We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slopeside lodging convenience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Okemo Mountain Resort

Okemo Mountain Resort
77 Okemo Ridge Road, Ludlow, VT 05149
+1 802-228-1600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Ludlow
Activities: Skiing, Snowboarding, Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Family-friendly resort offering skiing, snowboarding, ice skating and other outdoor activities in the wintertime...plus golf, hiking, biking, swimming and more in the summertime! New for 2011 - come ride our brand-new mountain coaster!
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“slopeside lodging convenience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Okemo is a nice mid-size mountain with a lot of slopeside condo/home choices. We stayed over New Year's this year (1/1/2013) in a 2-bedroom unit in the Kettlebrook condos. Our unit was about 100-150 feet from the slope, where we would ski down to the beginner lifts. There are other units that have direct trail access (truely slopeside) - if you've never been this close, you'll love it! It's a great way to go.

The price of the condo was a bit high for the condition it was in, but again, location can be everything. ;) It wasn't newly renovated or anything, but not in bad shape at all - clean. The size of the unit was pretty good, and as a 2nd floor unit, it has 2 floors - really one with a very large Master Bedroom Loft, and a vaulted ceiling. The Fireplace with lots of wood was welcome. Small, but adequate kitchen.

Some of the other condos in the area feed into other lifts, which could be key on busy days - we had no crowds, so it was not an issue. Feeding into the beginner lifts can be a problem because they tend to be very busy and you could end up on long lift lines.

The mountain itself was typical Vermont - nice terrain, and a good number of lifts. They could use to update more of the lifts to Detachable lifts, though - most were the older style that don't detach, which is harder with small children. Don't forget that Vermont isn't Colorado, and the mountain can get icy. ;) We were lucky to have recent snow, and a dusting while we skied. Our group was mostly Blue skiers (2 are between 45-50, 2 between 25-30, and a 12-yr old), and the mountain has a lot of Blue trails, so all were pretty happy. They had enough moguls to keep me happy too. ;)

The base lodge was ok - not very large, but had everything you might need. Starbucks in the main lodge is a nice touch, but wasn't open on New Years Day. :( The food wasn't excessively priced in the restaurant, but we did note that mixed drinks at the base lodge bar were pricey (Patron Margarita for $12!).

Lift prices were about average, and were booked with the condo - very convenient. The condo was about the same price you would find out west (Colorado, etc), maybe even higher than some.

All-in-all, a nice place that I would go back to for a weekend because it was a decent mountain and I really like ski-in/out lodging, but i think I would pick one of the other base areas because of the potential crowding at the main base area lifts. The Solitude and Jackson Gore areas looked like they would be much better.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    98
    23
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orangeville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great choice for Families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Lots of really nice intermediate runs, nothing very challenging for the experienced skier. Good snow making coverage despite the lack of natural snow, but does cause lots of icy spots. Went the week after Christmas vacation rush, so was quiet and enjoyable without the crowds. Saturday was busy, would avoid weekends if possible ( Maybe check in and out on Satudays). Stayed at Okemo Village. Would recommend it if you don't mind the short walk. Winterplace and Solitude would be a better ski in/ski out alternative, but no large units were available when we booked. Staff were all very friendly and there were plenty of them. Really appreciated the adequate staffing that directed cars and lines. My school aged kids had a wonderful time.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Family friendly but icy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have been to Okemo several times, as well as to Killington. Okemo positives include lots of slopeside lodging and dining options and great kids programs. The past few years, though, it has been quite icy. This may just be East Coast skiing in the current climate, and not related to grooming practices. However, the past few years, it's had us wishing we could afford to fly the family out West for powder. For a large group, if you can't afford to do that, Okemo is a decent, family-oriented alternative.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Mountain but traffic on a holiday weekend is tough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The mountain is nicely set up, with a variety of skiing for everyone. I am glad that their terrain parks require park passes. However, there were some sink holes in the snow on some trails that should have been marked off. The lifts spread people around the mountain, but some trails had a lot of traffic. At the end of the day the traffic is pretty bad leaving the mountain. One day, it took us 45 minutes to travel 3 miles to the place where we were staying. Overall, this is a nice mountain, but a better experience on a less crowded day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okemomountain, General Manager at Okemo Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. I do regret the parking/exiting issues you encountered and want to assure you that we are working diligently with the Town of Ludlow to help expedite this process in the afternoon. The problem is only amplified during holiday periods, when traffic from the north (Killington) also funnels right through downtown Ludlow. Look forward to having you back on the hill soon. Thanks for choosing Okemo.

Bruce Schmidt
GM, Okemo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice Mountain but not able to keep up with high volume”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family and I went skiing at Okemo on 12/28 - a day after they received over a foot of snow. Being holiday week we knew it would be busy but the lines for tickets and rentals were very long and slow. Even though we arrived at the mountain at 9:30am we didn't get into the long lift line until almost 11am. Conditions were not as good as we hoped as we got the late start and missed the best of the morning conditions. We never got into a good rhythm as we searched different areas of the mountain where the volume of skiers were less to avoid standing in long lift lines. We really like Okemo and have very fond memories from 20 years ago. We will avoid it during holiday weeks in the future. Epic restaurant was excellent but again, the wait was long and took longer to eat lunch than the typical cafeteria style eateries - from skiing the Rockies for decades many of the upscale restaurants on mountain also have an attached cafeteria - this didn't. Leaving was a mess - the lines to get on the shuttle bus were very long and the traffic to get to the parking lots was extreme. Took almost an hour from getting in the shuttle bus line to our car. The line of cars arriving at 5pm was surprisingly excessive - unsure if they were new arrivals to the resort, to pick up skiers at the end of day or for a special event that evening. The shuttle buses could not get back to the pick-up area in a timely manner due to the incoming traffic. Gotta be a better way!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okemomountain, General Manager at Okemo Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
So glad you decided to come back to Okemo, and thanks for taking the time to post your review. We take them seriously, and often times use them as training for our staff. You chose an epic day, no doubt. While it was expected to be busy due to the holiday, the first big snow storm of the season brought even more excitement and we did have some lines around the resort, including epic which is one of our more popular lunch spots.

At the end of the day, we try our best to keep the traffic moving out of the parking lots.
Unfortunately we are but one part of a process as traffic funnels from Route 100 (Killington) onto Route 103 and through Ludlow. The backup this day was not only Okemo traffic, but also traffic funneling in from the North. As you experienced, the volume was high enough that day to back things right up and into our lots. Unfortunately, the shuttle busses were also affected.

One improvement we will make is to put our staff in the lots to help keep the lines moving with consistency. We will also continue to work with the town of Ludlow on expediting flow out of the parking lots and onto the main road. As I said, the problem extends beyond the mountain, but we are working diligently to improve that.

Regardless, I hope you are able to come back and experience our mountain on a less hectic day when you can get a feel for the great service and skiing we offer. Thanks again, and hope to see you on the hill again soon.

Bruce Schmidt
GM, Okemo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okemo Mountain Resort also viewed

 

Been to Okemo Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okemo Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.