We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Comfortabel Clean Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson Gore Ski Area

Jackson Gore Ski Area
Ludlow, VT
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 Attractions in Ludlow
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opening in the 2003-04 winter season, this new addition to the Okemo mountain area features trails reminiscent of classic New England with sweeping turns and gently curves.
Putney, Vermont
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food and Comfortabel Clean Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We prefer Jackson Gore to the Base Side at Okemo as the lunches are fabulous and the lodge is well situated and great for families to come in and out. The ski school is easily accessed and the instructors are wonderful with kids and adults of all ages.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    14
    4
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Get Your ski on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Best place for family skiing. The mountain is groomed nightly. The trails are diverse. All the people are friendly.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Snow Fun for the entire family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I took the family to Okemo for Presidents day school recess...Jackson Gore is the perfect place to partake in the winter sports for all ages and beginers! it was my son's first time and the magic carpet was the most perfect setting for him. For us the adults not so great being that you needed to be mindful of the other smaller skiers and snowboarders but taking the lift up to the mountain made up for that. Very affordable rentals and as a beginer the magic carpet is FREE! your best bet is to purchase the full day ski package (awesome pricing). not to mention that the snow coaster is most fun along with snowtubing!! I highly recommend this area to the family who loves winter activities!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic for kids.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Went for mid week madness special with my family. We stayed in a studio with a kitchen which for the price was a great option. Room had a queen bed and a pull out sofa. Pull out was what u expect, not the best nights sleep of your life but that is what I expect from a pull out. All kids activities are right out the door lessons, snow tubing, roller coaster, big loo are all steps away. Pool area is included with stay and after a day of skiing my kids went wild for pool area while parents enjoyed the hot tub. Multiple magic carpets for kids learning and great terrain to expand to.

Overall a great trip and a great deal would highly recommend staying here if u have young kids learning to ski or board. For older kids I would probably stay else where as the location is a little secluded from the rest of the mountain, which was a plus for us.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, Brazil
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best option if you're not a beginner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Being able to start your way up using the Jackson Gore Ski Area is very nice, specially if you're staying at the hotel. But if you're a beginner, the only green trail available to get back to the lift is not quite welcoming. After the carpet trail gets too easy, you'd better go to the main base by car/shuttle and practice in other easier greens (slow ski areas). So be aware before you book the hotel.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson Gore Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Jackson Gore Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson Gore Ski Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.