We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Downtown Grocery

The Downtown Grocery
41 Depot St, Ludlow, VT 05149-1323
802-228-7566
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Ludlow
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Shockingly good. In Ludlow? - the town with basically no restaurants!?

Had fried shad roe, pork belly for appetizers. Filet, boar, chicken breast for the older son and ribs as a main for the younger son. Perfect.

Crème brûlée was perfect as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    29
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Delicious, Creative Food and Drinks and Terrific Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Am I in Ludlow, VT or a trendy Lower East Side restaurant in New York city? The excellent food and drink choices at this restaurant would suggest the latter but the friendly, warm and unpretentious service would suggest the former. Either way, this restaurant is truly the best of both worlds.

After calling the restaurant and finding it sold out for the entire weekend, my girlfriend and I decided to take a chance since there is 6-person first-come-first-serve bar seating. We walked in and were instantly greeted by Abby who was friendly and made us feel at home even as we waited by getting us amazing drinks (Cider Jack is outstanding) and some snacks while we waited. She even told us how close everyone at the bar was to finishing and was dead-on with her wait-time estimate. A great start. Now for the food. Everything was perfectly cooked and used fresh, seasonal, local ingredients. Appetizers, mains, and dessert were all delicious and the bar-staff were on top of everything.

You definitely have to come here if you're in Vermont and don't forget to buy the kitchen staff a round of ponys (yes you can do that). A very well run restaurant with mouth watering food, delicious drinks, and every staff member was great at their job. That's evident by how crowded it is and how there is never an empty seat.

We used to come to Vermont for the excellent skiing and simply put up with the food. Now we have both; we'll be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Homey atmosphere & inventive menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a dinner here. The treatment of the vegetables was quite inventive, but my entree of pork was under- whelming. However. The pineapple-basil sorbet was refreshing. I would come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Almost walked out, glad we didn't”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We went here on the recomendation of our innkeepers. The place is not in a particularly pretty location, it was croded and noisy inside and the hostess immediately began selling us a $40 bottle of white spanish wine including a lon recitation of the tasting notes that came with the bottle. I hate that, and I almost bolted, but my wifepointed out that there aren't many restaurants in the area. I'm glad we stayed. Our waitress was much lower key and listened to what we were interested in, and we had a fine meal, well prepared and served.And by the way, there are very few good restaurants in this part of Vermont, but another that we enjoyed was the Inn at Weston, good food, great atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhampton Beach, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss this...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Just a very special little place in a town you wouldn't expect to find it. It's pretty difficult to get a reservation so reserve when you get to town. Expect a 2-3 hour experience and you will not be disappointed. It's fine locavore dining, where your server will go through the entire menu with your table and explain the minutiae of each dish. You will not make a mistake with whatever you order, so just order what strikes your fancy. A dining companion commented that it would be fun to have the same explanation given once you receive your dish, so you don't miss anyone it's subtleties. The one thing I would highly recommend is the homemade ice creams for desert. They were extraordinary in their creativity and taste. Don't ski okemo without dining here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Downtown Grocery also viewed

 

Been to The Downtown Grocery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Downtown Grocery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.