We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Ski Season and stay at Jackson Gore” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson Gore Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jackson Gore Inn to your Saves list
Jackson Gore Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   111 Jackson Gore Road, Okemo Mountain Resort, Ludlow, VT 05149   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Ludlow B&B and Inns
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing Ski Season and stay at Jackson Gore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed at the resort during the Christmas holiday. We hesitated if we should go since there was not much snow in VT. Regardless we decided to visit Ludlow and stay at Jackson Gore. We were confirmed for a room facing the mountain but the front desk staff did not accommodate our family. The resort did not have ice skating or tubing available due to the weather, but what surprised us the most was they did not have unique activities to offset lack of snow. The bonfire was not available during our stay which surprised us given they always have it open with marshmallows. The rooms were clean, but small. We just did not feel that the staff, especially the front desk, were accommodating given so many people spent lots of money to stay at the resort while ski conditions were average/poor.

Room Tip: Select the top floor so that you are not awaken by people getting ready for skiing early am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    54
    29
    7
    10
See reviews for
87
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tx
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights on a Trafalgar tour. I loved this hotel. New and clean! Rooms were not huge but large enough for 2 people. Tvs were small and outdated. Loved having a whirlpool bath and they offered great bathroom amenities. Staff was great! Its a large facility so be prepared to walk! I would stay here again in a second!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed 2 nights here and love the property. There are enough facilities - pool, tennis courts, miniature golfing, a huge gym etc with great sceneries too. Rooms are clean and very comfortable. Great place for families or break.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We often stay up at Jackson Gore, and this past trip was no different. It's a great place for families with children. There is so much to do for them, even in the fall. Hiking, indoor/outdoor pool, tennis, miniature golf and of course the Timber Ripper coaster. The kids love it.
We had a 2 bedroom suite which was plenty of room for our party of 6. The room was clean and spacious. The only complaint would be the bedding. Jackson Gore is not cheap, and at those prices they should have better bedding.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We reserved two studio rooms which were clean and quite spacious but do contain a steep flight of stairs, not ideal for young children or the elderly (we had my 82 year old Mum with us!). The pool is great, outside hot tubs not hot enough - same temperature as pool, and neither bubble. The inside hot tub is lovely and warm and does have bubbles. Great steam room, sauna was not working. There were no staff on duty in this area of the hotel. The hotel markets itself as a luxury resort but that was not our experience in 3 separate trips to this hotel at different times of the year. The biggest disappointment this time was the restaurant. Very, very slow service, we ate there three times and each time it took an eternity to receive our order, in the range of 45 minutes. Our food was returned twice last night for being cold and my mother's grilled chicken was raw - to their credit the staff replaced the chicken and the three adult meals were not added to the final bill. This is a condo type hotel, there is no room service, valet etc and this is all fine, but they charge 4 star prices so be aware. The situation is beautiful, definitely venture into the village of Ludlow for food. The place is very different in the ski season, I guess they are better staffed and have a professional chef?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We had to evacuate a lake house during the hurricane and were lucky to make it to Jackson Gore. They easily took our family in, making us feel welcome and safe. Our room was beautiful, clean and comfortable. The staff stayed thru the storm as most could not get home. They took on jobs they did not normally do, always with a good attitude. While they, their friends and families were suffering with the devastation in Vermont, each staff member was always more than willing to help out and try to figure a road plan for the many vacationers trying to get back home. Beautiful hotel, pool, restaurant and bar. Staff, priceless. Thank you! We will encourage anyone to visit your Inn, and please support Vermont as they recover from so much damage.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We came here in July for a long weekend get away. The website for the Jackson Gore Inn markets itself as an upscale resort but it failed to deliver in a couple aspects. Our room was in the Adams house and it was very large and clean. It was clearly designed for ski patrons as there is a large closet and private hallway as soon as you enter your room which given all the equipment one may have for skiing makes sense. The bedroom was very large with a comfortable king bed, one small desk, one dresser, a nightstand on each side of the bed, and a small table. Because the room didn't have a lot of art on the wall combined with all the empty space, it resulted in an echo effect when you talked. The tv in the room was a tiny flat screen which wasn't a big deal for us. The bathroom was also big with whirlpool tub, separate shower (cramped similar to one a cruise ship), and a large counter with 2 sinks. The water pressure was good but the water in the tub drained very slowly and backed up when you took a shower. The staff at the resort were super friendly, especially at the spa. The outdoor pool was nice as was the gym. We ate dinner the Coleman Brooke Tavern which was a complete fiasco. Part of our package included dinner and it took over two and half hours to complete a simple three course meal. we literally had to chase our waitress down to get any service. Ridiculous. There were only 2 wait staff on the floor as everyone else had been pulled off to work on the outside grill at the free concert. Clearly management didn't plan properly for the event and the customers in the tavern suffered because of it. Overall the Jackson Gore in is a nice place but over priced given what you get - basic accommodations and a resort that lacks a large enough staff for proper service

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jackson Gore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson Gore Inn

Address: 111 Jackson Gore Road, Okemo Mountain Resort, Ludlow, VT 05149
Location: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jackson Gore Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jackson Gore Village includes a variety of beautiful, classic and luxurious residences. In addition to the original Jackson Gore Inn, the adjacent Adams House and Bixby House offer larger, more spacious units with the newest furnishings in an ideal setting. Options include standard and executive rooms, studios, one and two-bedroom suites (some with lofts), up to 3-bedroom penthouses. Most units have a jetted tub and all have entertainment centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jackson Gore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson Gore Hotel Ludlow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson Gore Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.