We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a B & B Should Be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Governor's Inn

Save Saved
You added The Governor's Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Governor's Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   86 Main St, Ludlow, VT 05149   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
355 helpful votes 355 helpful votes
“What a B & B Should Be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

As, I think, someone else said..."It's the little things". Well, the owners here have thought of EVERY little thing and have provided them. They think like they were guests! This is an in-town inn...not hugely dramatic in it's initial presentation on the outside yet we fell in love with this place. The owners were gracious and available without being overbearing....They seemed to actually enjoy talking with us. I could go on and on about every little thing but I am telling you, you cannot go wrong staying at The Governor's Inn. The atmosphere is welcoming, the food is delicious, the beds (at least ours) are very comfortable. The price is appropriate. We'll be back....something we don't usually do....

  • Liked — Hospitality of hosts
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    5
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
captolhil
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

We stayed in the Governor's Room for five nights in late summer. We purchased several 'packages,' and Cathy and Jim greeted us with a customized itinerary designed around the weather forecast. Our activities included: two hikes and picnics, a cooking lesson, and a musical in a nearby theater (with cabaret show following).

Cathy, a trained cook, cooks a three-course breakfast from a menu that changes throughout the week. The breakfast, which is included in the room rent, is outstanding. (You can request fewer than three courses if you prefer.)

Cathy and Jim are excellent. They manage to be very attentive but never doting.

There is a common room that has a computer with Internet access. There is also a 'butler's basket' that has complimentary toiletries.

The Inn is a short drive from various mountains and hikes and other towns (including Hanover, NH). The town (Ludlow) is bucolic - town green, New England-style church, inviting downtown strip, and a small bridge that takes you over a scenic river/stream.

Note that the bedrooms vary in size and one does not have a television (though the common room with the computer does). Our room - the Governor's Room - was large in size and contained a fire place and TV with VCR and DVD player. Jim and Cathy maintain a small (complimentary) VHS and DVD library, and there is a video rental store in walking distance in town (everything in town is in walking distance).

The turndown and maid services are excellent.

We recommend it without reservation.

  • Liked — Scenery, quality of the Inn, quality of the innkeepers
  • Disliked — nothing - it was great
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

My husband and I stayed here in July. The inn is fantastic! Cathy and Jim were great hosts - especially Jim's humor and Cathy's great meals (that's not to say she didn't have a great personality as well). The rooms are beautiful and the breakfast to die for. We are definitely returning during ski season!

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

My 15-year-old daughter and I enjoyed a two-night stay at the Governor's Inn during the President's Week break. We were skiing at Okemo. I can highly recommend the Governor's Inn - it truly felt like a "home away from home." We stayed in the Governor's Room, which had a gas fireplace, big king-sized bed and its own bathroom. After skiing each afternoon we looked forward to tea, sandwiches and cakes/cookies in the parlor, which has lovely architectural details. I'm crazy for fireplaces, and the Governor's Inn had two in the Parlor and Main Lobby. Plastic pan trays were by the heater in the lobby to hold ski boots - a nice touch I thought - and Kathy and Jim were very unobtrusive but helpful. Kathy is trained as a chef, so her breakfasts were unbelievable! If you're lucky, you'll have her pumpkin praline streusel muffins. We look forward to returning again next year.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms, fabulous food, computer room for guest use with Wifi
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was a little expensive for an inn, but still worth it ($249 a night)
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

We found the Governor's Inn to be very nice. The breakfasts and the afternoon snacks at tea were amazing. Kathy is a great cook. Jim was very welcoming and has an 'interesting' sense of humor. The room was spotless although a bit small/cozy. It was very nice to get turndown service in the evenings. All in all a very nice place to stay in the ludlow area.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — The small rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, NH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

We just spent 2 nights last weekend at this B&B. Very nicely put together inside despite the unprepossessing exterior. The owners are a perfect blend of friendly welcome without overbearing or smothering attitude. We were there to ski at Okemo and appreciated the hearty breakfast we got before heading for the mountain. Both mornings breakfast was delicious! It was served between 8 and 9:30 am which we found gratifying (we are not normally early risers and hate having to get up at a certain time to get breakfast). If needing breakfast before 8 am they will put out stuf for a light breakfast. The 2nd morning we didn't get down until 9 am and breakfast took quite a bit longer to get served due to so many people being there. Our room (Sarah's room) was quite small but comfortable - if we stay there again though would go for a larger room. Amenities were full and thoughtful - though we did not need it I enjoyed the idea of the "butler's basket" in the hallway and the shoe buffer under the table there! Definitely someplace we would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Governors Inn for three nights as we wanted to tour and see the fall colours. The Inn offers a three night
"deal" which included suggested itineraries and a packed lunch in a wicker basket one of your days (yum). The food was outstanding,
every morning the breakfast was a revelation. The Inn is beautiful and
the Hosts are wonderful. If you are around at 4pm you can also be treated toa wonderful afternoon tea! I really cant recommend the Inn highly enough. Thanks for a wonderful stay and we'll be back.

  • Liked — The warmth of the welcome!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Governor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Governor's Inn

Address: 86 Main St, Ludlow, VT 05149
Location: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Governor's Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter this Victorian country home and you are surrounded by gracious elegance and warm hospitality. Afternoon tea, sweets and tea sandwiches served in the parlor with its extraordinary slate fireplace. Retire to your luxurious bedchamber, dream of mountains and valleys to be explored. Awake to a bountiful breakfast – perhaps gingerbread pancakes or our Governor's Inn soufflé. Walk to restaurants and shops. Ski, Golf, Hiking, Theater & Picnic packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Governor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Governor's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.