We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Every Penny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Governor's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Governor's Inn to your Saves list
The Governor's Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   86 Main St, Ludlow, VT 05149   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Ludlow B&B and Inns
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

My 15-year-old daughter and I enjoyed a two-night stay at the Governor's Inn during the President's Week break. We were skiing at Okemo. I can highly recommend the Governor's Inn - it truly felt like a "home away from home." We stayed in the Governor's Room, which had a gas fireplace, big king-sized bed and its own bathroom. After skiing each afternoon we looked forward to tea, sandwiches and cakes/cookies in the parlor, which has lovely architectural details. I'm crazy for fireplaces, and the Governor's Inn had two in the Parlor and Main Lobby. Plastic pan trays were by the heater in the lobby to hold ski boots - a nice touch I thought - and Kathy and Jim were very unobtrusive but helpful. Kathy is trained as a chef, so her breakfasts were unbelievable! If you're lucky, you'll have her pumpkin praline streusel muffins. We look forward to returning again next year.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms, fabulous food, computer room for guest use with Wifi
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was a little expensive for an inn, but still worth it ($249 a night)
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    5
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

We found the Governor's Inn to be very nice. The breakfasts and the afternoon snacks at tea were amazing. Kathy is a great cook. Jim was very welcoming and has an 'interesting' sense of humor. The room was spotless although a bit small/cozy. It was very nice to get turndown service in the evenings. All in all a very nice place to stay in the ludlow area.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — The small rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, NH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

We just spent 2 nights last weekend at this B&B. Very nicely put together inside despite the unprepossessing exterior. The owners are a perfect blend of friendly welcome without overbearing or smothering attitude. We were there to ski at Okemo and appreciated the hearty breakfast we got before heading for the mountain. Both mornings breakfast was delicious! It was served between 8 and 9:30 am which we found gratifying (we are not normally early risers and hate having to get up at a certain time to get breakfast). If needing breakfast before 8 am they will put out stuf for a light breakfast. The 2nd morning we didn't get down until 9 am and breakfast took quite a bit longer to get served due to so many people being there. Our room (Sarah's room) was quite small but comfortable - if we stay there again though would go for a larger room. Amenities were full and thoughtful - though we did not need it I enjoyed the idea of the "butler's basket" in the hallway and the shoe buffer under the table there! Definitely someplace we would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Governors Inn for three nights as we wanted to tour and see the fall colours. The Inn offers a three night
"deal" which included suggested itineraries and a packed lunch in a wicker basket one of your days (yum). The food was outstanding,
every morning the breakfast was a revelation. The Inn is beautiful and
the Hosts are wonderful. If you are around at 4pm you can also be treated toa wonderful afternoon tea! I really cant recommend the Inn highly enough. Thanks for a wonderful stay and we'll be back.

  • Liked — The warmth of the welcome!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

We stayed 2 nights at the Governor's Inn. What a beautiful house. The room was a little small but we were never in it anyway. Everything was spotless and the service was excellant. Kathy and Jim were excellant hosts and the breakfasts were exceptional.Would we stay there again...you bet!!

  • Liked — Food and service
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, IN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

My wife and I stayed there over Labor Day weekend. There was only one other guest there during that time, which allowed us to pick which room we wanted to stay in. I highly recommend one of the rooms on the top floor as they seem to be a bit more private than the rooms on the second floor. Overall, we liked the Inn quite a bit. The breakfasts were excellent and the Inn is very convenient to Okemo and restaurants in Ludlow. Plus, the innkeepers and extremely friendly and willing to help out in any way needed.

The room itself could probably use a little updating, but nothing is too bad. I would definitely stay at the Inn again if I was in the area and would suggest it over any of the bigger hotels near Okemo.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Bathroom.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

Enjoyed a wonderful Easter weekend skiing, perefectly complimented by my stay at The Governor's Inn. The room was great - the fires were so welcoming to return to given the temperatures outside. The beds comfortable. And now to the best bit: the service and hospitality was out of this world... the breakfasts were the best i have enjoyed in many years, afternoon teas brilliant and overally the friendliness of the hosts something to write home about. Stay here if you get a chance!

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — The net curtains!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Governor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Governor's Inn

Address: 86 Main St, Ludlow, VT 05149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Governor's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter this Victorian country home and you are surrounded by gracious elegance and warm hospitality. Afternoon tea, sweets and tea sandwiches served in the parlor with its extraordinary slate fireplace. Retire to your luxurious bedchamber, dream of mountains and valleys to be explored. Awake to a bountiful breakfast – perhaps gingerbread pancakes or our Governor's Inn soufflé. Walk to restaurants and shops. Ski, Golf, Hiking, Theater & Picnic packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Governor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Governor's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.