We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rabbit Hill Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rabbit Hill Inn to your Saves list
Rabbit Hill Inn
48 Lower Waterford Rd, PO Box 55, Lower Waterford, VT 05848   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My fiancee and I wanted to celebrate our honeymoon somewhere local, but not skimping on the luxury. Rabbit Hill exceeded all of our expectations and the reviews are all correct! Definitely will visit again

Room Tip: "The Loft" - It really is a "secret" getaway. Definitely recommend the superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie_Brian, Owner at Rabbit Hill Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for your great review. SO happy to know that you enjoyed a truly romantic and luxurious honeymoon at Rabbit Hill Inn. Without doubt, honeymoons are one of the MOST special getaways in our life. Everything needs to be perfect, pampering, fun, and relaxing. We are thrilled to hear that we exceeded all your expectations. And that you are planning to return to us. Now you have to decide..."will you return to The Loft, or will you try one of our other luxury rooms?" Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    31
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
790
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was our second time at Rabbit Hill in one year, and we are so glad to have returned. As always, the Inn is perfectly run by Leslie, Brian, Don and their staff, with a million tiny details overseen that really make the stay extraordinary. Literally not a thing could have been better, except for more time. While all of the rooms are beautiful, Sterling remains our favorite and is strongly recommended. This inn is world-class.

Room Tip: Sterling is where we stay every time. Strongly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie_Brian, Owner at Rabbit Hill Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you, thank you for choosing to return to Rabbit Hill Inn. We are all SO grateful for your wonderful review. Hearing that "not one thing could have been better" makes us all incredibly proud. We strive for that every single day. Telling others that RHI is "world-class" puts us on cloud nine :). We look forward to hosting you again for another extraordinary Vermont getaway. The Sterling Room with its mountain view, fireplace, and comfy porch will be waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here almost 5 years ago, and have been trying to get back ever since. Our second visit did not disappoint! We had five days and nights of relaxation, worked a few fabulous Stave puzzles, had some fun outdoors and enjoyed some phenomenal meals on property. Rabbit Hill is truly our gold standard for a perfect romantic getaway - great environment, special inn keepers and a real value when you compare it to other similar places. We cannot wait for our next stay - I promise we will not wait another 5 years to return!

Room Tip: We love staying in the main house, but all rooms are nice. Go with what your budget can handle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie_Brian, Owner at Rabbit Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Wow! Our heartfelt thanks to you for sharing such a wonderful review of your recent stay. We are honored to know that Rabbit Hill Inn is your "Gold Standard" for a perfect getaway. Your commentary proves that travelers really can enjoy a fantastic, fun-filled vacation, enjoy romantic luxury, phenomenal cuisine, in a cozy comfortable environment and get real value! We look forward to the opportunity to pamper you again. There is much more outdoor fun to experience. Maybe an ATV tour, kayaking, or ziplining next time :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This Inn is absolutely one of the finest Inns in the northeast. They focus on details and miss nothing. It is quite remote and was very srprising to find such a gem in the woods. In addition, the restaurant executes very fine meals albeit somewhat limited but evrything we sampled was very good. The service, the cocktails, the ambience, and the food makes this a place you would absolutely want to return to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie_Brian, Owner at Rabbit Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
A million Thank Yous!! The entire Rabbit Hill Inn family is ecstatic with your glowing review. We all take such pride in caring for our guests and tending to the slightest detail. Knowing that you enjoyed a "extraordinary & world class experience" means everything to us. And we look forward to your return, allowing us to pamper you again. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I had found this Inn a few years ago and was intrigued by the name, since I really love rabbits. Well, I told myself I would stay here someday and I'm so glad I did! When I arrived I was greeted with a smile and a tour of the Inn. I was shown to my room (Mary's Wish) which was absolutely adorable and spotlessly clean. The bed was so comfortable, too! It was like sleeping at my grandmother's house. Even though I arrived late, I was offered tea and some pastries (since I missed it in the afternoon). Everything tasted great! Breakfast in the morning was exceptional! The owners are also very kind and helpful. If you tell them what you'd like to see in the area, they will provide handouts with directions and suggestions. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. I would love to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie_Brian, Owner at Rabbit Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. As a solo traveler, it's so important to feel comfortable and cared for. We are pleased that you felt that way at Rabbit Hill Inn and enjoyed every moment of your visit. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Even if you don't stay at the Inn, the restaurant is top class in the Northeast Kingdom area of Vermont! The cuisine and the service are outstanding and, considering the class and quality, very reasonable

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie_Brian, Owner at Rabbit Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review about our restaurant. So glad that you had an outstanding dining experience. Hope you were able to enjoy a cocktail in the Snooty Fox Pub too. Many are discovering that Rabbit Hill is an great choice for high quality seasonal cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. The new A-la-carte menu style makes us a perfect place for a casual dinner or special occasion. Look forward to hosting you again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Once, we had a fabulous time here. The food, service, rooms, and ambience of the Inn is top shelf. We have been going here for almost 15 years and it's always the best! A big nightlight for us, too, Are the Stave Puzzles. We love them. Plus, the innkeepers and staff are so welcoming!

Room Tip: We stayed in Carriage Corner, this time, and we loved it. Newly updated ...however, you must go out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie_Brian, Owner at Rabbit Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Your title speaks volumes! 15 years of fabulous Rabbit Hill Inn getaways. That is awesome. We truly believe that "consistency is the key to success". And your review proves it true. Thank you, thank you for making us one of your favorite getaway places. We knew that you would love the newly renovated Carriage Corner room - contemporary style, great leather chairs by the fire, and that lux spa shower room totally rocks! Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit "back home" to us. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rabbit Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rabbit Hill Inn

Address: 48 Lower Waterford Rd, PO Box 55, Lower Waterford, VT 05848
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Lower Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lower Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast & Restaurant. Peaceful,luxurious,fun,delicious,pampering,and affordable. Zagats says, This may be the most romantic place on the planet! We agree. This Vermont Bed and Breakfast inn is an outrageously romantic getaway destination! 19 Luxury guestrooms and suites, Most have gas fireplaces, some with double whirlpool tubs, spa showers, private porches, and mountain views. Outstanding farm to table restaurant onsite,featuring highly seasonal local ingredients. Cozy pub w/ full bar, local craft beers, wine list. Relaxed & comfortable environs, brilliant service and heartfelt hospitality. 15 Acres of gardens and wooded hiking trails. Ideal Northern Vermont location offers endless activities year-'round. Very close to White Mountains NH. 3 Hrs from Boston,2 hrs from Manchester NH, 2 hrs from Burlington VT, 2.5 Hrs to Montreal, 4 hrs to Quebec City. Best place to stay near St. Johnsbury Vermont, near Littleton New Hampshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Rabbit Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rabbit Hill Hotel Lower Waterford
Rabbit Hill Inn Vermont/Lower Waterford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rabbit Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.