We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not cracked up to our expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hatchery

The Hatchery
164 Main Street, Ludlow, VT 05149
802-228-2311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 40 Restaurants in Ludlow
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not cracked up to our expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Breakfast was okay, but somewhat overpriced, and the coffee was lukewarm. Credit/debit cards are not accepted and there is no atm on the premises.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    51
    24
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Yummy Sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a really good mushroom and onion soup here. Interesting sandwiches which were also very good. Reasonably priced but bring cash, no plastic here.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartford
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Average breakfast for too much money. The restaurant hasn't been updated since I was there 30 years ago. I found the prices very steep for what you get. The greasy breakfast.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We ate there twice and were not disappointed. Great breakfast dishes and everything was hot. Lunch sandwishes were also tasty and some were unusual.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, MA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not up to the reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

On Labor day my wife and I stopped there for breakfast. I ordered the Corn Beef Hash and eggs. The hash can best be described as mashed potatoes with pureed corn beef. More like a mush than anything else. The toast was way over done and had to be scraped to remove the black sections. On the plus side my wife's Vermonter omelet was done well, but that did not make up for what was a sub par breakfast. Also expensive for breakfast. There are better choices in town. And be advised they take cash only, not credit cards or checks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hatchery also viewed

 

Been to The Hatchery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hatchery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.