We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay with good breakfasts and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Inn

Swiss Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss Inn to your Saves list
Swiss Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   249 Route 11, Londonderry, VT 05148   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Londonderry
West NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay with good breakfasts and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Our extended family has stayed here for about 4 years now. Rooms and bathroom are dated but clean. Good and hearty breakfast (eggs/pancakes/Frenchtoast) is included in rate. You can get a discounted lift ticket (they must know in advance) for some ski areas. You can also upgrade to a dinner meal plan which we did this past trip. Dinner was very good with many Swiss/German selections on the menu. There is also a bar with lighter options.

Location is about 5 miles to Magic Mtn, 7 miles to Bromley and about 10 to Stratton. The town of Londonderry is about 2 miles away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
12
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yourtown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

The room decor is very old, and needs to be updated. The mattress, box spring, and bedding is so worn, it should be donated to the goodwill. The inn is very close to the road, so there's allot of vehicle noise at all hours. You can hear every word spoken by the people in the room next to yours, especially if there inconsiderate. If your on the first floor, the noise from the second floor is bad, you can hear them walking, talking, the TV noise everything, do yourself a favor and spend a few more bucks and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

We stayed at the Swiss Inn under their ski and stay weekender package (Stratton) which was a great deal. The Inn's decor is a bit outdated, but rooms were clean and cozy. Two public sitting areas allowed us to meet our friends and have a few drinks before dinner. Each sitting area has a gas stove. The Innkeepers were very friendly and welcoming. The restaurant provided wonderful home cooked meals and waitstaff was very friendly. Joe, the Innkeeper also provides great entertainment in the bar. We chose this place because it had a restaurant and bar on premises and it worked out great for us.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Ct
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

I have been staying at the Swiss Inn for many years and it continues to be an outstanding Inn with excellent service. The addition of the Eagles Nest Pub menu only extends the capabilities of the inn and offers more casual dining in the bar area. The owners and operators of the Inn know their business inside and out and will go the extra mile for any guest. The location is outstanding with easy access to Stratton, Bromley and Magic mountains. If you are staying at the Swiss Inn there is NO reason to go anwhere else to eat dinner. The best meals in the area are right in the dining room and a short walk away.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granby, ct
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

We enjoyed our stay here very much. The full breakfasts, eggs and bacon, or french toast, or pancakes, were excellent. The waitstaff was very friendly. They always seated us at a window where the birds were feeding. Nice piano music playing in the background. We stayed here for dinner one night and the Swiss food was superb, especially the dessert fondue. The room was a little small. Also, there was no clock radio, and no rack to hang your towel except in the shower. However, it was centrally located to where we wanted to visit: Bromley Mountain, Weston Priory, Stratton Mountain, Hapgood Pond, and Hildene, Robert Todd Lincoln's Home in Manchester. There was a nice pond behind the inn, and also a tennis court next to the inn. Overall a good price for the money, $85 a night including the breakfasts.

  • Liked — Great breakfasts and dinners, breakfast was included, and friendly waitstaff.
  • Disliked — Small room, no clock radio, and only one towel rack in the shower in the bathroom.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, FL & New York, NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

We have stayed at the Swiss Inn for the past two years to celebrate New Years.
The rooms are clean, staff is courteous and friendly and the innkeepers are great.
Cocktails in the bar before dinner are always and experience, great drinks at a fair price and no charge for the entertainment! The dinner menu has something for everyone; the portions are large and fairly priced.
It's not the Four Seasons but neither are the rates.
Close to the slopes, short drive to area attractions and attentive innkeepers and staff makes for a happy stay.
Swiss Inn is a great value.

  • Liked — Innkeepers, Locatio, Staff, Food and lounge
  • Disliked — Rooms contain an eclectic mix of furniture, not the Four Seasons but not Four Seasons rates either! It’s fine.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse, N>Y>
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

We stayed @ Swiss Inn 2/21-2/23 for a (3) ski weekend. Great time skiing @ Okemo and Stratton(2). Got a very bad vibe at check in when we waited about ten minutes for someone to come to front desk and when one of the owners did finally did come out they acted like they were inconvienenced because they had to leave the restaurant/kitchen to check us in. Very short and unfriendly. The rooms were poorly furnished but clean. Very soft/lousy mattresses made for tough night sleep. Had problem with breakfast not starting
until 7:30am since we wanted to be on slopes for first run. They should have some type of breakfast for skiers who want to get to the slopes early. Bottom line, my main problem was that when I booked this hotel, it came with $89. (2) day discount passes for Stratton. When I went to purchase them from the owner, he sais they had to be reserved 48 hors prior. Now I booked my reservation thru the same owner, verified the cost of the discount passes, he said they were available. Never a mention of any 48 hour requirement or I would have reserved them right then. Again, he acted like he could care less about the problem and basically said it was my fault for not knowing. He refused to make any attempt to rectify the problem. I ended up spending approx. $220. extra because of this. I guess my main problem was with his lack of caring and lack of any attempt to help his paying customer out. I own a business and I would never treat my customers in such a way...especially if it was my fault. Anyways, great weekend of skiing but would NEVER give this place another dime of my money.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — owners
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Inn

Address: 249 Route 11, Londonderry, VT 05148
Location: United States > Vermont > Londonderry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Londonderry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Swiss Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Swiss Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Hotel Londonderry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.