We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside Inn at Killington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hillside Inn at Killington to your Saves list
Hillside Inn at Killington
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   375 Killington Road, Killington, VT 05751 (Formerly Alpine Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed at the Hillside Inn for two nights due to its low room rate and its proximity to Plymouth and Montpelier. The area is very nice, and in the summer it was very quiet. I arrived at the hotel to discover that there was no manager on site. The housekeeper was left in charge, and while he was pleasant, he could not run a credit card. I left with no receipt; thankfully my card was charged for the amount I was expecting. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a kitchenette and significant closet space. The internet, which required a patch cable to connect, was very fast. The bed was comfortable although a bit on the hard side. There was no fitted sheet on the mattress, a minor annoyance. One light bulb in the room was burned out, but there were at least five more lights so that was not a major problem. The window A/C was fine, although I would have preferred the cool mountain air. In any event, the window curtain was too narrow for the window and so long that it covered the A/C when closed. By the second night, I had it pinned up so that I could block the (significant) exterior light and leave the A/C running through the night. The TV set had lines running horizontally across the screen. In fact, when I arrived I asked to switch rooms, thinking that it was a problem with the particular set. As the second room had the same issue, it must have been a satellite reception problem. The shower had good height and water pressure, although it was a small shower stall (with no bathtub). The toilet was in a separate room, and a hole in the baseboard of that room was plugged with tissue. I saw the continental breakfast at checkout. There was coffee from which the grounds had not been filtered and bagels that may have been fresh during ski season. I passed. All in all, I would consider staying here again at the rate I was charged. It was well worth the cost, with all of the issues being relatively minor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    40
    38
    9
    28
See reviews for
27
42
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gardner, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very cheap and large room. Modern and clean. We were very active all weekend so truly just left the room each morning and returned well into the evening. So we were at the Inn just to sleep. However, the continental breakfast, thougH free, left a lot to be desired which was disappointing.

Room Tip: Facing the parking lot was noisy especially when a few motorcycles arrived. Face the mountain for q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight on our motorcycle trip. Very cheap $65 per night, and it was very comfortable, and had a free continental breakfast. Just toast and coffee, this was all I needed. There are no frills here for the price, just a place to sleep for the night. We had to drive about a mile up the mountain to get some eats and beers. All in all very good for the price.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night at Hillside Inn for a 5K race we were participating in the next morning. I chose this hotel for the price as it is very inexpensive. The rooms were spacious with kitchenettes and very clean. I was actually really surprised. The room itself is worth more money!
Here were the PROBLEMS: Parking was difficult. They have a small lot and not nearly enough spaces. People had to basically park on top of each other. Very inconvenient.
The front desk woman just seemed angry. I never saw her smile. No please and thank you or enjoy your stay or anything like that. It just leaves a bad taste in your mouth when this is the type of person you see when you check-in and then when you check back out. I hope she isn't the owner. And if she is, someone needs to teach her some customer service skills.
Other than those two issues we were pleased with the price, location, and the room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
287 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We visited Killington for a buddies golf trip and we were looking for a cheap place to stay. Hillside Inn worked out well for us. It is just a basic motel. The rooms aren't anything special but all we needed was a bed and we were happy. They provide a continental breakfast for free (bagels, cereal, toast, juice, coffee). It was very quiet there and we didn't have any problems. I would recommend for really cheap rooms and a basic motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Was planning to stay for a week. After day two we had to leave. The place really not nice. It was not clean to begin with and housekeeping never serviced our room. When they had not shown up the second day by 11 we decided to find another place. We didn't even have anything else booked we just knew we were not staying there. We went to the front desk and checked out. We had pre-paid through Orbitz, they charged us for an entire extra day even though we were out by 11:30. So in addition to running a pretty lousy motel these people are crooks. But if I had to pay to be let out of that prison it was worth it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeper
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were late coming in and exhausted. We were traveling with our dog and needed a pet friendly hotel. This was available. Very basic motel. Location and grounds are nice. Rooms need some updating...bedspread are horrible and need burned. Housekeeping could use some major improvement. Locks on doors are quirky. There were were shredded pieces of pine cones in the cupboard. I don't know if they had a pack rat or had a guest leave it but housekeeping should have seen it and cleaned it. Beds and linens were clean. It looked like maybe the place had been closed for a while and reopened. ??maybe new owners?? Maybe undergoing some needed renovation? The place was not the worst I stayed in but also not the best. With new bedspread and improved housekeeping it has the potential to be a pretty decent place to stay

Room Tip: Check cleanliness of room prior to checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killington
3.7 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
0.6 mi away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#1 of 13 in Killington
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
2.0 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#5 of 13 in Killington
3.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
0.8 mi away
Summit Lodge & Resort
Summit Lodge & Resort
#2 of 13 in Killington
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
1.2 mi away
Happy Bear Motel
Happy Bear Motel
#11 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Inn at Killington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn at Killington

Address: 375 Killington Road, Killington, VT 05751 (Formerly Alpine Inn)
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillside Inn at Killington 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located near Killington Ski Area, Killington Golf Course, Kent Pond, Coolidge State Park, Vermont State Fairgrounds, Spartan Arena, Dartmouth College, Bromley Mountain Ski Resort and the Norman Rockwell Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hillside Inn at Killington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Inn At Killington Hotel Killington
Red Roof Inn Killington
Killington Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillside Inn at Killington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.