very, very easy on Mom and Dad. The in-Inn (hehe) eating options were serviceable, but far from fine dining. The lobby bar gets PACKED from about 3pm to 8pm - it appears to draw quite a few people who are staying elsewhere, getting their legs back before heading out to farther-flung condos.

The hotel staff seems a bit overwhelmed, but maintains a great attitude in the face of type-A NYers and Bostonites screaming bloody murder about every minor inconvenience. [We personally witnessed two parental tantrums, one of which involved a grown woman throwing her kid's skis in disgust over some miscommunication, and whining that she was "tired of picking up things." sigh...] You might wait awhile for a bellman on changeover day, and you might have to wait in a line for something. If you can't handle that, you might have problems. We found the whole experience very pleasant.

The Room

This is a tale of two rooms. The "One bedroom suite" which appears to be the most popular option consists of a "studio" and an adjoining "bedroom".

The "bedroom" is a standard-size two-double bed hotel room - Holiday Inn size. The beds are nice enough, the bathroom has a very nice deep jet tub (not luxury, mind you, but nice) and there is an area at the entrance to hang ski equipment - as well as two large closets. HOWEVER - the TV is an old tube model, housed in a wardrobe cabinet at the foot of the beds. There is no more than 14 inches of clearance between the beds and the wardrobe, making the room feel VERY cramped. It is actually hard for two adults to find space to gear up in the bedroom, let alone the 4 that could theoretically sleep there.

The "bedroom" adjoins (via two lockout doors) the "studio". This room feels like a standard condo living room, with a flat screen TV above a gas fireplace, an (uncomfortable) sleeper couch, an armchair, a coffee table, and a four-seat table. The galley kitchen is well-equipped and has a dishwasher. There is also a murphy bed housed in an attractive wooden "cabinet" against the wall. The "studio" has a standard bathroom with tub, a gear area, and two closets (one in the bathroom).

Our little family of four was pretty comfortable in the suite, with the exception of the very cramped bedroom. I honestly can't imagine packing in the 8ppl that could theoretically sleep in the four beds - people would have to sit on the floor or folding chairs, and would be all over each other in the mornings. Add to that some (apparently common) thermostat issues which kept the temp in the rooms at 74 or above unless a window was opened, and you have a recipe for a nice big family fight. Maybe a batchelor weekend or college outing could hack it, but I think 5 is about the sane limit for this config.

With a holiday-week per-night price of $750, the overall experience is fantastic, but the room itself leaves a bit to be desired for a new construction time-share property. Off season or midweek, the price drops substantially, which makes the whole package much more attractive.

A note on Okemo:

Okemo doesn't get much respect, which I don't quite understand. It is a little light on amenities for the price, and lacks the old-world charm of Stowe or Sugarbush, but it also lacks the crowds. Even during peak weeks, there is plenty of space on the mountain to find some unmolested turns, and there is rarely a substantial lift line. There is a wide variety of terrain, including glades and nicely structured bump runs. The ski school is great for kids, and the staff is uniformly pleasant and friendly. Sure, Stratton is a bit closer to NYC, but escaping the crowds seems worth the extra 10 minutes of driving. As a father of a 6yo and 3yo, the lack of finer dining options frankly doesn't bug me, either. I'm sacked out by 9pm anyway. If you are with a family and you came to ski, this is a great little mountain.

Room Tip: Facing the mountain is great for people-watching, but the valley view from the other side is spectac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    49
    27
    6
    9
See reviews for
84
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niteroi, Brazil
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We've picked up the midweek madness stay and ski package. It can't get more convenient. The room was gigantic enough, the staff was kind and the most important thing: you're two steps away from the lift. No lines, no parking. Just check your skis and be happy. I read some reviews complaining about the noise during the night (snow making and grooming). Yes, that's true. But come on! You're sleeping by the slopes!!

I also wouldn't recommend this place if you're a first timer. The carpet trail is very short and when it gets easy (and it does get easy after a couple of hours), the next green option is not very welcoming. In this case you'd better stay close to the main base, where there're many options of nicer green trails at the slow ski area.

The restaurants were too pricey for the quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Jackson Gore Inn, our second stay in three years, and the first in the main Jackson Gore Building. We had a two bedroom loft condo on the 4th floor. We stayed during the coldest stretch of days for probably the entire winter, and we could not have picked a more convenient location. Upon checkin by the helpful and friendly front desk, we were able to drop our skis at the ski check, which we would drop off our skis at the end of each day and pickup each morning. We parked in the underground garage beneath the building and headed up to our condo - underground is huge with a packed car, 4 kids, and a negative windchill. The condo was perfect. The loft area served as a third bedroom for some of our kids, which allowed the kids to get good sleep. The living area was very comfortable, with a gas fireplace and plenty of seating. The kitchen was well stocked - although I never like cooking with electric :), and we made our breakfasts and dinners each night. The place was clean, the linens fresh, mattresses were good. The only downside was no washer and dryer in the condo (which we did have when we stayed at the Bixby House two buildings down), but there were coin operated laundry facilities one floor down.

On the bitterest of days, there is no greater convenience, then being able to get to Daycare without having to go outside! We loved that we could go right downstairs, and be at Daycare, or walk 10 yards to Ski School, or 5 yards to Ski Check. The Roundhouse was a great place to get lunch every day, or a quick snack before it closed. We didn't utilize the Coleman Brook Restauarant this trip, but have in the past and it's excellent. Indoor pool and hottub were available as well, although we didn't partake - too tired from a day fo skiing - we saw many families enjoying it both in the Inn and about 25 yards away at the Spring House. There were a lot of great activities for the whole family, that we didn't partake this time such as tubing and the roller coaster (which is fun!), and plenty of restaurants nearby. The Corner Store was convenient when we needed to refill with some necessities for kids and adults, and the equipment store had everything we needed to make sure we could ski comfortably.

We didn't get back in our car until it was time to leave, which is a great trip in my book. Facilities were great, skiing was fine (it was bitter cold, so conditions were icy), staff was excellent and we will go back.

Room Tip: If you can request a view of the mountain, it's great, but even looking at the parking lot is fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Rooms clean and well appointed with complete kitchen fireplace jacuzzi and good views. Location ski in ski out
A Colorado like resort and a not bad mountain if you hit snow and sun
Try to avoid the weekends for less running in the halls and crowds in the hot tubs

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Was here for a couple of nights during a tour. When we got into our room we were so amazed by how big it was! Or maybe luck was just on our side. It was almost as big as our house! The room given to us had 2 rooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen complete with refrigerator, plates, etc., you can even do laundry in your room, it also has a living room, a fireplace, and a balcony. We only expected a simple room for our tour and then we got this! My family and I were so happy!

We were here during fall so the view in the balcony was really pretty.

The only problem we had during our stay was the paper thin ceiling. There were children running on the upper floor and we couldn't get a shut eye.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Your staff are EXTRAORDINARILY ill-informed on the hours and amenities of the facilities. I called the front desk to confirm on various occasions the hours of the steam room in the main Jackson Gore building - specifying that I did not mean the Spring House. Each time, and by different employees, I was assured that it opened at 10:00 am. When I did make it down there, the whole spa was closed and a woman at the front desk told me it was only the Spring House that opened at 10:00 and the main building spa does not open until 1:00pm. After going to the Sauna at the Spring House instead, it was off and there was no employee around to ask for help. Furthermore, when I got back to my room, the other people staying with me said they had just returned from the main building steam room and a maintanence person simply let them it.

Additionally, upon making this reservation over 4 months ago, I was overly and bordering on annoyingly clear that we wanted to be in the main building, as one of our guests would not be skiing and we wanted to give her an easy trip to the lobby/ bar/ restaurant/ spa. We were assured that we were in the main building, yet when we arrived on January 7th we were not in the main building and were told that we must not have been clear with our request.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okemomountain, Manager at Jackson Gore Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. I am very sorry that our staff was unable to provide you with the correct hours of operation at the Steam Room. In early January many of our ski season staff members have only been with us for a couple of weeks and it is clear that we must give them better tools to answer some questions. With regard to the location of your accommodations, we do the best we can to honor specific requests but many variables can impact that ability. I am sorry we were unable to meet your specific location request but be assured we always try our hardest to accomplish these.

Charlie Dickerman
Manager, Jackson Gore Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Jackson Gore Inn for 4 days, 3 nights. The inn room we had was small but so clean and comfortable. The Inn staff is top notch. The location is perfect. A ski lift was right outside and we had plenty of choices for things to do and places to eat. This Inn is very family friendly, therefore there are lots of children and young families around who take advantage of the beautiful lounge and the fun fact that you can order s'mores from the lounge and have them by the fire. We did not have our grown children with us but if we did they also have family suites available to accomodate all of us. Overall we would recommend this Inn and will very likely be back! :)

Room Tip: You can ask for trailside and they try to accomodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jackson Gore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson Gore Inn

Address: 111 Jackson Gore Road, Okemo Mountain Resort, Ludlow, VT 05149
Location: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jackson Gore Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jackson Gore Village includes a variety of beautiful, classic and luxurious residences. In addition to the original Jackson Gore Inn, the adjacent Adams House and Bixby House offer larger, more spacious units with the newest furnishings in an ideal setting. Options include standard and executive rooms, studios, one and two-bedroom suites (some with lofts), up to 3-bedroom penthouses. Most units have a jetted tub and all have entertainment centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Jackson Gore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson Gore Hotel Ludlow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson Gore Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.